Spirit Shield

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Custom Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Fallen Empires (FEM) Rare

Combos Browse all

Spirit Shield

Artifact

You may choose not to untap Spirit Shield during your untap step.

(2), Tap: Target creature gets +0/+2 as long as Spirit Shield remains tapped.

Spirit Shield Discussion

Rhadamanthus on What happens to power boosting ...

2 years ago

Right. The ability only has a target at the time you activate it, and the only condition on the duration of the effect is "for as long as Spirit Shield remains tapped". The only reason it would lose track of the object it's affecting is if something caused that object to become a different object, usually by making it change zones.

Rhadamanthus on What happens to power boosting ...

2 years ago

Effects like Spirit Shield etc. will continue to work (if you chose to leave it tapped, of course) when the object turns back into a creature.

The reason Equipment and "Enchant Creature" Auras become unattached when a creature becomes a noncreature isn't about legal/illegal "targets". It's just part of the rules for how they work. Equipment can't be attached to noncreature permanents, and Auras can only be attached to whatever their "Enchant NN" ability says. There aren't any such special rules for an effect like Spirit Shield, so that means it will continue to work as long as the Shield stays tapped and the creature it's affecting stays on the battlefield (i.e. as long as it doesn't somehow become a different game object).

UniqueUserID on What happens to power boosting ...

2 years ago

When a creature stops being a creature all equipment will "fall off" (not legal targets) and many auras will also die.

But what happens with the likes of the old PROTO-equipment such as Spirit Shield and Endoskeleton?

If the target is a Warden of the Wall , Chimeric Idol or a Chimeric Sphere what is the reason it would work or fail? Can it "remember" a legal target?

sonnet666 on [List] The MTG Weapons Arsenal

2 years ago

Don't stop now. I believe in you!

No data for this card yet.