Yarok, the Desecrated

Yarok, the Desecrated

Legendary Creature — Elemental Horror

Deathtouch, lifelink

If a permanent entering the battlefield causes a triggered ability of a permanent you control to trigger, that ability triggers an additional time.

Start Commander Deck Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Trade

Have (4) Horizon97 , Taki117 , Forkbeard , Azdranax
Want (5) Erilynn , spaceyjdjames , makarzorklin , Yeti_Rapunzel , MrTeeg

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Core Set 2020 (M20) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Arena Legal
Standard Legal
Pioneer Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Brawl Legal
Frontier Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Yarok, the Desecrated Discussion

ThatGrimGuy on [Primer] Yarok, The Value Engine

21 hours ago

Does Deceiver Exarch combo with Deadeye Navigator and Yarok, the Desecrated for infinite ETB triggers? Also, great budget lands are the vivid cycle, Vivid Marsh etc. because they enter with extra counters from Yarok and there are a couple ways to flicker them.

Rhadamanthus on Yarok and making Copies

23 hours ago

You just get 2 cards.

A triggered ability always starts with one of the words "when", "whenever" or "at". Phantasmal Image's copy effect isn't a triggered ability. Rather, it's a replacement effect that modifies how Phantasmal Image enters the battlefield. It enters as a copy of Elvish Visionary, the "draw a card" ability triggers, and Yarok, the Desecrated copies that trigger.

Liszt on Yarok and making Copies

1 day ago

Let's assume I have Yarok, the Desecrated and Elvish Visionary in play. Now I am casting Phantasmal Image targeting Elvish Visionary.

Is the following correct? Phantasmal entering the battlefield causes it's triggered ability to go on the stack. The static ability of Yarok doubles this trigger. Now the first trigger resolves, turing my Image into a Visionary which then causes the trigger and draws me two cards (because of Yarok). Then the second Image trigger resolves and if I target the visionary again the same thing happens all over? Meaning I draw 4 cards in total?

Neotrup on Yarok + Primeval Bounty

1 day ago

Additionally, Primeval Bounty's first and second abilities both trigger off of spells being cast, not permanents entering the battlefield, so they are never doubled by Yarok, the Desecrated. Only the third ability, for lands entering the battlefield, is ever doubled.

Kogarashi on Yarok + Primeval Bounty

1 day ago

No.

Yarok, the Desecrated must be on the battlefield for its copy effect to apply.

Primeval Bounty's first ability will trigger when you cast Yarok, but Yarok is still on the stack at this time (you cast it, but it hasn't resolved yet), therefore it's not on the battlefield for its copy effect to apply. You don't double the triggered ability.

Liszt on Yarok + Primeval Bounty

1 day ago

Let's assume I have Primeval Bounty in play and cast Yarok, the Desecrated. Does Primeval Bounty trigger twice?

Neotrup on Yarok, the Desecrated + Burgeoning ...

2 days ago

The closest ruling I could find was for Teysa Karlov:

1/25/2019 An ability that triggers on an event that causes a creature to die doesn't trigger twice. For example, an ability that triggers "whenever you sacrifice a creature" triggers only once.

There aren't many abilities that trigger off of playing a land as opposed to a land entering the battlefield, so it isn't surprising that Yarok, the Desecrated doesn't have a ruling here, but to demonstrate the difference, consider what happens when an opponent plays a Kjeldoran Outpost without a plains to sacrifice. Burgeoning will trigger, but because Kjeldoran Outpost never entered the battlefield it's fairly evident that Yarok won't double it. Since it's an ability that triggers off of something distinct from entering the battlefield, even though it typically results in a permanent entering the battlefield, Yarok never sees it.

Gidgetimer on Yarok, the Desecrated + Burgeoning ...

4 days ago

You see, that is an interesting point and one that might be convincing. I got caught up in the "is it a trigger" line of thinking and didn't consider is it triggered from a permanent entering the battlefield. There is a precedent for triggers triggering off of special actions (every "when ___ is turned face up" on morph creatures) so I now agree with Rhadamanthus. Yarok, the Desecrated does not interact with Burgeoning. Not because it isn't a trigger, but because the trigger isn't caused by a permanent entering the battlefield.

Load more