Blade of Selves

Blade of Selves

Artifact — Equipment

Equipped creature has myriad. (Whenever ts creature attacks, for each opponent other than defending player, you may put a token that's a copy of this creature onto the battlefield tapped and attacking that player or a planeswalker he or she controls. Exile the token at the end of combat.)

Equip

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Trade

Have (1) Azdranax
Want (5) mrcrow85 , octagone , EOT_Impulse , rpie4444 , JSTN64

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander Anthology 2018 (CM2) Rare
Commander 2015 (C15) Rare

Combos Browse all

Tokens

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Highlander Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Blade of Selves occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.02%

Blade of Selves Discussion

iammute on I Am Fire, I Am Death

1 week ago

Fuzzlewuzzle I hadn’t thought of that. Blade of Selves, Helm of the Host, Panharmonicon and Strionic Resonator are pet cards of mine so I’m always looking for decks to force them in. I have drawn the Blade a few times when the game has gotten to 1vs1 and it is a horrible feeling

DrukenReaps on The Punk Rocker And Her Goodest Boy

2 weeks ago

So my order came in with some of what I need to make this deck. I'm not sure I'll mess around with them much right now though since I don't have anywhere to play... If I do there will be big changes to what is seen in the deck list. I don't like the average CMC of this list.

Also I wasn't entirely sure how Blade of Selves worked with Yannik so I asked. Basically the answer is it doesn't work with Yannik. Gatherer ruling is

"If Yannik leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, you won’t exile any creature you control. Yannik’s reflexive triggered ability won’t trigger."

So that kinda sucks... However I might still find a place for Blade because there are still a lot of ETB effects in here and some pretty neat interactions with Blade. That ruling also means that people can remove Yannik and you get nothing out of it... Makes him a bit worse. I'm not really sure why they decided that other than maybe making interactions simpler. It doesn't seem like it lines up with rulings on other cards at all but maybe I'm misremembering some things.

Tylord2894 on Yannik, Scavenging Sentinel with Blade ...

2 weeks ago

So, the short answer is that a lot happens. Let's walk through everything that happens, step by step. I'll put any uncommon rules below for ease of reference.

Ok, you just attacked with Yannik, Scavenging Sentinel who is equipped with Blade of Selves. The Myriad trigger will go on the stack and resolve. Let's say you create two tokens. When they enter, their abilities trigger but are not on the stack yet. State-based actions are checked and the game sees that you need to get rid of two Yanniks. SBAs are then performed. For the sake of explanation, let's say you get rid of the actual Yannik and a token. Immediately, the creature that was exiled with the actual Yannik is returned to the battlefield (provided one was exiled). If either the actual Yannik or the token copy you aren't keeping had counters on them and they died (ei, Yannik doesn't go back to the command zone), Nikara, Lair Scavenger will trigger but, again, not go on the stack yet. Since some SBAs where performed, they are checked again. Now, the token that you aren't keeping ceases to exist. Again, SBAs are checked, but nothing happens, and we can put the triggers on the stack.

There are 2 Yannik triggers and up to 2 Nikara triggers. You get to order these as you see fit. Let's ignore the Nikara triggers because they just cause you to draw a card. For the Yannik that didn't stick around, its trigger does nothing (see below). For the Yannik that stays, its trigger gets to do something. You can exile one of your creatures until it leaves (until the end of combat). Exiling something in this way will cause a reflexive trigger (see below). This second trigger lets you put counters on your creatures as you see fit.

Now likely, you won't get rid of the actual Yannik, but I wanted to explain it that way to cover as many bases as possible. Should you only keep the actual Yannik, the triggers from the token won't do anything. You might, however, get some death triggers.

I know that's a lot of information, but I hope that helps!!

-

Relative uncommon rules:

"Until effects": 610.2. Some one-shot effects create a delayed triggered ability, which instructs a player to do something later in the game (usually at a specific time) rather than as the spell or ability that’s creating the one-shot effect resolves. See rule 603.7.

Nothing happens effect: 610.3a If the specified event [the "until" effect] has already occurred when the initial one-shot effect would cause the object to change zones, the object doesn’t move.

The order of SBAs and triggers: 704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 117, “Timing and Priority”), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event. If any state-based actions are performed as a result of a check, the check is repeated; otherwise all triggered abilities that are waiting to be put on the stack are put on the stack, then the check is repeated. Once no more state-based actions have been performed as the result of a check and no triggered abilities are waiting to be put on the stack, the appropriate player gets priority. This process also occurs during the cleanup step (see rule 514), except that if no statebased actions are performed as the result of the step’s first check and no triggered abilities are waiting to be put on the stack, then no player gets priority and the step ends.

Reflexive triggers: 603.12. A resolving spell or ability may allow or instruct a player to take an action and create a triggered ability that triggers “when [a player] [does or doesn’t]” take that action or “when [something happens] this way.” These reflexive triggered abilities follow the rules for delayed triggered abilities (see rule 603.7), except that they’re checked immediately after being created and trigger based on whether the trigger event or events occurred earlier during the resolution of the spell or ability that created them.

Kogarashi on Yannik, Scavenging Sentinel with Blade ...

2 weeks ago

The answer to this is in one of the rulings on the Gatherer:

  • If Yannik leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, you won’t exile any creature you control. Yannik’s reflexive triggered ability won’t trigger. (2020-04-17)

When you attack with Yannik, Scavenging Sentinel, the Myriad ability from the equipped Blade of Selves triggers, creating additional token copies of Yannik when it resolves. Since they enter the battlefield, their ETB abilities trigger.

SBAs are checked before triggers go on the stack. SBAs see that you have too many legendary creatures named "Yannik, Scavenging Sentinel," so you choose one and the rest go to your graveyard. Then the triggers are placed on the stack.

However, unless you kept one of the tokens rather than the original, when the triggers go to resolve, they will fail to exile anything due to the above-quoted ruling. Since you don't exile anything, the reflexive trigger (the second half of the ability) doesn't happen, and you don't get any counters.

DrukenReaps on Yannik, Scavenging Sentinel with Blade ...

2 weeks ago

So I'm building Nikara/Yannik and I was just looking at possibly putting Blade of Selves on Yannik, Scavenging Sentinel.

I'm not sure I fully understand what happens when I attack with Yannik in this situation. Obviously some tokens of him are created and his ETB goes on the stack and then state based actions declare some number of Yanniks must die but then what happens? Specifically with Yannik's ETB? Thank you.

Fuzzlewuzzle on I Am Fire, I Am Death

2 weeks ago

iammute Helm of the Host is cool, but it takes a bit more mana than I am comfortable with before it does anything.

Blade of Selves on the other hand is a card I've always wanted to try, but never got around to buying. The problem is I play a lot more three player edh than four player (the woes of a small playgroup), so Blade wouldn't be performing at full capacity in most of my games.

iammute on I Am Fire, I Am Death

2 weeks ago

Fuzzlewuzzle glad it worked out! I’m thinking of building Bladewing once I can play paper again. Will probably include Flameshadow Conjuring and Molten Echoes to really go in on the combo.

Have you considered Blade of Selves or Helm of the Host for more Bladewing triggers?

Jayjayrod on Mogis: A Very Silly Commander

2 weeks ago

Sumradagnoth I actually did have Blade of Selves in there at one point, but I didn't find it super useful in my experience. If it would perform well in your meta though then I say go for it!

Load more