Grapeshot

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pauper Legal
Pauper Duel Commander Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vintage Legal

Grapeshot

Sorcery

Grapeshot deals 1 damage to target creature, player or planeswalker.

Storm (When you play this spell, copy it for each spell cast before it this turn. You may choose new targets for the copies.)

carpecanum on Ghyrson Starn, Kelermorph [Gunslinger]

1 day ago

Sorry, didn't see the "what to replace" request. Throne of the God-Pharaoh seems underwhelming here. Silverclad Ferocidons is amazing but its also the highest cmc card you have and i bet creature control isn't the problem you'll be having on turn 6-7. Also, you'll be hitting the Ferocidon for 3 points each time because your commanders ability affects you and its not optional.

If you find the deck needs more defense i'd look at Stormtide Leviathan and I LOVE Meishin, the Mind Cage in my pinger deck. Late game and suddenly nobody can cause damage but you.

Grapeshot might not be as useful as some other spells because it needs to target.

Dead_Blue_ on 【BUDGET】Competitive ▷ Phoenix Chick ◁ Deck!【DMU】

3 days ago

Or even Grapeshot or Gut Shot

Grapeshot won’t trigger prowess but it could be the bullet to get lethal in the right sequence

legendofa on Cormela Deck

4 months ago

If you need another finisher, this line also gets infinite storm count for Grapeshot or Tendrils of Agony.

HunkGTIKittyman on Frantic Archaeology [Infinite Graveyard Jank]

5 months ago

Maybe Grapeshot, it's another way to do damage without Monastery Swiftspear or Electrostatic Field on the battlefield

RambIe on Increasing Vengeance Getting Copied

5 months ago

you answered your own question "I do understand that copies are not cast" / "if this spell was cast from a graveyard".
also Fritzn is correct "something else to keep in mind is Increasing Vengeance cannot copy itself." the portion that says "you may chose new targets for the copies" can be confusing but to make more sense of it divide the card up by each sentence

Copy target instant or sorcery spell you control.
at this stage you have declared your target and a copy is placed on the stack
If Increasing Vengeance was cast from a graveyard, copy that spell twice instead.
if requirements are met a second copy of "that spell" is placed on the stack
You may choose new targets for the copies.
if you keep in mind the first two sentences have already resolved the target spell to be copied has already been copied and on the stack so you can only choose legal targets of that spell
i hope that helps
p.s. to make Kalamax, the Stormsire infinitely huge simply cast Twincast, Fork, Reiterate, or Reverberate in response to anything one of your opponents cast and as long as kalamax is tapped you can use his copy to loop. but keep in mind none of the combos listed this far will net +1 copy and since copying does not count as casting it does not up storm counts so none of the suggestions on this thread will help your Grapeshot

IceFloe_7 on Increasing Vengeance Getting Copied

5 months ago

This seems a bit silly, because it feels like it has a correct answer, but the more and more I think about it the more confused I get.

I play Kalamax, the Stormsire. With it, I have learned that when you cast a modal card such as Pyroblast it keeps the option chosen option. However, if I play an Increasing Vengeance and it is copied, does that copy retain tjhe fact it was cast from a graveyard?

I do understand that copies are not cast, which would lead me to think no. However it just confuses me with the modal part.

The oracle text now reads "this spell" instead of "increasing vengeance" on the line "if this spell was cast from a graveyard".

Lastly, I do understand that it getting copied can make Kalamax infinitly big, just if it double copies the origional the other can hit like a Grapeshot infinitly.

Polaris on Nivmagus Elemental ability usable repeatedly …

6 months ago

First, we need to go over casting basics. A spell is cast and resolves in a few steps. First, you announce your casting the spell. You make any choices (which mode of Abrade, how much is for Comet Storm and if you're kicking it, etc. Once you've done that, you select any targets and figure out the cost of the spell. You pay that cost and then it's cast. At this point, the spell goes into the stack.

Players now get a chance to respond (this is when you cast your Counterspell). If no player does, the top item on the stack resolves (this is when Counterspell would take effect). Once a spell or ability finishes resolving, it leaves the stack. A permanent spell enters play, an instant or sorcery goes to the graveyard, and an ability just disappears.

In this case, you then respond to your Counterspell by exiling it to Nivmagus Elemental. The exile is part of the cost, which means no one can respond to that part. By the time the ability goes on the stack, the Counterspell is exiled. Players get a chance to respond, and if they don't, you resolve it and put the 2 counters on your Elemental.

Now to your questions.

  • Yes, the ability works to exile the Counterspell.
  • No, any spell you exile to Nivmagus Elemental gets taken off the stack (into exile) and will not resolve. You're trading out the spell for +1/+1 counters, go their Lightning Bolt will resolve and deal damage since it wasn't countered.
  • Yes, you can activate Nivmagus Elemental any time you have a spell to exile to it. There's no tap requirement or other limiter slowing you down, so you can feed Nivmagus Elemental as many spells as you can cast. Even copies of spells are fair game, so if you manage to chain seven cantrips (like Manamorphose) and then cast Grapeshot, its storm ability will make seven copies and you could exile all of them plus the original to Nivmagus Elemental to put a total of 16 +1/+1 counters on it. In fact, spells exiled to Nivmagus Elemental still count for storm, so you could also get some of the cantrips for even more counters.
Load more