Angelic Curator

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Casual Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Urza's Legacy (ULG) Common

Combos Browse all

Angelic Curator

Creature — Angel Spirit

Flying, protection from artifacts

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

ULG

Ebay

Have (1) ironax
Want (0)

Angelic Curator Discussion

sonnet666 on Weird State Based actions and ...

1 year ago

No, all of this happens during the cleanup step of your turn.

It still works the way Neotrup said, but here's the breakdown if you're interested:

514. Cleanup Step

  • 514.1. First, if the active players hand contains more cards than his or her maximum hand size (normally seven), he or she discards enough cards to reduce his or her hand size to that number. This turn-based action doesnt use the stack.

Not important

  • 514.2. Second, the following actions happen simultaneously: all damage marked on permanents (including phased-out permanents) is removed and all until end of turn and this turn effects end. This turn-based action doesnt use the stack.

Sudden Spoiling's effect wears off here.

  • 514.3. Normally, no player receives priority during the cleanup step, so no spells can be cast and no abilities can be activated. However, this rule is subject to the following exception:

  • 514.3a At this point, the game checks to see if any state-based actions would be performed and/or any triggered abilities are waiting to be put onto the stack (including those that trigger at the beginning of the next cleanup step). If so, those state-based actions are performed, then those triggered abilities are put on the stack, then the active player gets priority. Players may cast spells and activate abilities. Once the stack is empty and all players pass in succession, another cleanup step begins

SBA's are checked, and two actions need to be performed:

Both actions are taken as a single event as per rule 704.3:

  • 704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, Timing and Priority), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event. If any state-based actions are performed as a result of a check, the check is repeated; otherwise all triggered abilities that are waiting to be put on the stack are put on the stack, then the check is repeated. Once no more state-based actions have been performed as the result of a check and no triggered abilities are waiting to be put on the stack, the appropriate player gets priority. This process also occurs during the cleanup step (see rule 514), except that if no state-based actions are performed as the result of the step's first check and no triggered abilities are waiting to be put on the stack, then no player gets priority and the step ends.

Because of rule 704.7, Angelic Curator's last known information is that it had Skullclamp attached to it as it died. This is not determined with a second SBA check like you said. It is simply information about the creature.

Skullclamp triggers now, and waits to go on the stack.

A second SBA check is performed, and finds nothing to do in this example.

Skullclamp's trigger goes on the stack.

The active player gets priority.

Neotrup on Weird State Based actions and ...

1 year ago

704.7. If a state-based action results in a permanent leaving the battlefield at the same time other statebased actions were performed, that permanent's last known information is derived from the game state before any of those state-based actions were performed.

Even though a state based action does unattach Skullclamp from Angelic Curator because it was attached before state based actions were checked, the Skullclamp does trigger and you will draw 2 cards.

chosenone124 on Weird State Based actions and ...

1 year ago

I have an Angelic Curator on the battlefield. I cast Sudden Spoiling targeting myself. Next, I equip Skullclamp to the 0/2 Angelic Curator.

At the end step, Sudden Spoiling's effect will fade, making the Curator a 2/0 with Skullclamp attached to it. Will I get my Skullclamp trigger? I believe SBAs will cause Curator to die and Skullclamp to fall off at the same time.

Force_of_Willb on Be You Angels?

1 year ago

Is the goal of the deck to be competitive in legacy or casual fun?

If competitive, the deck will need to be faster. I suggest a reanimate theme with Reanimate, Animate Dead, or Exhume

You can get items into your graveyard quickly with: Putrid Imp, Tireless Tribe, Call the Bloodline, Oona's Prowler or nonbudget cards Entomb or Buried Alive

Then you will need specific angels for match ups

Iona, Shield of Emeria - shuts down any mono colored deck

Angel of Finality - shuts down graveyard decks

Linvala, Keeper of Silence - shuts down lots of creature decks

Maybe try New card Exquisite Archangel - could be good against burn or tendril/storm decks

This card doesn't see play but I like Angel of Jubilation - shuts down fetch lands, causes shocklands to come into play tapped, and makes phyrexian mana need to be paid.

If this is just casual, here are some other budget angels to consider:

Serra Avenger / Angelic Curator - 2CMC angel

Voice of All / Pristine Angel / Iridescent Angel - protection from colors

Angel of Despair - ETB destroy permanent

Magister of Worth / Sunblast Angel / Desolation Angel - ETB wrath effects

Archangel Avacyn  Flip

Happy Brewing.

Dreamweav3r on [[PAUPER]] Dawn of the Hawk

1 year ago

Bazzz, you make a great point with questioning the inclusion of Darksteel Citadel. At one point I beleive I wanted to run some sort of artifact package and include the likes of Auriok Sunchaser, this however proved difficult to fit into the deck. Another consideration was to be sure to make use of Glint Hawk, but looking back over the list I have plenty of artifacts to get him running, I should replace the Citadels. As for the Scroll of Avacyn I took it this way, its a 1-drop artifact that draws one for 1 mana, similar to Prophetic Prism. Still costs 2 to get a card with slight upside if the angel is out. That however is the sadness, Seraph of Dawn is the only Angel in pauper that is even slightly playable, and truthfully I use playable loosely. Angelic Curator and Tormented Angel for comparison. I discovered Seraph of Dawn and I thought, Angel Pauper! but sadly that is impossible as there arent enough good commons to build with, so I tried to find anything that may make it work.

KillerKorpse99 on Divine Wrath

2 years ago

They actually exist, Angelic Page and Angelic Curator.

ReDdeckWins96 on angels

2 years ago

Angelic Curator its actually an angel spirit even though it just says spirit