Wandering Fumarole

Legality

Format Legality
Modern Legal
Legacy Legal
Vintage Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Standard Legal
Frontier Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Oath of the Gatewatch Rare

Combos Browse all

Wandering Fumarole

Land

Wandering Fumarole enters the battlefield tapped.

: Add or to your mana pool.

: Until end of turn, Wandering Fumarole becomes a 1/4 blue and red Elemental creature with ": Switch this creature's power and toughness until end of turn." It's still a land.

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Cardhoarder (MTGO) -3%

4.7 TIX $9.91 Foil

Ebay

Wandering Fumarole Discussion

dreamistt on WIP creature-based riku

21 hours ago

My Suggestions:

I think your mana base is a little messy.

As for ramp in itself:

  • Gilded Lotus is amazing, but it only nets you one color of mana, which can be a bummer at times.
  • I always advocate for the use of all available signets (Simic Signet, Izzet Signet and Gruul Signet in your case), since they fix your colors in the early game and help you ramp up a bit (plus, a Sol Ring + Signet starting hand can go crazy pretty fast)
  • Thought Vessel and Mind Stone are other 2-mana artifacts with some great extra utility.

Cards I don't like/I don't find useful enough:

Other suggestions (mostly more creatures to use as a toolbox):

Daedalus19876 on THE ATOG STRIKES BACK

3 days ago

GrayAlchemyst: Servo Schematic is there to give a +4 boost to Ravenous Intruder. It seems to be performing well so far, but I'm still testing the deck.

I'd definitely consider Prophetic Prism, but I don't need it to activate Wandering Fumarole: I can tap 3 lands and Wandering Fumarole itself to turn the Fumarole into a creature, then use its ability (because after all, I just want the activations, I don't need the Fumarole untapped to make it useful).

Cyberpunk_Eevee on 4-color infinite damage

3 days ago

JKRice The combo is Crackdown Construct + Wandering Fumarole. Slip through space and renegade tactics since it doesn't have trample.

Looks like the other combo is saheeli rai and felidar, it's copy cat meets one punch man.

thechristopherson on Izzet Fevered Dynavolt

5 days ago

Skymage, try a combination of Wandering Fumarole, Spirebluff Canal, and Highland Lake over the Evolving Wilds and a couple of basics. Flooding is a huge problem, and I wouldn't run more than 22 or 23 with as much card draw as you have. I'd try to add some more counters like Horribly Awry or Void Shatter. I'd try to go up to 4 Gearhulks, because they make the deck. The rest of the creatures should go to live in the board, otherwise they just turn on all of your opponent's removal. Finally, I would add in some Shocks, since 2 damage + a tower ping answers both Gideon and Heart of Kiran. Just my two cents.

Rhadamanthus on Can Lazav, Dimir Mastermind copy ...

1 week ago

To be clear: the reasons these interactions are different is because of Rule 603.6c, quoted in Neotrup's post.

The point is that "leaves the battlefield" abilities (of which "dies"/"graveyard from battlefield" are a special type) trigger from the battlefield and use information about the game state from the last moment the object was actually on the battlefield to determine if and how they trigger. "Graveyard from anywhere" abilities are just a normal zone-change ability, and they use information about the game state from right after the object changed zones.

Lazav, Dimir Mastermind will only trigger if an actual creature card goes to the graveyard. Titania, Protector of Argoth will trigger if a Storm Crow enchanted with Imprisoned in the Moon dies (because it was a land right before it left the battlefield), but not if an animated Wandering Fumarole enchanted with Darksteel Mutation dies (because it wasn't a land right before it left the battlefield).

Raging_Squiggle on Can Lazav, Dimir Mastermind copy ...

1 week ago

Lazav, Dimir Mastermind's ability will only trigger if two things are true:

  1. It's a non-token card.

  2. It has the type Creature printed on the card.

If the permanent That's dying gained the type creature, perhaps because Wandering Fumarole died, but isn't a creature card, his ability will not trigger.

Zulaport Cutthroat's ability only cares that the permanent dying is a creature, not a creature card. This is a significant difference because cards that gained the type creature will trigger Zulaport Cutthroat's ability.

Titania, Protector of Argoth's ability will not trigger off of Wandering Fumarole dying while enchanted with Darksteel Mutation. This is because Darksteel Mutation removes all other card types from the permanent it's enchanting. It won't "still be a land" when it dies.

chosenone124, your final statement is misguided. Any card on the battlefield is a permanent, any card on the stack is a spell, and any card anywhere else is just a card (including the graveyard). When Fumarole dies, the only two things put into the graveyard is the Fumarole itself, and the enchantment Darksteel Mutation. Permanents don't disappear when they enter the graveyard, they simply are now referred to as cards.

chosenone124 on Can Lazav, Dimir Mastermind copy ...

1 week ago

So I think this is what Neotrup is saying. Lazav triggers when he detects a creature card entering the graveyard. Zulaport Cutthroat triggers when he detects a creature permanent is put into the graveyard from play.

The distinction is that a card and a permanent are two different things. A Wandering Fumarole enchanted with Darksteel Mutation is still a land card but the permanent on the battlefield is a 0/1 insect creature.

This goes back to the idea that we don't cast creatures, we use the card a summoning medium to summon a being from the multiverse. There is the card, which calls forth the creature, and there is the creature itself which sits on top of the card.

When my Wandering Fumarole insect dies, two things are put into the graveyard. The card behind it, the land card Wandering Fumarole, is put into the graveyard. The 0/1 insect creature sitting on top of it is put into the graveyard. Permanents which enter the graveyard disappear instantly.

Correct me if I'm wrong Neotrup

Neotrup on Can Lazav, Dimir Mastermind copy ...

1 week ago

Okay, wow, this has some miserable understanding of rules. Everything with Lazav, Dimir Mastermind is mostly correct, but the reason it doesn't care whether the card was a creature when it was on the battlefield is entirely because he looks for when a creature card goes to the graveyard. If the object going to the graveyard is not a card (because it's a token) or does not have the creature type printed on it, Lazav doesn't see it. Titania, Protector of Argoth is completely different. She looks for objects that are lands as they exist on the battlefield that go to the graveyard. If there's a Life and Limb in play and a saproling token dies, she'll see that and create an elemental. If a planeswalker enchanted with Imprisoned in the Moon is destroyed, she'll see it and create an elemental. If a Wandering Fumarole enchanted with Darksteel Mutation is sent to the graveyard, Titania will not create a token, because it was not a land. Her ability functions identically to "dies" because "dies" simply means "is put into a graveyard from the battlefield."

700.4. The term dies means "is put into a graveyard from the battlefield."

Load more