Combos Browse all Suggest
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
|Commander: Rule 0||Legal|
Creature — Human Wizard
, , Exile a creature card from your graveyard: Create a 2/2 black Zombie creature token, then put a +1/+1 counter on each Zombie creature you control.
1 year ago
1 year ago
Hey, nice start on a budget with upgrading the Wilhelt precon. In the deck editor you can add CMDR tag to Wilhelt text making him the official Commander of your deck.
1x Wilhelt, the Rotcleaver *CMDR*
You currently have 2x Rooftop which can't have in Commander. Some cards here that are in my opinion not worth playing because there's better options on a budget.
- Curse of Unbinding
- Hour of Eternity
- Mind Rot
- Abattoir Ghoul
- Shadow Kin
- Butcher Ghoul
- Stitcher Geralf
- Eternal Skylord
- Havengul Runebinder
- Drown in Dreams
- Ultimate Price
Dreadhorde Invasion and Midnight Reaper are in the Wilhelt precon, consider adding them back in? They're some of the better cards in the precon because of they're repeatable effects especially Invasion with Wilhelt.
If interested I offer more advice. Good luck with your deck.
2 years ago
I've decided to make more than one list but each one should be helpful to you in the future. Also, you don't need to put in all these cards. There are too many here for you to fit in the deck.
Liliana, Death's Majesty (can be a board wipe but don't count on it), Liliana, Dreadhorde General (also doubles as amazing card draw), Liliana, Heretical Healer Flip, Liliana, the Last Hope, and Liliana, Untouched By Death (has a removal ability).
Zombie tribal cards:
Shepherd of Rot, Lord of the Accursed, Risen Executioner, Relentless Dead, Field of the Dead, Undead Augur (also card advantage), Havengul Runebinder, Stitcher Geralf, Gleaming Overseer, Call to the Grave (rude card), Endless Ranks of the Dead (my favorite zombie tribal card), Graf Harvest, Graveborn Muse (also card advantage), and Josu Vess, Lich Knight.
Never/Return is zombie themed removal.
Necromantic Selection is a zombie themed board wipe.
I hope this helps!
4 years ago
A creature with the symbol in its activated ablity cannot use its ability when it has summoning sickness, which is cleared at the beginning of your turn. You would not be able to flash in a Havengul Runebinder and then use its ability until the beginning of your turn.
Play a lot of Magic, either IRL or on Magic: Arena, or read the entirety of the Comprehensive Rules:
Learning the whole rules is part of every player's journey. Feel free to ask anything else.
4 years ago
I wanted to build on Neotrup's answer some since your follow-up post indicated you are a bit new to Magic.
Havengul Runebinder 's ability is what is known as an "Activated Ability." In order for an Activated Ability to be used, its controller* has to pay a cost to use the ability.
The cost is everything that comes before the colon (:) on the card. So, in this case, there are three parts of paying the creature's cost: (1) paying ; (2) tapping the creature; and (3) exiling a creature from your graveyard. You have to pay the entire cost or you cannot use the ability. The effect is everything that comes after the colon, and will be what occurs if the ability resolves.
Also, one important piece of information that was not mentioned--unless specified otherwise, activated abilities can be used at the same speed as instants. To provide one example where that would be relevant: your opponent attacks with a creature--you could activate this ability after they have declared attackers, but before you have declared blockers, and suddenly you have a surprise 3/3 on the battlefield ready to block.
Also, unless my post generated any follow-up questions, please hit the "Mark as Answer" button on Neotrup's post to let others know your question has been resolved.
- Some permanents, like Xantcha, Sleeper Agent , allow players other than their controller to activate the abilities. These exceptions are a bit rare, and each and every one will explicitly state on the card that other players can use the ability.
4 years ago
I have the Havengul Runebinder creature card. It says I need to use additional mana to "exile a creature from your graveyard". This seems strange to me and I have 2 questions
1/ do I HAVE to do this if I play the card 2/ what is the advantage of exiling a creature from MY graveyard? surely this is a disadvantage to me?
Thanks in advance for any help :-)
4 years ago
5 years ago
I have 128 cards and trying to knock it down to 100, would like some help makes a good Zombie deck. Thank you for your time and help. Here are my cards
Commander - Oloro, Ageless Ascetic