False Dawn

False Dawn


Until end of turn, spells and abilities you control that would add colored mana to your mana pool add that much white mana instead. Until end of turn, you may spend white mana as though it were mana of any color.

Draw a card.

Browse Alters

Combos Browse all


Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Unformat Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

False Dawn Discussion

LitchOubliette on Commander Staples Cube

6 months ago

Changelog (22/11/2020)








Mana Fixing

Tylord2894 on Interactions with Theros Gods when …

1 year ago

Great questions all around.

  1. Yes, you get them back. The fact that they are enchantments doesn't erase the temporary control effect.

  2. No, when a Theros God that is only an enchantment goes to the grave, it doesn't trigger Mimic Vat nor Nightmare Shepherd. They both see just an enchantment going to the grave and don't care about it.

  3. The errata-ed text on False Dawn should answer the question itself. It now references that you only produce white mana and white mana can be spent as though it where Mana of any color.

pedroedmarcos on Interactions with Theros Gods when …

1 year ago

Hey there,

So, fist of all sorry for the title of the question but since I will ask more than 1 question I think is good to keep it wide. I'm building a commander deck with the gods from Theros and Theros beyond death and some questions and interections with the gods got me kind of confused, so just to illustrate better and keep organized i will enumerate the scenarios.

1 - Gods of theros and Reins of Power - So, this card has become something of a signature spell of mine, but I never used with the gods on the battlefield. Let's say that my Gods are creatures and I cast Reins of Power. My opponent will get the gods but he does not have enough devotion so they will be just enchantments, At the end of my turn will I get them back ?

2 - Lets say that somehow my opponent managed to destroy one of my gods or I sac it when It was an enchantment and I have Mimic Vat or Nightmare Shepherd. Since it was an enchantmente can I count as if it died and exiled it with mimic vat/sheppered?

3 - The card False Dawn says that all collored symbols on my cards become white. Does that mean that I can use it to manipulate devotion to white until the end of the turn?

kyuuri117 on Kykar Jykar

1 year ago

I'm working on a different kykar storm list and am looking for inspiration, but I feel like i'm missing something when it comes to this list. Why Expedite and False Dawn ? Why Rough/tumble? And how are you actually winning? Sure you can storm off and cast Mind's Desire to cast your deck, or just isochron/reversal to create an infinite army of 1/1s but you don't actually win from that immediately. What's the payoff?

BS-T on Lost - a challenge of …

2 years ago

OK so I'd not been active on TO for a little while and after clearing up a bunch of notifications I popped over to my list of decks to find.... this nonsense:

I'd titled the list: "Lost".

Now. I'm pretty sure I've only stuck a 5c commander into the list because I had to put something, however, I now have no memory or idea what I was thinking of or where this was going - any thoughts on what my connection was!!??

metalevolence on Donald Trump's EDH Deck

5 years ago

Exclusion Ritual, Preacher, Mask of Intolerance, Wishmonger, Crescendo of War, Contested War Zone, Guildscorn Ward, Excommunicate, Banishment Decree, False Prophet, Liar's Pendulum, False Dawn, Kami of False Hope, Icatian Moneychanger, Unruly Mob, Angry Mob, Righteous Indignation

too bad Town Gossipmonger  Flip and Zealous Persecution are off-color

also bring some Cheatyfaces with you

cuts for space (mostly based on flavor:) death speakers, shifting wall, springjack shepherd, penance, story circle, pearl medallion, karmic justice