|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Commander 2018 (C18)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow
Legendary Creature — Human Ninja
Commander Ninjutsu ( Return an unblocked attacker you control to its owner's hand: Put this card onto the battlefield from your hand or the command zone tapped and attacking.)
Whenever a Ninja you control deals combat damage to a player, reveal the top card of your library and put that card into your hand. Each opponent loses life equal to that card's converted mana cost.
Commander Recommendations Start Commander Deck
Latest as Commander
Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow Discussion
5 days ago
I second Madcookie. Cutting lands for cards is a trap many players fall into. My opinion is you should only be considering less than 36 lands if you are playing in competitive metas or if you have a very specific deck strategy (e.g. Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow ). You are effectively only running 34 lands ( Temple of the False God shouldn't be counted as a land due to it's restrictions). My strategy is to start with 37 lands, then adjust that number up or down depending on my curve and deck focus. I always make sure to have around 10 additional sources of ramp as well (your 8 seems fine).
Yes, Jhoira subverts the mana curve issue, but she is a 'kill on sight' commander. Everyone at the table will do whatever they can to kill her quickly. It's important to make sure you can still cast your spells without her.
If you are looking to still make room for the Leyline or Orrery, I'd suggest cutting Thousand-Year Storm . I doesn't really fit in this deck as you aren't trying to storm off with it.
Good luck and happy deck building!
6 days ago
Glad to see that there are other players who also lament the rules committee's (poorly thought out - in my opinion) decision to ban Paradox Engine . If you agree, then why not sign the Change.org Petition to formally and respectfully voice your criticism?
Tecstasy: "I don't agree with the banning It sucks for slivers but practically neutered Karn. Well with paradox gone for now I went for the steal your stuff with Unnatural Selection" - Interesting...but which Karn are you referring to? Because if you're talking about Creator Karn , then I beg to differ. The Rules committee yet again missed another "ubiquitous" combo that in my opinion should fit within their new philosophy: Karn, the Great Creator + Mycosynth Lattice = None of your opponents can play magic anymore. This combo has circulated in multiple decks in my meta. The best part is that this combo really depends on who controls Creator Karn - so if an opponent drops a Lattice they could be unwittingly crippling the whole table and themselves. Again, I don't know which Karn you're speaking of, but at the very least one of them is still allowed to run around unchecked.
Doombeard1984: "Hi man. Just a wonder, with The First Sliver what about Congregation at Dawn could tutor up 3 creatures to cascade just an idea." - I like the idea of Congregation , unfortunately it has to be cast with First out on the battlefield already, and ideally a 5-drop on deck for casting in order to really take advantage of the 1-2-3 creature cascade drop.
Forkbeard: " For funsies I've decided to temporarily revert to my win-more sliver noob ways and am putting in Unnatural Selection for now." - I used to have Selection slotted in, but I found it to be useful in only maybe one scenario where Sliver Overlord isn't present, and that's against Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow . "Question for you regarding The First Sliver - In your experience have you cascaded into a fizzled removal/counterspell very often or do you find your topdeck manipulation suite to be sufficient in that regard?" Have I cascaded into a fizzled removal/counterspell? Well...yes. However there's a wonderful thing about Cascade - there's a may clause. That wording is: " You may cast that card without paying its mana cost. Then put all cards exiled this way that weren't cast on the bottom of your library in a random order." So while I have cascaded into fizzled spells, they haven't had any real negative impact outside of that spell being exiled. I'm satisfied with the amount of topdeck manipulation that's already in the deck. I took a quick look at your build, and I must recommend that you include some Fetchlands. They help when in a pinch if you find that your deck efforts aren't going to yield anything.
3 weeks ago
I also think that is the primary reason we won't get it. But they could include it in one of the decks without it being the front commander and without any transform ability, much like Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow . The only thing I want is something close to Immerwolf and in red/white/green.
1 month ago
1 month ago
I'm going to guess Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow is your Commander but you haven't set her as such
1 month ago
Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow is the only midrange commander there the others are control heavy really and could make a really fun deck :)
1 month ago
1 month ago
No, you don't need to activate ninjutsu only after blockers are declared during the declare blocker step. Ninjutsu may be activated during the declare blockers step, the damage step, or end of combat step. Using ninjutsu during the declare blockers step will allow the ninja to deal damage. Using ninjutsu during the other two steps will have the unblocked creature doing damage.
702.48c A ninjutsu ability may be activated only while a creature on the battlefield is unblocked (see rule 509.1h). The creature with ninjutsu is put onto the battlefield unblocked. It will be attacking the same player or planeswalker as the creature that was returned to its owner’s hand.
So in the case of your questions:
1) Yes, you may use ninjutsu during the end of combat step after Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow 's triggered ability resolves.
2) No, Maze of Ith will not remove your new ninja from combat. It will untap your creature and prevent all damage done to and dealt by your creature. It will still be in combat.
3) The new ninja will not change anything about the structure of the combat phase except in cases like to add a first strike damage step if you ninjutsu during the declare blockers step and your entering ninja has first strike.
4) You may activate ninjutsu during the first strike damage step to have a ninja deal damage during the regular combat damage step.
Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow occurrence in decks from the last year
Commander / EDH:
All decks: 0.01%