Hostage Taker

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Alchemy Legal
Arena Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Pioneer Legal
Vintage Legal

Hostage Taker

Creature — Human Pirate

When this enters the battlefield, exile another target creature or artifact until this leaves the battlefield. You may cast that card for as long as it remains exiled, and you may spend mana as though it were mana of any type to cast that spell.

Excalibur478 on Tasha Budget Spellthief

4 months ago

Rings of Brighthearth to get a second activation out of your commander. also less than 5 dollars.
This deck looks like it would love Geth, Lord of the Vault because it both mills and steals. It is a little mana intensive, so if you think you don't have enough mana for it that's cool too. I love the card though. I have literally stolen infinite combos straight from people's yards and it's hilarious.
Dimir Infiltrator slots in perfectly to your evasive creature suite, while also giving you an extra layer of consistency. Your deck looks okay for ninjas, but if it were me I would try to get a bit more enablers for it. Maybe add in another evasive 1-2 drop creature, too.
Hostage Taker feels like a staple in every blue black deck ever, and gets even better with some obvious synergy in your deck. Also goes good with Displacer Kitten. But that's like half of Magic anyways lmao
your deck is cool tho. looks like a deck I would play

Polaris on Interaction between "Until leaves the …

8 months ago

Yes, it will return in time.

The part of Hostage Taker's ability that returns the creature is a one-shot effect, covered in rule 610. The only things Rule 610 says about the timing are that it happens immediately after the event causing it and it does not use the stack or wait for state-based actions. Nothing happens between Hostage Taker leaving and the creature returning, even if this is mid-resolution of a spell; any abilities triggered by either event will wait until state-based actions are checked.

See also the ruling on Hostage Taker:

If it’s still in exile, the exiled card returns to the battlefield immediately after Hostage Taker leaves the battlefield. Nothing happens between the two events, including state-based actions. (2017-09-29)

sophomore on Interaction between "Until leaves the …

8 months ago

The situation:

  1. I have Reyhan, Last of the Abzan and Hostage Taker on the battlefield, and my Hostage Taker has exiled a creature I own.

  2. Damnation resolves, destroying both of my creatures.

My question:

  1. Does the creature exiled with Hostage Taker return to the battlefield in time for Reyhan, Last of the Abzan's ability to target that creature in order to successfully trigger?

  2. Is there anywhere this interaction is clearly explained? I believe it should work in my favor, but to my eye, rule 611.2a doesn't unambiguously clarify whether the "until ~ leaves the battlefield" effect waits to stop applying until a player would receive priority (by which time I conceive it would be too late for my purposes above), or if it stops applying immediately and in the middle of the resolution of another effect (in which case I conceive it should be early enough for my purposes above).

Demon519 on M-m-m-m-m-my Muldrotha! That's a bad name.

1 year ago

RAMP: Deranged Assistant, Gilded Goose, Rootcoil Creeper, Sakura-Tribe Elder, Skull Prophet, Solemn Simulacrum, Phyrexian Tower, Binding the Old Gods, Titans' Nest, Cultivate, Kodama's Reach, Nissa's Renewal, Chromatic Lantern, Dimir Signet, Golgari Signet, Lotus Petal, Simic Signet, Sol Ring, Wayfarer's Bauble, Kiora, the Crashing Wave.

CARD DRAW and SELF MILL: Baleful Strix, Deranged Assistant, Glowspore Shaman, Prime Speaker Zegana, Satyr Wayfinder, Sidisi, Brood Tyrant, Skull Prophet, Solemn Simulacrum, Stitcher's Supplier, Underrealm Lich, The Binding of the Titans, Titans' Nest, Vessel of Nascency, Buried Alive, Rishkar's Expertise, Victimize, Aether Spellbomb, Altar of Dementia, Kiora, the Crashing Wave.

REMOVAL: Acidic Slime, Agent of Treachery, Bane of Progress, Cavalier of Night, Hostage Taker, Kraul Harpooner, Massacre Wurm, Polukranos, Unchained, Ravenous Chupacabra, Shriekmaw, Binding the Old Gods, Pernicious Deed, Seal of Primordium, Beast Within, In Garruk's Wake, Languish, Aether Spellbomb, Vraska, Golgari Queen.

PROTECTION and RECURSION: Eternal Witness, Genesis, Gisa, Glorious Resurrector, Glen Elendra Archmage, Siren Stormtamer, Spore Frog, Animate Dead, Kaya's Ghostform, Pattern of Rebirth, The Binding of the Titans, Rise of the Dark Realms, Victimize, Kiora, the Crashing Wave.

ATTEMPTS TO WIN: Avenger of Zendikar + Fabled Passage ... Eternal Witness + Time Warp ... Avenger of Zendikar + Altar of Dementia ... Massacre Wurm + Thassa, Deep-Dwelling ... Muldrotha, the Gravetide + Kaya's Ghostform + Lotus Petal + Altar of Dementia ... Rise of the Dark Realms + Eternal Witness ... Vraska, Golgari Queen emblem ... Underrealm Lich + Prime Speaker Zegana OR Rishkar's Expertise

CUTE/GOOFY: Gisa, Glorious Resurrector, Awaken the Erstwhile, Visions of Duplicity.

tiffanyann on Unique Commanders

1 year ago

Oh God here we go.

Aethertide Whale

Brineborn Cutthroat

Brine Hag  WTF IS THIS

Arcane Adaptation

Daring Saboteur

Deadeye Plunderers

Denizen of the Deep

Diabolic Edict

Dire Fleet Ravager YES.

Dusk Legion Dreadnought

Elaborate Firecannon MUST INCLUDE

Fatal Push

Fathom Fleet ANYTHING

Fell Flagship

Fleet Swallower

Forerunner of the Coalition COP DFR

Ghost of Ramirez DePietro

Ghost Ship

Grasping Scoundrel

Gust of Wind

Gyruda, Doom of Depths SHOULD WE DO ALL EVEN HAHA NO

High Tide

Hostage Taker

Icebreaker Kraken

Inga Rune-Eyes

Interdict

Jace, Cunning Castaway

Killer Whale

Kraken of the Straits

Lingering Mirage

Lookout's Dispersal

Merchant Raiders

Merchant Scroll

Merchant Ship

Merfolk Assassin

Merfolk of the Pearl Trident

Nadir Kraken

Nameless One

Nezahal, Primal Tide

Phantasmal Dreadmaw

Phantasmal Terrain

Phantom Warrior

Piracy

Pirate Ship

Queen's Bay Soldier

Raiders' Karve

Raiders' Wake

Reef Pirates

Rescue from the Underworld

Return Upon the Tide

Rise from the Tides

Rishadan Dockhand

River Serpent

Run Aground

Run Ashore

Ruthless Knave

Saprazzan Cove

Saprazzan Outrigger

Scourge of Fleets

Sea God's Revenge

Sea Serpent

Serpent of the Endless Sea

Shadowed Caravel

Shipbreaker Kraken

Siren Stormtamer

Skulduggery

Skymarch Bloodletter

Sleek Schooner

Slipstream Eel

Sorcerous Spyglass

Spectral Sailor

Spined Megalodon

Steam Frigate

Stormsurge Kraken

Stormtide Leviathan

Thassa's Ire

Thing from the Deep

Thing in the Ice  Flip

Tidal Wave

Unknown Shores

Vampire Revenant

Vanquish the Weak

Vexing Scuttler

Waker of Waves

Walk the Plank

War-Wing Siren

Watery Grave

Wavecrash Triton

Wu Longbowman

Pursued Whale

Named_Tawyny on You may spend mana as …

1 year ago

Gidgetimer, are you sure about that?

My understanding is that if the card says you can "Spend mana as if it were any type" (eg Hostage Taker ) that this would include WUBRG and Colourless, but if it says you can "Spend mana as if it were any colour" (eg Daxos of Meletis ) that you can't use coloured mana to pay for colourless costs.

Load more
Have (2) Auggioh , Azdranax
Want (2) jw560211_magic , Goji