Parallax Wave

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Custom Legal
MTGO Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Vintage Masters (VMA) Rare
Nemesis (NMS) Rare

Combos Browse all

Parallax Wave

Enchantment

Fading 5 (This enchantment enters the battlefield with five fade counters on it. At the beginning of your upkeep, remove a fade counter from it. If you can't, sacrifice it.)

Remove a fade counter from Parallax Wave: Exile target creature.

When Parallax Wave leaves the battlefield, each player returns to the battlefield all cards he or she owns exiled with Parallax Wave.

Parallax Wave Discussion

LVL_666 on The Song of Phyresis

1 month ago

PHATJER, a shame your playgroup doesn't like Stax :( If anything, this deck relies more on soft locks - nothing like Winter Orb , Static Orb , or Sphere of Resistance ...but I digress. So to make sure we're on the same page, the Stax elements of the deck are 7 cards, specifically:

We cut all the Praetors and the Artifact/Enchantments that synergize with proliferation triggers, what does that leave? Well that opens up slots to dive deeper into the remaining themes of the deck: proliferate, -1/-1 counters, +1/+1 counters, and infect. I'd recommend building out into all three, while still maintaining that sweet sweet vorthos - of course i'm going to suggest Yawgmoth, Thran Physician . To accompany him, the following infect creatures need to be added as well: Necropede , Corpse Cur and Core Prowler to gain more value for Yawgmoth's " Pay 1 life, Sacrifice another creature: Put a -1/-1 counter on up to one target creature and draw a card."

So now, that leaves us with 3 slots left. What should we fill those slots with? If you're going for flavor over function there's the very fun Fuel for the Cause . Then you could toss in an additional bomb in the form of Cathars' Crusade . Last, but definitely not least i'd probably toss in Beast Within for a bit more interaction, which never hurts. What's best about the previously mentioned is that it has a New Phyrexia printing which keeps things on flavor. So a quick recap of my suggested replacements:

Alternatively, you could opt for creatures that have more synergy with Yawgmoth, pretty much anything in the archetype of Reassembling Skeleton . That's pretty much all the ideas I could come up with off the top of my head. What do you think? Also, thanks for the +1.

LordKunai on Tuvasa - An Enchanting Evening

1 month ago
Approach of the Second Sun + Omniscience or Dream Halls + card draw | Win

Earthcraft + squirrels nest | Infinite 1/1 Squirrels

Solemnity + Decree of Silence | Counter ALL opponents' spells

Solemnity + Dark Depths | Instant 20/20 flying, indestructible

Rest in Peace + Energy Field | Prevent ALL damage from opponents

Enchanted Evening + Aura Thief + Flash or ( Alchemist's Refuge or Leyline of Anticipation ) | Steal ALL permanents

Enchanted Evening + Calming Verse | Destroy ALL opponents' permanents

Enchanted Evening + Opalescence + Parallax Wave | Exile ALL opponents' permanents

Opalescence + Parallax Wave + Oblivion Ring or Detention Sphere | Exile all opponents' nonland permanents

Transformatron on Karametra Stax Enchantress

2 months ago

nemoforever I think the list looks super solid but I noticed you are missing Land Tax . That card is super important especially because of Emeria, The Sky Ruin . But honestly that list looks great if you aren't playing against pubstompers all the time and have a playgroup with fairly balanced power levels.

Do you know how Parallax Wave works with Starfield of Nyx and Opalescence ?

Anyway I'm super happy because when I've talked to people in the past they have strayed back towards DeTora's list which was a great jumping off point but only did as well as it did on camera because of Fevered Visions giving extra draw power.

Entens on Odric keyword soup

2 months ago

No keyword abilities, but Sword of the Animist really smoothes mana curve and provides consistency for Emeria Shepherd .

Your sideboard needs Angel of Jubilation . It confers flying, but also locks out a sizable number of decks that depend on sacrifice or paying life.

Lifelink is super powerful with Odric. Archangel of Thune gives your dorks flying and lifelink, as well as making them huge.

Parallax Wave works superbly well to deny opponents or blink your dorks.

True Conviction is awesome backup if Odric gets knocked off the board to keep you threatening.

Helm of the Host adds to the mana curve, but it has enormous board presence if you keep making dangerous dorks. It also confers haste which is super useful.

Oketra's Monument accelerates your game in multiple dimensions.

Kogarashi on Can I response to a ...

3 months ago

In order for any item on the stack to resolve, the players must each pass priority in turn without adding anything to the stack. This applies for every single item in the stack. They don't resolve in one bunch.

So in your scenario, here's what happens, broken down:

  • You blink Parallax Wave , let's say with something that returns it right away, since you didn't say. Your blink effect is on the stack, and the Parallax is still on the board.

  • You have priority first (since you're the one who used the blink effect). You pass without adding anything. Your opponent passes without adding anything to the stack either. Parallax Wave leaves the battlefield, triggering its LTB, then returns with 5 fading counters on it.

  • Triggered abilities go on the stack when a player would next receive priority, and state-based actions are checked first. There are no state-based actions to worry about here, so your Parallax trigger goes on the stack.

  • In order for the trigger to resolve, everyone must pass priority again without adding things to the stack. We'll say you do so.

  • Parallax trigger resolves, returning both Gilded Drake and Emissary of Grudges to the battlefield. Your opponent secretly chooses you for Emissary. Gilded Drake triggers.

  • Still no state-based actions. Drake trigger goes on the stack, and you target Emissary.

  • In order for the Drake trigger to resolve, everyone must pass priority without adding things to the stack. However, when your opponent receives priority, they instead choose to activate Emissary of Grudges , targeting the Drake triggered ability and changing its target to another creature you don't control. There are no timing or targeting restrictions, everything is legal. Now Emissary's ability is on the stack on top of the Drake's.

  • A new round of priority begins with your opponent (since he can hold priority after adding Emissary's ability to the stack). We'll assume that no one else adds anything to the stack as priority passes around the table once.

  • Emissary's ability resolves, switching Drake's target.

  • Another round of priority happens, starting with you (active player) since no one directly added a spell/ability and held priority. We'll again assume no one adds anything to the stack.

  • Drake ability resolves, switching control with the new target, not the Emissary. The stack is now empty.

Your comment about "no priority for him between resolving his own trigger on the stack and mine" doesn't work. First, he has no triggers to worry about. As others have mentioned, choosing an opponent secretly is something that happens as Emissary of Grudges enters the battlefield. It's not a triggered ability (which begin with "when, whenever, or at"). It can't be responded to. It's timing is simultaneous with it entering the battlefield. Your Gilded Drake , on the other hand, has a triggered ability that must go on the stack when a player would receive priority, and then resolve to happen.

Second, currently the only thing that can prevent people from responding to a spell or ability on the stack is the Split Second mechanic, as seen on cards like Sudden Spoiling , which explicitly prevent players from casting spells or activating abilities that aren't mana abilities while it's on the stack (special actions and mana abilities are still allowed). Gilded Drake 's ability doesn't have any effect that would prevent your opponent from activating an ability in response to it.

Third, each item on the stack must resolve individually, and players each receive priority between every item on the stack. You can have a stack four items tall, resolve two of them, add three more, resolve four of them, add another, and so on, as long as players have the means to do so. The stack is not resolved in one large chunk.

Long-winded, but hopefully clears it up for you.

ElgAbri on Can I response to a ...

3 months ago

Ok, this is what happens in the game:

I have a Parallax Wave and there is my Gilded Drake and a Emissary of Grudges of my opponent removed with the Parallax.

In my turn, I blink the Parallax Wave , making my Gilded Drake and his Emissary of Grudges enters the battlefild again in the same time.

The abilities goes to the stack in APNAP order, Gilded Drake First, Emissary next. Resolving the abilities:

"As Emissary of Grudges enters the battlefield, secretly choose an opponent." - He chooses me.

"When Gilded Drake enters the battlefield, exchange control of Gilded Drake and up to one target creature an opponent controls." - I choose his Emissary of Grudges .

Nobody have anything to do now, than the stack beggins to resolve, and this is the problem (and the question):

My oponent wants to use the activated ability of the Emissary of Grudges (Reveal the player you chose: Choose new targets for target spell or ability if it's controlled by the chosen player and if it targets you or a permanent you control.) to change the target of my Gilded Drake for some other creature.

I say that this is not possible, because there is no priority for him betwin resolving his own trigger on the stack and mine. He says that he can.

So, what happens in this case? the trade happens or not?

Below is the rule:

117.5. Each time a player would get priority, the game first performs all applicable state-based actions as a single event (see rule 704, “State-Based Actions”), then repeats this process until no state-based actions are performed. Then triggered abilities are put on the stack (see rule 603, “Handling Triggered Abilities”). These steps repeat in order until no further state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the player who would have received priority does so.

603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player, in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities they control on the stack in any order they choose. (See rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate player gets priority.

Megalomania on The Oathblinker: Venser Time Twist

3 months ago

With the wincon being Lab Man and flicker as the main tech, i'm surprised you aren't using Aminatou, the Fateshifter as Oathbreaker. Parallax Wave is an awesome piece if you're looking for more flicker/removal/control effects.

Load more

Parallax Wave occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.0%