|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
Combos Browse all
Creature — Eldrazi Horror
You may cast Eternal Scourge from exile.
When Eternal Scourge becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls, exile it.
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
Eternal Scourge Discussion
5 hours ago
Now that I think of it, I have seen quite a few Skred lists that ran Batterskull in the mainboard. Don't know why it slipped my mind when I was making the deck. I think I'll throw it in in place of the third Eternal Scourge as I am not a huge fan of having 3 mainboard anyways. My personal reasoning for only running 3 Blood Moons mainboard is that, while having 4 does make drawing it more guaranteed, if you draw another while you already have one out, it's kind of a dead draw. However, I will probably try playtesting it with 4 to see how it feels. I'm currently running Kolaghan's Command in sideboard as per suggestion of a friend of mine. Originally I had it in place of the 2 mainboard Fatal Pushes but decided to switch to the Fatal Pushes as a good amount of the meta around where I am is super aggressive creature aggro (All-in Goblins, Affinity, Naya Zoo, Jund, etc.). I usually sideboard Kolaghan's Command in against Affinity, though. As for Terminate, I've considered putting it in the place of the Fatal Pushes as there is a guy around here that runs R/G Titanshift and those pesky Titans get annoying. At the same time, however, I've thought about using Dreadbore instead as it would provide an answer to Planeswalkers as well. I will probably go ahead and replace the Surgical Extractions in my sideboard with Slaughter Games as it is only now that I realize that Inquisition doesn't hit Ad Nauseam, and thus cannot be hit buy Surgical Extraction.
1 day ago
@SaltySpecula: I'm not sure what distinction you're trying to draw. A spell is either legally cast or illegally cast. If it's illegally cast, then the game should be rewound to the state immediately prior to the attempt to cast the illegal spell. Nothing will trigger or happen.
There is no "successful" va "unsuccessful" casting. If you attempt to target Eternal Scourge, but your spell is cast illegally, the ability won't trigger and the game will be rewound. If you cast the spell legally, then the spell is on the stack, the ability triggers, and (barring other events) Eternal Scourge will be exiled.
"Other events" in the above context include causing Eternal Scourge to change zones before its ability resolves, in which case the ability won't be able to find Eternal Scourge and therefore won't be able to exile it.
1 day ago
MindAblaze is completely correct, as supported by his cited rule:
400.7 An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. There are eight exceptions to this rule:
None of those 8 exceptions are in any way relevant to this situation (MindAblaze was kind enough to provide a link if you wish to see the full text), so while the ability of Eternal Scourge does still resolve (it isn't countered, because it doesn't target), it does not do anything because it cannot find the Scourge to exile.
2 days ago
Quick question, say I have Eternal Scourge and Hidden Stockpile on the field. My opponent casts Larger Than Life targeting Eternal Scourge. Eternal Scourge exile trigger on the stack, pay 1 for Hidden Stockpile sacrificing Eternal Scourge. Does Eternal Scourge still exile from graveyard, or because it changed zones does it remain in graveyard?
4 days ago
Zaueski I wasn't sure who to tag about that so thank you.
As to the second part, considering exile is supposed to be its own zone anyway, hopefully it won't get too confusing. I know some people are in the habit of turning cards sideways in graveyard to represent exile, but Eternal Scourge got me out of that habit. Perhaps this card style will do that for other .
6 days ago
Yeah, I kind of got that about Eternal Scourge. It's simply the act of targeting it that exiles it, regardless of what the targeting spell does do. I will continue to try and find an impressively mind-bending use for Eternal Scourge...
6 days ago
For the third question you didn't ask: If you're opponent targets Eternal Scourge with a spell, let's say Unlicensed Disintegration, and you respond with Heroic Intervention the Scourge will still be exiled because it was initially targeted so the ability triggered, even though you gave it hexproof after the targeting.