Snapcaster Mage

Legality

Format Legality
Modern Legal
Legacy Legal
Vintage Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Innistrad Rare
Promo Set Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Snapcaster Mage

Creature — Human Wizard

Flash

Whenever Snapcaster Mage enters the battlefield, target instant or sorcery card in your graveyard gains flashback until end of turn. The flashback cost is equal to it's mana cost. (You may cast that card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Cardhoarder (MTGO)

15.69 TIX $12.95 Foil

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Snapcaster Mage Discussion

K00lDudE1 on Grixis Delver - Tappedout pls halp

12 hours ago

Your deck looks pretty solid, just a few suggestions and tips.

I'd recommend having 4 Snapcaster Mages in the 75 if you can afford them.

Things like Young Pyromancer and Gitaxian Probe are good options too.

You could probably drop to 18/19 lands, I'm not sure how you feel about how many lands you draw, but most grixis delver decks run 18/19 and your curve is obviously very low.

Also, Blood Moon is a bomb in the sideboard against so many decks in modern, especially Tron and lots of 3 color decks like abzan, jund, jeskai etc. Just remember to grab your basics if you side it in.

Honestly, I can't think of anything else to suggest, just playtest against the sort of decks you expect to be there, and see what works well, and good luck!

Tribal_Savage on Mill?

1 day ago

If you're looking to mill, I'd strongly suggest adding black. There are a ton of great cards I'd recommend, like, Breaking / Entering, Glimpse the Unthinkable, Mind Funeral, Haunting Echoes, Surgical Extraction, Far / Away you could also get some removal like Doom Blade, Go for the Throat. Snapcaster Mage is great for almost any blue deck. I have a deck using the cards I suggested and a few more I think you might like, if you're interested in checking it out or if you have any questions for me you're more than welcome to, you can find my deck here Dream Hack.

BlueScope on Can Goblin Dark Dwellers cast ...

1 day ago

@MsSysbit: The misunderstanding between Raging_Squiggles/myself and mtgoldie seems to be how each of the rules involved have to be handled. Let me do the painfully detailed breakdown:

Rule Application

First of all, Card text takes precedence over the Comprehensive Rules, as defined by one of the "Golden Rules":

101.1. Whenever a card's text directly contradicts [the Comprehensive Rules], the card takes precedence. The card overrides only the rule that applies to that specific situation. (...)

Specific card rulings don't overrule rules in the sense of the word, but provide clarifications or official (binding) interpretations of a card's functionality under the existing rules.

Goblin Dark-Dwellers

Goblin Dark-Dwellers's ETB ability allows to cast a target Instant or Sorcery card in the controller's graveyard with CMC of 3 or less, without paying it's mana cost. This requires several rules quotes:

117.9. Some spells have alternative costs. An alternative cost is a cost (...) applied to it from another effect, that its controller may pay rather than paying the spell's mana cost. Alternative costs are usually phrased, (...) "You may cast [this object] without paying its mana cost."

202.3. The converted mana cost of an object is a number equal to the total amount of mana in its mana cost (...)

There are no relevant Gatherer Rulings.

Wheel of Fate

Wheel of Fate is a Sorcery, has no mana cost, and is assumed to be in the graveyard in this example. Here are the additionally relevant rules quotes:

117.6. Some mana costs contain no mana symbols. This represents an unpayable cost. An ability can also have an unpayable cost if its cost is based on the mana cost of an object with no mana cost. (...)

202.3a. The converted mana cost of an object with no mana cost is 0, unless that object is the back face of a double-faced permanent or is a melded permanent.

There are no relevant Gatherer Rulings (more on this further down).

Tieing everything together

Wheel of Fate has no mana cost, therefore a CMC of 0 as per rule 202.3a. It's a Sorcery, and nothing in the given example prevents it from being targetted by Goblin Dark-Dwellers's ability while in the graveyard.

Goblin Dark-Dwellers allows casting the card for the alternative cost of "without paying it's mana cost". As per rule 117.9, this replaces the original mana cost with this alternative cost, and while the original cost couldn't be paid (as per rule 117.6), the alternative cost can.

Rule 117.6's third sentence doesn't affect anything here, as Goblin Dark-Dwellers's ability has no cost, and certainly not one based on CMC of anything.

End Result: Wheel of Fate can be cast by Goblin Dark-Dwellers

Wheel of Fate's mentioned Gatherer Rulings

This has no mana cost, which means it cant normally be cast as a spell. You could, however, cast it via some alternate means, like with Fist of Suns or Minds Desire.

In this scenario, Wheel of Fate isn't cast normally (as defined by rule 601.2, which I won't quote in full), so this rule is irrelevant

This has no mana cost, which means it can't be cast with the Replicate ability of Djinn Illuminatus or by somehow giving it Flashback.

Djinn Illuminatus gives the card a Replicate cost equal to it's mana cost, not to it's converted mana cost. The mana cost of Wheel of Fate is non-existant, so the Replicate cost is non-existant, and therefore not payable.

The reason why Flashback won't work is functionally identical, though to be perfectly accurate, the Gatherer Ruling should say "...or by somehow giving it Flashback with a Flashback cost equal to it's mana cost". As of now, all cards that do grant cards in the Graveyard Flashback (Dralnu, Lich Lord, Past in Flames, Recoup, and Snapcaster Mage) set the Flashback cost equal to the card's mana cost, which again in case of Wheel of Fate is non-existant and therefore unpayable.

The rest of the Rulings are addressing the Suspend mechanic and are irrelevant for this scenario.

...can I have my internet points now? :)


@Raging_Squiggle: As I mentioned a while ago in the monstrous-Hydra-something-thread, numbers aren't mana costs - CMCs are always numbers, not costs, so Pact of Negation has a mana cost of mana symbol 0, yet a CMC of 0. This is important because you can't compare a number to a mana cost (think variable types - you can't compare a Blob to an Integer and get a sane result. Goblin Dark-Dwellers are looking for a spell with CMC less than 3, not mana symbol 3, as mana symbol 3 is not a number - it literally has to be converted into a number, for example by the game mechanic of CMC.

Raging_Squiggle on Can Goblin Dark Dwellers cast ...

2 days ago

There is no separation. To cast something "without paying its mana cost" is an alternate cost in and of itself. Flashback is also an alternate cost but doesn't work with Wheel of Fate as explained below.

Replicate is an additional cost, meaning you may pay the replicate cost any number of times you wish on top of the mana cost.

I am keeping it civil by explaining the difference between mana cost and converted mana cost. I have not typed in all Caps nor simulated yelling.

An alternate cost is defined as a method of casting a spell other than that of the normal mean of paying its mana cost.

  • Dream Halls allows you to discard a card instead of paying the mana cost.

  • Fist of Suns allows you to pay WUBRG instead of paying the mana cost.

  • Snapcaster Mage allows you to flashback something from your graveyard. The important thing to note for flashback is that it relies on the card being flashed back to have a mana cost. If it has none, there is no way to pay the flashback cost and therefore un-castable. This is why flashback, although being an alternate casting method, does not work with Wheel of Fate.

  • Omniscience/Tamiyo, Field Researcher/Goblin Dark-Dwellers allow you to cast the spell without paying anything at all.

lefty117 on Teferi, Temporal Turn-Fucker

4 days ago

I would remove Isochron Scepter just because you only have 8 instant spells you can put on it. I would putrade Snapcaster Mage in its place if you can afford him. If not maybe put Capsize could help you

Lilbrudder on Oh, I'm Sorry....Did I break your concentration?

4 days ago

You bounce Candelabra of Tawnos with Capsize replay it and untap your islands. Rinse and repeat for infinite mana then use Capsize to bounce all your opponents permanents. You need four islands in play for it to work, which is easy with fetchlands and wheels on turn 4 or 5. Or if you manage to get a bunch of fast mana early you can do it sooner with three islands since the mana engine grows exponentially if you have a Regrowth or Snapcaster Mage to recur with High Tide

AzamiLadyofScrolls on Prepare Your Salami for the Azami

4 days ago

Burgdawg My reasoning for not running Time Stretch is purely because it costs too much. This deck is more about casting cheaper extra turn spells and recurring them with things like Snapcaster Mage, Archaeomancer, and Call to Mind. It is a good spell, but I just like to keep this deck as efficient as possible. My next desired cut is Part the Waterveil for Capture of Jingzhou just because of the fact that it's strictly better, only problem with that is the price tag haha.

PeeBee on Defend The Base!

4 days ago

Thanks for the comment hamoidar, I wont be adding Fervor as it is red and would create a dead card in some instances, but I do use Akroma's Memorial mainboard for the exact reason to win the turn you play Primal Surge. Sylvan Caryatid has been mentioned many times, but currently I prefer the fetchland defender of Gatecreeper Vine and it has seemed to be the best choice in many games of FNM and testing.

Against control the sideboard cards Asceticism and Dryad Militant can make a lot of the spells less powerful from cards like Snapcaster Mage however Dragonlord Dromoka is a good card and I will consider it if I can get my hands on some.

Load more