Karn Liberated

Karn Liberated

Planeswalker — Karn

+4: Target player exiles a card from his or her hand.

-3: Exile target permanent.

-14: Restart the game, leaving in exile all non-Aura permanent cards exiled with Karn Liberated. Then put those cards onto the battlefield under your control.

Latest Decks as Commander

Karn Liberated Discussion

Decrepit_Angel on [Primer] Colored Mana is for the Weak

2 weeks ago

Profet93

Yeah, that is an unfortunate downside of mono-colorless. Collector Ouphe, Null Rod, and Stony Silence are really bad cards for this deck to see. I always try to tutor or mulligan for an Inspiring Statuary when I expect to see those cards as it allows me to still use my artifacts to cast stuff like Kozilek, Butcher of Truth, Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger, Karn Liberated, All Is Dust, Emrakul, the Promised End, etc. Typically I try to outspeed the artifact hate but as that is not always an option, Inspiring Statuary or politics tends to be the best option. It also helps that other decks tend to get hurt by such artifact hate so I am not always the one that has to deal with it.

As for the power level, I tried to make it as powerful as possible for the sake of having a decent chance at a cEDH power level table. A max power level Kozilek is typically around the power level of a budget cEDH deck so it tends to play well at that kind of table. Given the ridiculous speed of the deck though, I have had good matchups against full pods of max power cEDH decks. Very few decks can shrug off Annihilator 4 on turn 3. Also, Mindslaver effects are hilariously good against cEDH decks. Especially with how many Necropotence, Ad Nauseam, Tainted Pact, Demonic Consultation, etc. effects are common in cEDH. Even outside of that, just using their own removal spells on their stuff or exiling their commander if it is a deck that relies on it to win (and choosing to put it into exile of course) can completely kill off opposing players on the spot. Emrakul, the Promised End is my go to answer for cEDH decks as the cast trigger almost always just kills an opponent on cast, even if she gets countered.

As for additional stax, I already run Torpor Orb and I quite like it. Cursed Totem is interesting (and if nothing else is a good budget option). I liked Cursed Totem a lot more when Flash + Protean Hulk was a thing. Perhaps it is just my meta but I don't see too many decks that make me want a Cursed Totem effect. Winter Orb has been underperforming of late so I might trade those out and see if I like it. It cuts off my Metalworker, Palladium Myr, and Burnished Hart but I think that is acceptable given how much it can hurt some decks. Worst case scenario, I could always just treat it the same way I use something like The Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale where I just mulligan or Bazaar of Baghdad it away if it is a meta that it isn't useful.

Wuzibo on Questioning the Iona Banning

1 month ago

Gleeock

Thanks man. I think more cards in the card pool is usually a good thing, and for a social format it's best to leave as much up to the players as possible. She doesn't also protect herself besides disabling removal from that spell type. You could always have board based removal, like a Karn Liberated. Or you could do like you said and have a strategy that doesn't work off casting and use her high cost to get it in before she is in.

I think her most egregious example would be a kaalia player dropping her turn 2 by having an opening hand with Sol Ring and a Rakdos Signet, Mountain, Plains, Lightning Greaves and Iona, Shield of Emeria. This lets your 7th card be whatever, and it doesn't matter what you draw. i don't know if there is some unholy strategy that lets you cast her turn one with greaves. You would be hard pressed to get iona out from the command zone turn 3 unless you start the game with most of your ramp. 3 plains, Sol Ring Mind Stone, Thran Dynamo. That's best case scenario, and it probably won't be until later. It is doable, though. But those are extreme. I don't think you'd see either of those situations in most games involving those two.

To ban it for every player is why i don't like it.

Wuzibo on New Social Contract Breach Discussion

2 months ago

You can concede at almost anytime, unless you are conceding solely for resource denial.

As an example, lets say a player with Rafiq of the Many is swinging at you and he has some of the swords of X and Y on. You have no blockers. He is going to kill you with commander damage. You don't get to concede on the declare blockers step just to deny him the swords triggers.

Or, for example, if you have Karn Liberated out, and you can ult him next turn. You're playing oloro stax. He's well defended because you played him after a boardwipe and, you got a creature and have a counter in hand or something like that. So then someone else Word of Seizings him to ult him themselves. You don't get to concede for that. Conversely, you can't concede just because some guy has taken all your stuff and is using them to win the game, just to take from him all the permanents you own but no longer control, blowing up key parts of his board and letting someone else win when, up until your concession, the "thief player" was playing a stellar game.

This, of course, only matters in a multiplayer format. In 2 player, them conceding means you win, so it doesn't matter. Maybe they're being a little bit of a sore loser, but at the end of the day you still won. In multiplayer, it's more complicated because, like, the game keeps going after a concession. in the toski example, lets say he can take you out, but he's out of cards in hand and really needs that draw. If he draws, he gets something that kind of just forces someone to remove it or it wins the game. But you concede, so he doesn't draw, and then he loses. Or in the karn example, if they restart the game with the stuff karn exiled, yeah, thats not "guaranteed win", but it is a very strong advantage. The exception to this would be when you're the last 2 players in the game. Then it can be "concede whenever" again.

The one hard part about this is slaverlocking people. They don't get to play anymore, but, it's not really fair to the person slaverlocking if the person slaverlocked just concedes, because then thats a 4 mana sink that they just wasted. I understand that it's just unfun, there is no chance to win when youre slaverlocked, but like, what happens then, after you concede? does the Mindslaver guy then get to retroactively change his mindslaver target to someone staying in the game, or does he just have to waste his mindslaver?

toxicmuffin01 on Hydra Fight Club

2 months ago

I have a friend who plays Bearer of the Heavens for Kalemne Giants. Should I throw in something like Karn Liberated or Scour from Existence?

TeyoSelflessProtector on Hand of Sythis

3 months ago

Love the deck! I run an enchantress deck with Sythis that I haven't logged on TappedOut yet. I went more of a Pillow Fort and Token Generation route, as it's meant to be my really casual deck. Slows down games though so I put in Karn Liberated just for S&G's

Rhadamanthus on Nicol Bolas, Dragon-God interaction

5 months ago

Unfortunately no, that won't work. Karn Liberated's abilities work by way of a concept called "linked abilities". One interesting thing about linked abilities is that if another object gains them, they just stay linked to each other and won't link to any other abilities on that object. In your example that means the only non-Aura permanents you could get would be from among cards Nicol Bolas had exiled using the +4 or -3 abilities it got from Karn.

Here are some of the relevant detailed rules from the Comprehensive Rules document :

607.1. An object may have two abilities printed on it such that one of them causes actions to be taken or objects or players to be affected and the other one directly refers to those actions, objects, or players. If so, these two abilities are linked: the second refers only to actions that were taken or objects or players that were affected by the first, and not by any other ability.

607.2a If an object has an activated or triggered ability printed on it that instructs a player to exile one or more cards and an ability printed on it that refers either to “the exiled cards” or to cards “exiled with [this object],” these abilities are linked. The second ability refers only to cards in the exile zone that were put there as a result of an instruction to exile them in the first ability.

607.5. If an object acquires a pair of linked abilities as part of the same effect, the abilities will be similarly linked to one another on that object even though they weren’t printed on that object. They can’t be linked to any other ability, regardless of what other abilities the object may currently have or may have had in the past.

Neotrup on Nicol Bolas, Dragon-God interaction

5 months ago

No. Karn Liberated's abilities are link abilities. You'll only get permanent cards exile by Nicol Bolas, Dragon-God using either Karn's +4 or -3, not any other ability.

Load more