Phyrexian Reclamation

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Custom Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2015 (C15) Uncommon
Commander 2013 (C13) Uncommon
Urza's Legacy (ULG) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Related Questions

Phyrexian Reclamation

Enchantment

, Pay 2 life: Return target creature card from your graveyard to your hand.

Phyrexian Reclamation Discussion

Vash13 on Meren Aristocrat/Combo

1 week ago

Hey, good looking deck, ive been enjoying tuning up meren as well, feel free to take this with a grain of salt but here are a couple things i notice that i would suggest changing

-first i notice a strong discard theme, which i can understand the temtation to just get to dip cards into the grave, unfortunatly with some of these you might be unintentionally giving your opponent card advantage with cards like Dark Deal . I prefer Fauna Shaman to get cards from hand to grave yard, cause then you can find the other half of a combo, for ex. Fauna Shaman >discard Phyrexian Devourer search for Triskelion discard Triskelion search for Necrotic Ooze play it, win on the spot, or if there is a counter just bring him back at the end of turn and do it again. Another great option is Buried Alive when i play meren against another graveyard deck it is pretty much a race to get this because many times it can cause a graveyard deck to win on the spot. Also Phyrexian Reclamation and Tortured Existence can have some awsome graveyard interactions depending on your need -next is recurgence you have some great card effects that cant really be recurged like you can with creatures so cards like Nihil Spellbomb while a good effect maybe something like Agent of Erebos could give you much more value, in a deck like this seeking out creatures to do the job of spells can be very powerfull. Another card that does a lot of work for me is Life from the Loam getting lands and filling your grave yard is great ive played it turn two with no target to value drege on t3. -lastley im glad your running Necropotence many overlook this card for some crazy reason, but i would recomend running Reliquary Tower or Thought Vessel to get some crazy value out of it, my personal favorite is Venser's Journal but some ppl think its to costy, i understand that. -Well if you read all that thanks for listening to my rant, i enjoy playing meren a lot and have tested her in a pretty competetive environment extensivly, so i have lots of opinions on her lol. Some last thoughts would be to drop: Bloodghast , Priest of Forgotten Gods , Shriekmaw and add somthing like : Viscera Seer , Phyrexian Delver , and Fauna Shaman . Any questions or anything just let me know, i like talking about meren, good luck buddy

edengstrom1 on Teysa, Afterlife and Death

1 week ago

I have a similar Teysa deck that I have been pretty successful with. One thing that I notice is that you have no Wrath of God cards. This can usually buy you some time if you are becoming a target and will trigger any death triggers you have.

Some good budget ones are: Fumigate , Kaya's Wrath and Phyrexian Rebirth .

Since you asked, some good recursion cards are: Phyrexian Reclamation and Hell's Caretaker

One of my favorite cards in these kind of decks is Kokusho, the Evening Star . This card can be a beating in the air and if it dies while Teysa is out will drain all of your opponents for 10 life, while you are usually gaining around 30 life! It's a little above your budget, but something to think about.

Hope that helps! Good luck!!

Kholek on The Caretaker.

1 week ago

Phyrexian Reclamation is a card I would love to get my hands on.

as for Vampiric Rites I'ts really not that great of a card anymore. with the new cards coming out. Priest of the Forgotten Gods . this card Is a jack of all trades.

thank you for your suggestions.

Odasacarf on The Caretaker.

1 week ago

Cool list! wanted to make something with my failed apostle deck, now I know what to do

Phyrexian Reclamation as a second Volrath's Stronghold ??

and maybe Vampiric Rites for a more repeatable card draw, otherwise, looks fine & dandy

Suns_Champion on Cortez Cowboys | Elenda EDH

1 week ago

Leonantti oh yeah! Forgot to mention the other cards lol!

Together Forever is very cool, I just took it out but expect to have it back in eventually. It might be a little too cute though, and I don't have a strong +1/+1 counter theme to truly take advantage of it. Palace Siege seems decent, but I feel like there are many, way better recursion spells. Phyrexian Reclamation is one of the best, and I suggest it for your deck before Palace.

Thanks for the comments!

LordKunai on Kaalia of the Cruel

3 weeks ago

Hey Spirits, so yeah all the combos you mentioned that I have I took directly from your decktech. I simply cannot do some of your super fast combos so I looked at your alternate combos section and essentially went for the ones that have a lot of the same cards involved such as: Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker , Adarkar Valkyrie , and Goblin Bombardment and sort of just ran with those. So the reason why I like Mark of Fury is because of its reusability. I believe one of my buddies in my playgroup uses 1 or 2 ( Anguished Unmaking & Assassin's Trophy ) cards for instant speed, target permanent removal so I think it being in danger until EOT isn't too bad, and with Grand Abolisher out, its totally safe.

I use Reliquary Tower just in case I find myself with a boat load of cards and not wanting to discard them; but perhaps I will consider cutting it.

Terramorphic Expanse and Evolving Wilds are the same card with different names. I only run 1 just to be certain that at least by the 2nd turn I should have most of my colors. I have 1 of the fetches in there ( Bloodstained Mire , but Arid Mesa and Marsh Flats are just outa my magic budget at the moment.

Crucible of Worlds + fetch or Strip Mine is BRILLIANT. never thought of that. While its a bit pricey it's not too bad... might pick one of those up.

Your right about Reflecting Pool , honestly should pick one of those up before they go any higher. I do wanna wait to see what gets reprinted in Modern Horizons before I make any big purchases though.

And yeah Leyline of the Void is great... but WAY to pricey for me right now lol.

And yes... Angel of Jubilation scares me. I think I may play test her a couple of times and see if i can balance and control when she is on the field and when I need to do the things she won't allow. and I believe your right with how it works. it WOULD shut of things like fetches, Necropotence , and Phyrexian Reclamation . but yeah I think shocklands are fine because it is part of it resolving, not an activation cost.

Yes Angel of Despair is better but not against a recursion deck like Meren of Clan Nel Toth . Essentially I need to prevent him from sacking his stuff to make us sack ours; or exile it once the threat has entered the battlefield so it STAYS GONE. going to the graveyard is just not good enough.... Honestly, it's kind of why i Wanna Lord of the Void . Because not only do i get to take some of his stuff, but I'm also exiling his stuff in the process.

Mother of Runes IS great, I considered her for a moment. But much of what I'm up against is untargetted removal. where IIIIII am being forced to sack MY permanents or the board is being wiped. it's brutal lol. So i ended up cutting her.

Hall of the Bandit Lord is on my "to buy" list but... too $$$.

I was 50/50 on Rakdos the Defiler . It seems decent but if im in for the long haul for the game, I dont wanna be sacking my angels and dragons cuz of him.

Zealous Conscripts are right on the cusp of staying in. I just need to figure out what to cut.

Thanks for the help with this. you have been a TREMENDOUS help :)

Spirits on Kaalia of the Cruel

3 weeks ago

Hey LordKunai,

Looking good. Mark of Fury is okay, but has to survive till EOT. I hate 1 removal giving a 2 for 1. Maybe double up on your Expedite with Crimson Wisps . I like it better because it can still draw you an A/D/D to cast with the haste Kaalia of the Vast .

Is Reliquary Tower just for Necropotence ? I might just go colored mana (I know how much fixing we have, but all our spells are or etc. Too situational.

I see your playing Terramorphic Expanse , there's definitely other better fetch lands, but don't forget about Evolving Wilds . I don't recommend either because I hate tapped mana (except Bojuka Bog ).

Vault of the Archangel might be a little too mana intense now, but it's still decent enough. I think Reflecting Pool might still be affordable but I haven't bought one in a long time.

Obviously Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker + Restoration Angel or Village Bell-Ringer go infinite, but there is also Combat Celebrant and Zealous Conscripts as well, but of course relies on the Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker quite heavily.

Also, not sure if you've mapped out all your Infinite combos, but don't forget you have:

Adarkar Valkyrie + Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker + Goblin Bombardment | Infinite Damage

Adarkar Valkyrie + Karmic Guide + Lightning Greaves or Dragon Tempest + Goblin Bombardment | Infinite Damage

Adarkar Valkyrie + Aurelia, the Warleader + Goblin Bombardment | Infinite Combat Phases

Adarkar Valkyrie + Village Bell-Ringer + Goblin Bombardment | Infinite Damage

And if you so choose, Adarkar Valkyrie + Zealous Conscripts + Goblin Bombardment | Infinite Damage

Thornbite Staff can also go infinite with Adarkar Valkyrie or Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker , also with Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker avoids the UGLY equip . Just an FYI.

Tainted Pact is an inexpensive (and instant) speed tutor, the problem is, you can't have any duplicate lands in your deck (even duplicate basic lands) so that's where it gets expensive. There's also Demonic Consultation if your a gambler lol, damn those top 6, it's also instant so can pull a Master of Cruelties if Kaalia of the Vast triggered ability gets on the stack, tutor for the killer.

You may want Crucible of Worlds , it works best with all the fetches like Windswept Heath , Wooded Foothills all the fetch lands, but also is awesome with Strip Mine or Wasteland ($$$). If you have Crucible of Worlds + a Fetch land, basically can filter out all the mana from the deck (while ramping) so when you draw it's usually favorable. I've contemplated it over Chromatic Lantern but don't have one to test, although reasonably priced since reprint.

I have similar worries around Cartouche of Zeal (2 for 1), but when you need haste you need it. I like Leyline of the Void more than Tormod's Crypt , Relic of Progenitus for sure, since it's a lasting effect and CMC0 in opening hand, and prevents the Experience from getting earned at all. But they are ok at the job. Relic of Progenitus would be amazing if it could target the card, but it has more utility than Tormod's Crypt anyway even with the downside.

Be careful with Angel of Jubilation he shuts down your deck too, like Goblin Bombardment , Razaketh, the Foulblooded , Necropotence , Phyrexian Reclamation , Diabolic Intent (might be wrong on this one would have to check the rule book on additional costs), Mana Confluence , Bloodstained Mire (or any Fetch).

Maybe Blood Crypt / Godless Shrine / Sacred Foundry probably enter tapped too (again this one would have to read the rulebook too, not sure if that's considered paying a cost to "activate abilities" probably not because it doesn't have the : symbol on it.

City of Brass is another good multi-color mana asource.

Terminus is a terrific way of getting rid of all those recurring creatures too (unless he can sac them all in response somehow).

Sun Titan + Gift of Immortality love each other, but he's a hard cast in this deck (think about with Goblin Bombardment .

If you have a Grand Abolisher then Mark of Fury works well, but I dunno I wouldn't personally play it or Cartouche of Zeal too scary for me.

I might have mentioned before, Angel of Despair is far superior to someone like Angel of Jubilation unless she's solving a specific pod problem for disruption to your deck. Hellkite Tyrant is hand if you play artifact decks like Breya, Etherium Shaper or Teferi, Temporal Archmage .

Mother of Runes can give protection if your facing Targeted removal.

Oh Hall of the Bandit Lord can give haste too. Diabolic Tutor is a underplayed tutor but if your games are going beyond turn 6 it's quite viable.

Rakdos the Defiler is almost as deadly as a Master of Cruelties if you can get him connected early enough.

Some ideas anyway, the reprinted fetches like Windswept Heath are fairly cheap still (I think).

PS: Zealous Conscripts loves stealing, Haste attacking, and sacrificing opponents creatures with a Goblin Bombardment .

Ahdor on Edgar Markov - Blood on the Table [EDH]

3 weeks ago

Update Notes:

Out: Blind Obedience
In: Cover of Darkness
Blind Obedience is a great card. It's use is to slow opponents down. But the most important part is, that their creatures enters the battlefield tapped, so we can get better attacks wirh our creatures. That beeing sad, Cover of Darkness fullfills the role of enable better attacks way better, especially, since I'm the only player in our meta which is playing black decks at a regular bases.

Out: Phyrexian Reclamation
In: Oversold Cemetery
The Phyrexian Reclamation doens't need a specific condition in order to work. Oversold Cemetery on the other hand has a huge advantage, that we neither have to pay life nor mana in order to return a creature card to your hand. We just will get one for free each round. Since we will attack with many of your creatures, there also should be at least four in the graveyard, most of the time, too. We won't be able to play tons of creatures each turn anyway, so the advantage of multiple uses of Phyrexian Reclamation per round won't come into play that much.

Out: Outpost Siege
In: Greed
Even though Outpost Siege has two great modes for this deck, since we are playing Mardu as colour combination, we will use it's first mod to net ourselfs some cards in 9 out of 10 situations. Just to get that little more Card Draw or better Card Advantage. But if we looking for just raw Card Advantage, we should use black instead of red cards. Greed can get us way more cards then Outpost Siege , it's even kind of a weak Necropotence , which is one of the strongest cards in the deck I think.

Out: Fell the Mighty
In: Austere Command
Although, Austere Command cost one wanky mana more then Fell the Mighty , it's way better. While Fell the Mighty might be really helpful with clearing the field from creatures and letting us decide, which one will survive, Austere Command gives us way mire flexibility. Destroying all enchantments and artifacts is huge in Mardu colours. Combining it on a general Boardwipe card is also a big deal, because we want to run as less cards as possible for those slots in order to be able to have as many Vampires in our deck as possible.

Out: Disrupt Decorum
In: Reconnaissance
I love Disrupt Decorum , I really do. It's such a cool card. But it's like a Sudo-Boardwipe, which won't solve all problems for sure and has a one-time-only usage in this deck. It's main purpose always was to create some chaos arround the deck. Reconnaissance can do the same trick, but with incredible more power. It makes blocking for our enemys really awkward, since we can remove any creatures we want after blockers are declared. We can attack all out and then remove the Vampires which would die from blocking. And after damage is dealed, we can remove all the other vampires aswell, giving our whole board Sudo-Vigilance. No worrys about keeping blockers up ever again, if Reconnaissance manages to hit the field.

Out: Throne of the God-Pharaoh
In: Sorin, Solemn Visitor
Until now, Throne of the God-Pharaoh never was able to shine or deal even any true amount of damage at all. The biggest problem is, that opponents usually block as many Vampires as possible anyway and trying to kill them during that process. Therefore, at the end of our turn, there are usually less Vampires then at the beginnig. That's why I feel like Edgar isn't the right deck for Throne of the God-Pharaoh yet. Maybe I have to re-test it in the futrue, but I will swap it out for now. Sorin, Solemn Visitor can give us plenty of life to pay those (new) card draw engine spells. It also buffs our creatures. And puts more Vampires on the battlefield. And keeps decimating our opponents boards. Yeah. Just play him!

Out: Legion's Landing  Flip
In: Exquisite Blood
The use of Legion's Landing  Flip is really little to none. Most of the time, it's just a utility land and I barely get to use it's effect at all. Creating just one or two more little small tokens isn't that impactfull either. It was kind of interesting because of the lifelink, since it's one of the only ways, to stay healthy during a long drawn out battle between three or four players around the table. For this exact reason, Exquisite Blood will make a return. Since the Vampires really looking forward to keep punching our enemys, we will get some life back, for sure.

Load more

Phyrexian Reclamation occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.05%

Black: 0.44%

W/B (Orzhov): 0.55%

Golgari: 0.11%

Rakdos: 0.26%