Withengar Unbound

Front:

Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Custom Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
From the Vault: Transform (V17) None
Dark Ascension (DKA) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Withengar Unbound

Legendary Creature — Demon

Flying, trample, intimidate Whenever a player loses the game, put thirteen +1/+1 counters on Withengar Unbound.

Commander Recommendations Start Commander Deck

Ormendahl, Profane Prince
Dross Prowler
Dread Warlock
Dauthi Ghoul
Dauthi Jackal
Crowd of Cinders

Latest as Commander

Withengar Unbound Discussion

ThoAlmighty on We're Getting the Band Back Together

3 months ago

@RobTheHobGoblin: Currently its my personal favorite out of the decks I have, despite being among the weakest. Its pretty swingy, as it is heavily boardstate reliant, so Consistent sweepers, repeatable removal, and pillowforts kind of ruin it. Sometimes it gets pretty nuts, though, like putting Dragon Throne of Tarkir onto Withengar Unbound . It has also forced people at my lgs to learn the rules of banding, so watching my opponents suffer is always a plus. One of the people I play with even told me he's building an abzan version of this deck with Anafenza.

hellhole3927 on Mono Black Reanimator

3 months ago

XxFATMAN247xX, Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip doesn't transform the creature it's equipped to. It transforms itself, turning into Withengar Unbound .

nobu_the_bard on Anyone knows if lone rider ...

6 months ago

Lone Rider  Flip is white on the front, colorless on the back.

Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip is colorless on the front, black on the back. Note that Withengar Unbound has a color indicator that It That Rides as One lacks.

Gidgetimer on Copy of Accursed Witch Interaction

9 months ago

Nicol Bolas, the Ravager  Flip and Withengar Unbound enter the battlefield with their back sides up (so as Nicol Bolas, the Arisen and Withengar Unbound) as per 711.8 and not attached to anything per 303.4h.

711.8. A double-faced card enters the battlefield with its front face up by default. If a spell or ability puts it onto the battlefield “transformed,” it enters the battlefield with its back face up.

303.4h If an effect attempts to put a permanent that isn’t an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification onto the battlefield attached to an object or player, it enters the battlefield unattached.

Nicol Bolas remains in the graveyard per 711.8a.

711.8a If a player is instructed to put a card that isn’t a double-faced card onto the battlefield transformed, that card stays in its current zone.

chosenone124 on Copy of Accursed Witch Interaction

9 months ago

My opponent has an Accursed Witch  Flip out and casts Mirrorweave on it in response to my Wrath of God.

What happens to the following creatures:

Nicol Bolas, the Ravager  Flip

Nicol Bolas

Withengar Unbound

cmsrDPM on Night of the Living Robots

11 months ago

Yes, flip cards are special exceptions and have a ton of rules that only apply to them. Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip is considered colorless AND black when it comes to deck building. While in game if you tutored for a black spell you would not be able to find it: the game is aware of the other side. The game considers Withengar Unbound to be a nontoken black demon (you can check gatherer, in the description the card is black).

This is not your fault: multicolor flip cards are a sticky point for EDH since there isn't a rule just telling you it is both colors (or just black in your case). I went back to the original mechanics explanation and they state this but don't mention why it is important.

A long time ago I wanted to play Civilized Scholar  Flip in an Esper deck and ran into the same issue. I hope I helped clear up some confusion.

cmsrDPM on Night of the Living Robots

11 months ago

You cannot run Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip. It has color identity black on the other side which you do not have access to. Unfortunately Withengar Unbound is not a token, but a card making it illegal to run in the deck.

Neotrup on Transformation?

11 months ago

When Phage the Untouchable deals combat damage to your opponent both its own ability and Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip will trigger. You can put those abilities on the stack in either order. If Elbrus, the Binding Blade  Flip is put one the top of the stack it will be Withengar Unbound by the time Phage the Untouchable's ability resolves, so it will trigger to get the counters. It just matters how you stack the abilities

Load more

No data for this card yet.