, : Copy target activated or triggered ability you control. You may choose new targets for the copy.
, : Copy target instant or sorcery spell you control. You may choose new targets for the copy.
, : Copy target permanent spell you control. (This copy becomes a token.)
Combos Browse all
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Lithoform Engine occurrence in decks from the last year
Latest Decks as Commander
Lithoform Engine Discussion
3 days ago
4 days ago
Yes, that works.
The important thing here is that Isochron Scepter's effect specifically has you "cast" the copy of the imprinted card. If you were to use something like the second ability on Lithoform Engine instead, which copies a spell already on the stack and doesn't "cast" the copy, this wouldn't work.
6 days ago
The copy will still be a mutating creature spell and will have the same target as the original. If a spell does something special when you pay an alternative cost, copies of the spell will also take that into account. Lithoform Engine's last ability doesn't allow you to choose a different target for the copy of the permanent spell, so it has the same target as the original spell.
The copied spell will resolve first, triggering any "whenever this creature mutates..." abilities that the targeted creature already has, and then the original Gemrazer spell will resolve, triggering those abilities plus the ability given by the copy.
To the bonus question: No, this won't trigger Season of Growth. It won't trigger the first ability because there isn't a creature entering the battlefield, and it won't trigger the second ability because the copied spell wasn't "cast".
6 days ago
If I have Lithoform Engine on the battlefield and cast Gemrazer for it's mutate cost targetting a creature, I then use the engine's third ability to copy that creature spell, will the new Gemrazer also mutate onto the creature I was trying to mutate or will it act like a new creature. If so can a "mutant token" activate new mutate triggers if I mutate it again.
Yes another mutate question
bonus question: If the new mutate token copied gemrazer does mutate, does it trigger Season of Growth
1 week ago
To further illustrate Polaris's answer:
- Activated abilities usually are written [cost]:[effect]
- Triggered abilities are written with "When/Whenever/At..."
Relevant Comprehensive Rules:
603.1. Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as “[When/Whenever/At] [trigger condition or event], [effect]. [Instructions (if any).]”
602.1. Activated abilities have a cost and an effect. They are written as “[Cost]: [Effect.] [Activation instructions (if any).]”
1 week ago
No, Karador, Ghost Chieftain's ability is a static ability and can't be copied with Lithoform Engine. It modifies the rules so that you are allowed to cast one creature from your graveyard per turn. It is in effect any time Karador is in play, and it does not use the stack.
1 week ago
Have you thought abut running Strionic Resonator in parallel with Lithoform Engine? I see Primal Vigor is missing. Considered running Field of the Dead and swapping some Forest and Mountain for Snow-Covered Forest and Snow-Covered Mountain?