Elbrus, the Binding Blade

Back:

Withengar Unbound

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
From the Vault: Transform (V17) None
Dark Ascension (DKA) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Elbrus, the Binding Blade

Legendary Artifact — Equipment

Equipped creature gets +1/+0.

When equipped creature deals combat damage to a player, unattach Elbrus, the Binding Blade, then transform it.

Equip (1)

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

DKA

Ebay

Elbrus, the Binding Blade Discussion

duff87 on Sygg's Stabbers [Unblockable Tribal]

4 weeks ago

Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip I've never seen that card before! it kind of reminds of Westvale Abbey  Flip. Badass list! +1!

ChaosEngineer on Death & Taxes w/ Unbanned Stoneforge

1 month ago

Speaking of cheating on big equipment that can become creatures I wonder if Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip would be good in this deck as a third tutor option.

ManiacalPotato on Night of the Living Robots

1 month ago

Ah ok, thanks for clarifying! In that case I'll swap out Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip with Loyal Apprentice for some early game presence and sacrifice synergy.

cmsrDPM on Night of the Living Robots

1 month ago

Yes, flip cards are special exceptions and have a ton of rules that only apply to them. Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip is considered colorless AND black when it comes to deck building. While in game if you tutored for a black spell you would not be able to find it: the game is aware of the other side. The game considers Withengar Unbound to be a nontoken black demon (you can check gatherer, in the description the card is black).

This is not your fault: multicolor flip cards are a sticky point for EDH since there isn't a rule just telling you it is both colors (or just black in your case). I went back to the original mechanics explanation and they state this but don't mention why it is important.

A long time ago I wanted to play Civilized Scholar  Flip in an Esper deck and ran into the same issue. I hope I helped clear up some confusion.

cmsrDPM on Night of the Living Robots

1 month ago

You cannot run Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip. It has color identity black on the other side which you do not have access to. Unfortunately Withengar Unbound is not a token, but a card making it illegal to run in the deck.

Gidgetimer on Transformation?

1 month ago

If your question has been answered please select an answer to remove this question from the unanswered queue. If you require further clarification ask for it so we can help you understand.

Also FLATSO99 has it almost exactly backwards. Both trigger at the same time and must be put on the stack. When you put them on the stack you put the Phage the Untouchable trigger on the stack first and then the Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip trigger. This means that since the stack resolves first in last out that the Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip trigger will resolve first.

FLATSO99 on Transformation?

1 month ago

Yes, Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip will transform and get the counters as long as you choose to let Elbrus trigger first:)

Neotrup on Transformation?

1 month ago

When Phage the Untouchable deals combat damage to your opponent both its own ability and Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip will trigger. You can put those abilities on the stack in either order. If Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip is put one the top of the stack it will be Withengar Unbound by the time Phage the Untouchable's ability resolves, so it will trigger to get the counters. It just matters how you stack the abilities

Load more

Latest Commander