Body Snatcher

Body Snatcher

Creature — Minion

When Body Snatcher enters the battlefield, you may discard a creature card. If you don't, remove Body Snatcher from the game.

When Body Snatcher is put into a graveyard from play, remove Body Snatcher from the game and return target creature card from your graveyard to play.

Latest Decks as Commander

Body Snatcher Discussion

FastNLow on Chef Dina cEDH

2 weeks ago

Ardees Tysm! I sometimes forget to think about all situations when playing and didn't even think about Hulk or Mikaeus being stuck in my hand. Body Snatcher will definitely find a spot in the deck. But yeah when making combos its good to be realistic about how often you're actually finding the combo in the 99 instead of living in fantasy land that it's happening every game. Thanks a lot for the suggestions and the lines of logic as to why you made them. :)

Ardees on Chef Dina cEDH

2 weeks ago

FastNLow Well one of my heuristics when building a combo-oriented deck is that, unless the combo is highly easy to obtain and defend (e.g., the thassa oracle and Demonic Consultation combo, where blue counters protect any other counter or removal, and is achieved by a total cmc of 3), combo pieces should also be useful in addittion to being combo pieces. This is also the reason why I removed Witherbloom Apprentice and Chain of Smog, which required Dosan the Falling Leaf to ensure I would not end up with no ends and a fairly useless permanent (Witherbloom Apprentice).

Based on this, I have opted out of Triskelion because the card per se is not really that exciting, mostly because a very low reward for its mana cost. True, Triskelion and Mikaeus, the Unhallowed do not nee a sac outlet to enable the combo. However, if you simply add Phyrexian Delver and/or Body Snatcher, you're able to reanimate Protean Hulk to tutor for all the pieces you need (generally Viscera Seer or Carrion Feeder). Body Snatcher is an amazing card - it also helps you get rid of Mikaeus or Hulk if they are both stuck in your hand, and to reanimate them right away with a sac outlet. Bare in mind that if you are looking for the Mikaeus+Ballista combo, you need at least one of these two, otherwise Mikaeus+Ballista only trigger infinite LTB and ETB (Ballista pings itself). You can see more about this synergy line on my deck I linked before. But going back to the main point, Ballista is a card that can remove on t1 or 2 some early ramp creatures, or some cards such as Esper Sentinel. Phyrexian Delver and Body Snatcher are enablers that are useful under different circumstances, and same with Viscera Seer and Carrion Feeder.

Of course, I'm talking from a Meren perspective. But as a Golgari, the synergy works for every deck developing around hulk (in fact, at times I win on the hulk combo line without even casting Meren during the whole game).

Hope this clarifies!

Mortlocke on New hubs to be added

2 months ago

Hello legendofa,

I propose a new hub to be added: Phyrexian. During Modern Horizons 2, 225 creatures were retconned into having the Phyrexian creature subtype to join Vorinclex, Monstrous Raider . Additionally, there were a smattering of Enchantments, Artifacts and etc that ether have the Phyrexian subtype or create creature tokens that do. Thanks to this retcon I now have a deck that has a Phyrexian tribal theme. For your reference, below is a full list of spells that were affected by WotC's Phyrexian errata.

Source: https://mtg.fandom.com/wiki/Phyrexian

BrassLord on Apex of Death

4 months ago

If you end up leaning into the +1/+1 theme, Sweet-Gum Recluse is an underrated gem in your deck! 0 power means that whenever you mutate your commander, you can fetch this guy out of the bin for free. And the wording on it means that you get to place 3 +1/+1 counters on each of the creatures you just got from the grave! Juniper Order Ranger is along those same lines of good counters!

Buried Alive can be another decent card, though I think it's more useful if you're going for more of a combo win with something like a Saffi loop. If you're wanting to go the turbo route, Hermit Druid can put in some work to get your graveyard set up. Golgari Grave-Troll is the same idea.

Body Snatcher is a weird old card that can help get your graveyard and recursion going.

If you're looking for something more general oriented, Spore Frog Kami of False Hope can shut down combat based decks, and can be frustrated when paired with recursion like Gift of Immortality .

Hope that gives you some ideas! I was initially going to suggest more lands, but in goldfishing you seem to be in a sweet spot for mana!

LitchOubliette on Commander Staples Cube

10 months ago

Changelog (22/11/2020)

White

Blue

Black

Red

Green

Multicolored

Colorless

Mana Fixing

Zhugo12 on Karadorable [cEDH Primer]

1 year ago

tcooke2 What if I take out Sadistic Hypnotist and put in Cartel Aristocrat for just a strictly cheaper sac outlet.

Then take out Satyr Wayfinder for Felidar Guardian as an additional means to combo and an additional 4 cost creature (a surprise tool that will come in handy later)

I can take out Qasali Pridemage for Birthing Pod as an extra reusable tutor (especially fun with any line that includes Felidar Guardian because it allows you to fetch and sacrifice the Felidar Guardian on the same turn.

But as for Body Snatcher, I'm not sure what I should take out

Rhadamanthus on Body Snatcher death trigger and …

1 year ago

I had a big long response typed out and then realized I didn't understand your question correctly the first time.

Yes, that works. When Body Snatcher dies in your example, both its own ability and the effect created by Saffi Eriksdotter trigger at the same time. Since you control both, you get to decide what order to put them onto the stack.

Body Snatcher won't get exiled from the battlefield when its trigger finally resolves because when it changes zones, it's considered a different object. The trigger that's looking for the Body Snatcher that's supposed to be in the graveyard won't be able to find it on the battlefield.

SwiftDeath on Body Snatcher death trigger and …

1 year ago

I have Saffi Eriksdotter in play with another sac outlet. I play Body Snatcher discarding Reveillark from my hand. I sac Saffi targeting Body Snatcher. Then I sac Body Snatcher targeting Reveillark. Body Snatcher returns from Saffi trigger, Sac Body snatcher in response this time targeting Saffi. When stack clears Saffi and Reveillark should be in play and Body Snatcher exiled to the second return trigger.

Can I stack the death triggers so Body Snatcher returns to the battlefield before it is exiled and if I do so does it get exiled after leaving zones. Does it matter if it is in the graveyard after the effects resolution? Does this interaction not work the way I think it does?

I want to end the boardstate with Reveillark and Saffi in play so I can continue my combo with any creature power 2 or less in my graveyard. I know there are better ways to do this but with my board and hand this was the only way I could accomplish this.

Load more