Teysa Karlov

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Custom Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Arena Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Standard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Brawl Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Ravnica Allegiance (RNA) Rare

Combos Browse all

Teysa Karlov

Legendary Creature — Human Advisor

If a creature dying causes a triggered ability of a permanent you control to trigger, that ability triggers an additional time.

Creature tokens you control have vigilance and lifelink.

Teysa Karlov Discussion

cdkime on Question about “when a creature ...

13 hours ago

Teysa Karlov provides additional copies of any abilities that trigger on death, or any "leaves the battlefield" abilities, if that creature leaves by dying. She does not provide additional copies of triggers for ancillary effects that occur related to a creature dying.

When creatures die simultaneously or enter the battlefield simultaneously, they all see one another dying/leaving.

Gatherer Ruling: If a creature dying at the same time as Teysa (including Teysa itself dying) causes a triggered ability of a permanent you control to trigger, that ability triggers an additional time.

Let's break down what happens:

  1. Planar Cleansing Resolves. All permanents are destroyed; destroying a creature is a type of "dying."

  2. Destroyed is a type of death, so any death triggers occur. Teysa Karlov causes each of their abilities to trigger an additional time (see citation above). You control all these death triggers, so can order the stack in any way you want.

  3. Grim Haruspex will trigger for Teysa Karlov and Ogre Slumlord 's death. This results in four "draw a card" abilities being placed on the stack.

  4. Ogre Slumlord will trigger for Teysa Karlov and Grim Haruspex . This results in four "create 1/1 rat" triggers being generated.

  5. Anointed Procession is already in the graveyard when Ogre Slumlord 's ability resolves. As such, it will not see the Rats entering the battlefield, so will not be implicated.


Let's change the hypothetical some, and use Wrath of God instead of Planar Cleansing .

  1. Do steps 1-4 above.

  2. This time, Anointed Procession is on the battlefield when the rats enter. However, Anointed Procession is an enter the battlefield trigger field. While it is true the death triggers set the chain in motion resulting in the ETB ability being implicated, that does not make Anointed Procession 's ability an on-death trigger. As such it would not have an additional trigger (also, Teysa Karlov is dead at the time the ETB occurs).

Redcat7264 on Question about “when a creature ...

14 hours ago

So let’s say my board has Teysa Karlov , Grim Haruspex , Anointed Procession , and Ogre Slumlord . My opponents plays Planar Cleansing , and I want to know what would trigger. So would all the creatures’ deaths trigger Haruspex and the Ogre, get doubled by Teysa, and then the tokens get doubled by the Anointed possession, or what?

Joe_Ken_ on Athreos 75%

2 days ago

Yosei, the Morning Star could be a good creature for you. His death trigger letting you pretty much tap someone down and skip their untap step so they’ll be using there next turn doing nothing and if you add Teysa Karlov to the deck then him and any other death triggers will happen twice.

Panharmonicon May also be a good addition since then you’ll have double your etb triggers.

RoarMaster on Mistmoon Griffin + Teysa interaction

3 days ago

So say I have an Ashnod's Altar out, sacrificing Mistmoon Griffin while having Teysa Karlov also in play.

Is it infinite mana? Or Infinite mana and all creatures back from my grave? Or neither?

Mistmoon Griffin s wording is a bit different from most, as it doesnt say "If you do". Gatherer says it will return a creature even if its not in the grave upon resolving.

Mistmoon dies and hit the grave, which causes an additional mistmoon trigger. Stack the copied ability second as to resolve first. The copied mistmoon trigger resolves and returns the top creature to the battlefield, which is the mistmoon. Mistmoons 'real' ability now resolves even though mistmoon in back on the battlefield, returning the next top creature in the grave to the battlefield. This nets you 2 mana, the top creature in grave and Mistmoon back on the battlefield.

Am I understanding this correctly? Mistmoon can still return a creature, even though it is not exiled with its own ability?

dizzierabit on Teysa "Panharmonicon" Karlov

1 week ago

Ramp cards I like: Surveyor's Scope Gift of Estates , Liliana's Shade are all great. Shade is more expensive than Knight of the White Orchid , but it will always get you a land. The other two are just great generally.

I absolutely love Aetherworks Marvel which is busted in this deck. Revel in Riches I see in your maybeboard. I like it in the deck simply to eat removal that would otherwise target something more integral to what I'm doing.

Spawning Pit op.

Chainer, Dementia Master I like alot as well. gets you goodstuff from anyone's yard, and it exiles them whenever you want so its a great way to kill reanimator decks.

Killing Wave and Massacre Girl may also be worth looks? They're symmetrical, but often I find that I'm not affected by that nearly as much as everyone else.

I love Teysa Karlov so much omg

Kappalauzius on Black Judith

2 weeks ago

What about Elenda, the Dusk Rose and/or Teysa Karlov ? I would cut Massacre Girl in the mainboard, I don't really see their value in the mainboard.

Davie_Bones on Mardu Control

2 weeks ago

Oponions on Sorin, Vengeful Bloodlord ? I think he might be the lifegain I need. Also getting back a Teysa Karlov or God-Eternal Bontu from the grave the following turn could be good.

multimedia on bw

2 weeks ago

Hey, you have a lot of cards I suggest building a Commander deck. One legendary creature as the General Commander of the deck and 99 other cards, all singletons except basic lands. It looks like you like an aristocrat strategy where you're sacing your own creatures for value. Teysa Karlov is a good budget Commander for this strategy or Teysa, Orzhov Scion who you already have.

Load more

Teysa Karlov occurrence in decks from the last year

Standard:

All decks: 0.18%

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.03%

W/B (Orzhov): 1.11%