Reclamation Sage

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Custom Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Arena Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Standard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Brawl Legal
Frontier Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2018 (C18) Uncommon
Core Set 2019 (M19) Uncommon
Commander Anthology (CM1) Uncommon
Commander 2014 (C14) Uncommon
Magic 2015 (M15) Uncommon
Promo Set (000) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Reclamation Sage

Creature — Elf Shaman

When Reclamation Sage enters the battlefield, you may destroy target artifact or enchantment.

Reclamation Sage Discussion

TCG-Player on Honorbru Meren (Finite Hulk)

4 days ago

Hello there,
I think I just found the perfect Meren deck ❤️
But I gotta make it a bit more budget (tough student's life). So please let me know what you think of my changes:

First of all, the Razaketh combo comes out. Just taking your advice and putting in a few more lands:


Other changes/budget cuts:

Nemesis on Riku Copy Deck

1 week ago

So when I build an edh deck, one of the first things I try to figure out is how I'm going to wrap up the game. General Value can work as a strategy, where you're just trying to outvalue everyone around you, but it's really hard when you don't focus on something specific. For Riku, there are a few paths you can take:

Out - Value everyone: This is kind of the path I was talking about, with tons of valuable ETB and LTB triggers, or big things that you can play early since you're so far ahead from the earlier value plays.

Combo: This is the Rite of Replication Inferno Titan path, along with many many more reasonable and cheaper combos

Alt Wincon: Biovisionary is a good example of this - some decks pick a specific wincon that they want, it can be just one card, and build the deck trying to win around that card. (btw, Rite of Replication is amazing with biovisionary too :P) Often, these decks fall into Combo.

Now, don't get me wrong, your deck is perfectly fine as is. You have tons of value with Riku, protection for him, and a way to win through biovisionary. Could you make it more efficient? definitely. Here are some cards that I'd cut, almost no matter what direction you take the deck:

Phantasmal Terrain : I don't see what this does in your deck

Staff of Nin : Generally too slow and isn't really compatible with your cmdr

Some form of protection: While protection for your guys is great, you may have one too many

One of Abrade , Naturalize , or Shatter with - Vandalblast , Reclamation Sage , or Hull Breach

Deflection , Narset's Reversal , Wild Ricochet : what is your reasoning behind these?

multimedia on Elves, Elves, and More Elves

3 weeks ago

Hey, nice version of Freyalise.

I would stay away from artifact ramp that doesn't make green mana. It's just not needed, green mana is too important and Elves calling card is making mana so you shouldn't have any trouble doing that. Joraga Treespeaker can be pretty powerful ramp one drop Elf. Arbor Elf is another one drop mana Elf. Land ramp spells are the same, while they can get you a Forest then aren't Elves. Instead play Elves who can land ramp or get you a Forest: Wood Elves , Farhaven Elf , Sylvan Ranger . Any time you can get an effect from a spell with an Elf then play the Elf instead.

Cards to consider cutting:

  • Enter the Unknown
  • Rampant Growth
  • Kodama's Reach
  • Thran Dynamo
  • Lotus Bloom

Quirion Ranger , Wirewood Symbiote and Wirewood Lodge can be busted with Archdruid and Priest to make a lot of green mana even infinite mana with Umbral Mantle or budget Sword of the Paruns . Ranger and Symbiote together combo which can be good with an Elf who has an ETB (enter the battlefield) ability such as Visionary or Reclamation Sage .

Cards to consider cutting:

  • Terramorphic Expanse
  • Evolving Wilds
  • Hunting Triad
  • Multani, Yavimaya's Avatar

Fauna Shaman , Elvish Harbinger , Wirewood Herald and Fierce Empath are Elf creature tutors to tutor for an Elf or a finisher creature. Fauna can be repeatable creature tutor getting into your hand the Elves you want. I like Genesis with Fauna because Fauna can put it into your graveyard which then becomes a repeatable way to recur Elves from your graveyard, board wipe insurance.

Herald can be some more board wipe insurance because when it dies you get to tutor for an Elf. Empath can tutor for Regal Force who's good mass draw card with Elves or Ibex or Vorinclex. Yes, Freyalise's -6 is a mass draw effect, but this effect is a worth having some redundancy since since it's so good with Elves.

Cards to consider cutting:

  • Kalonian Twingrove
  • Kaysa
  • Elvish Piper
  • Drove of Elves
  • Mul Daya Channelers
  • Ambush Commander

Elves have a tendency to run out of steam if you don't have a repeatable draw engine. Consider Beast Whisperer , Lifecrafter's Bestiary , Skullclamp ? Skullcamp is busted draw with Freyalise's ability to make 1/1 Elf tokens. It and Bestiary are artifacts within the budget here that are worth playing.

Cards to consider cutting:

  • Primeval Bounty
  • Vivien of the Arkbow
  • Nissa, Voice of Zendikar

I offer more advice if you would like it. Good luck with your deck.

SideBae on stangg and his twins

4 weeks ago

So there're a lot of different directions you can take RG decks. I'll suggest some basic, universal additions first, and then suggest some win conditions:

Universal

  1. The best part of green in EDH is the dorks. You should definitely run at least Llanowar Elves , but there're some other cards you should consider: Fyndhorn Elves , Elvish Mystic , Birds of Paradise , Arbor Elf , Shaman of Forgotten Ways , Somberwald Sage , Joraga Treespeaker ... If you end up having a lot of elves, running something like Priest of Titania is worth including. Depending on your meta, Carpet of Flowers can get a lot of mana. Finally, Orcish Lumberjack is a card I have been very impressed with... turning a forest into effectively a better Black Lotus is a good thing. (Note that Arbor Elf is especially good if it untaps lands enchanted with Utopia Sprawl , Elvish Guidance or Wild Growth ).

  2. Red-green decks tend to poop out a lot of creatures and go lightly on the spells. Slate of Ancestry is an EXCELLENT way to recoup card advantage, provided you have a critical mass of creatures on the table. Commune with Lava is another excellent pseudo-card-draw thingy. If your games are usually four player games, Decimate is frequently a four-for-one, meaning that it's another good source of permanent-count advantage. Shamanic Revelation is another good draw-spell. If you have fat enough creatures, Rishkar's Expertise may merit an include. Hull Breach is a great two-for-one.

  3. Green-red decks, which tend to be creature-heavy, can be soft to boardwipes. Heroic Intervention is a good way to protect your duders; Grim Flowering and Nature's Resurgence are good ways to recoup cards after losing a bunch of guys.

  4. Tutors are good. Gamble is cheap these days, due to the recent reprint. Green Sun's Zenith , Tooth and Nail and Chord of Calling can all grab powerful creatures to play -- note that GSZ for X = 0 can grab Dryad Arbor , if you run it. Worldly Tutor or Sylvan Tutor are also good.

Win Conditions

Oftentimes, green-red decks win through a combination of Stax pieces and aggro cards.

Potential Stax Pieces:

  1. Blood Moon / Magus of the Moon : If you craft your land base carefully, you can make these into a near asymmetrical effect. A lot of decks benefit from greedy mana bases in EDH, and these are a way to punish that.

  2. Artifact hate is pretty awesome. Collector Ouphe is powerful, since you can get your ramp from creatures while shutting off non-green players' artifact ramp; as an added bonus, you can grab it with Green Sun's Zenith or Chord of Calling . By Force is an excellent card that can nuke a lot of permanents at once, and Nature's Claim is a very efficient removal spell. Krosan Grip may be justified in a heavy-blue meta. Gorilla Shaman is good as a method of artifact-destruction that does not cost you cards. Also Reclamation Sage and Manglehorn .

  3. Gruul has access to a lot of hatebears. Ruric Thar, the Unbowed is a really powerful dude you've already got, as he can club combo players like me really hard. Harsh Mentor is good for punishing all sorts of decks. Eidolon of the Great Revel , and his cousin Pyrostatic Pillar , are both good. Scab-Clan Berserker is similar to Kambal, Consul of Allocation in Orzhov. Runic Armasaur , too.

  4. Cards like Root Maze can shut down combos really quickly, and City of Solitude / Price of Glory can prevent/discourage countermagic. Pyroblast or the Maybeboarded Red Elemental Blast can also be worth running.

Aggro Cards:

Most of the best green decks end the game with an alpha-strike. Craterhoof Behemoth is the best for this, as it can be tutored out with Natural Order or a high-cost Green Sun's Zenith . Similarly, Overrun is good, but I suggest Triumph of the Hordes as a more potent alternative. This does, of course, require creatures on the board, so I suggest some of the following duders:

...and the aforementioned hatebears can also attack.

Good luck! That's all I got.

SideBae on Omnath EDH

1 month ago

So the main advantage of green is being able to land a dork on turn one, enabling a three-mana commander to hit the table turn two. You're already running Birds of Paradise , which is easily the best turn-one dork; you should definitely be running Llanowar Elves , Fyndhorn Elves , Arbor Elf and Elvish Mystic . One-mana ramp also includes Utopia Sprawl and Wild Growth , which are especially good in conjunction with Arbor Elf . Finally, note that turn one Green Sun's Zenith for X = 0 fetches Dryad Arbor , if you choose to run the arbor with your GSZ. Joraga Treespeaker and Priest of Titania don't land your general turn two, but are powerful all the same.

If you choose to run more dorks, then go-wide green strategies are very much on the table as win-conditions. If you have Craterhoof Behemoth , landing it with a couple dorks is usually enough to kill an opponent or two outright. Including Natural Order means that you can get the 'hoof daddy out for four mana. Running God-Eternal Rhonas is similar, and is especially good if you fetch him with Finale of Devastation with X = 10 (it'll give all your dudes at lease 20 power). Tooth and Nail and Chord of Calling are other good ways to tutor your fatties out fast. Finaly, Triumph of the Hordes is an excellent 'oops I win' card, as in EDH you still only need ten poison to die.

If you end up running a more 'go-wide' strategy than voltron, you can cut some or all of your equipments. This will allow you to run significant artifact hate. In EDH, almost all non-green decks rely heavily on artifact ramp for their mana, and running something like Collector Ouphe can be lights-out for a lot of opponents. More generally, hatebears and stax-pieces are abundant in EDH; consider Prowling Serpopard , Manglehorn , Root Maze , Hall of Gemstone , Dosan the Falling Leaf , Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger and friends as methods of hating out various decks. If you run dorks, Winter Orb is virtually asymmetric. Similarly, color-dependent cards like Carpet of Flowers or Compost can also be powerhouses. Veil of Summer or the worse Autumn's Veil are all also pretty good for fighting counters.

Land-wise, I think Ancient Tomb is much better than Temple of the False God , and that Growing Rites of Itlimoc  Flip is definitely worth including. Nykthos, Shrine to Nyx is also kinda bonkers; pairing it with Deserted Temple is good.

There're some creatures you should consider. Eternal Witness , as a creature-based Regrowth , is awesome if something you need gets countered. Beast Whisperer , Soul of the Harvest , Regal Force and Tireless Tracker are good sources of card-advantage. Fierce Empath is good for tutoring up threats, and will make your deck more consistent. Selvala, Heart of the Wilds is both a semi-reliable source of card-draw and also can close to double Omnath, Locus of Mana 's power. Wirewood Symbiote can recur ETB triggers, like Reclamation Sage or Elvish Visionary , while also generating mana.

Speaking of consistency, Worldly Tutor and Sylvan Tutor are great to finding whatever creature you need. Rishkar's Expertise and Genesis Wave are great sources of card-advantage, and that's pretty much like tutoring if you have enough of it.

Finally, you may have good luck with two-mana land-ramp (like your Rampant Growth ) rather than four-mana land-ramp (like your Peregrination ). Nature's Lore or the Portal version, Three Visits , are both great.

Good luck! That's all I got. I'm not good at playing green, but hopefully you found something worth including above.

bushido_man96 on Chulane: Chronicler of the Adventuring Houses

1 month ago

I don't know about Winds of Abandon . I'm not sure I'd like to give my opponents that many lands if I didn't have to. But if you've got good results running it in the past, then ignore me. Based on the mana curve of your deck, though, something like Austere Command might provide you with more flexibility.

I think I'd cut Infinite Reflection for Eternal Witness . Sea Gate Loremaster seems like it offers too much value to cut.

It seems to me that other than for use with Turntimber Ranger , your cards like Arcane Adaptation serve no other purpose. I understand wanting to have an infinite combo win con like that, but the Arcane Adaptation cards seem pretty dead otherwise. If you're set on keeping the combo in, I think that's cool, but those would be easy cuts otherwise for the other value cards you want to squeeze in.

Mothdust Changeling seems kind of meh, so he could be a swap for Reclamation Sage . I think I'd play Broken Bond , Growth Spiral , or Summer Bloom over Explore . Just preference, though.

A card you might consider that can help with making sure you've got lands in your hand to abuse Chulane's ramp ability is Abundance . It's a replacement effect that can fill your hand with lands on any draw, so you've always got some to ramp out with Chulane. Just something to consider.

The deck looks like fun, and I enjoy your creative approach to allies.

MrXilas on Advertise your COMMANDER deck!

1 month ago

Hey y'all. Sorry about the commotion I caused. I went back and hopefully made up for it. Here is the monstrosity that has my attention this week.

Chulane: Chronicler of the Adventuring Houses

I'm trying make room for a few more utility cards, but as you know, three color allies can only be tuned so far. The main things in order I am hoping to find room for from my "Trying to Make Room" list are (in no real order) Eternal Witness , Reclamation Sage , and Kindred Discovery . I was thinking of cutting either Sea Gate Loremaster (hopefully cutting allies won't put me down a slippery slope) or Infinite Reflection .

toxicmuffin01 on Hydra Fight Club

1 month ago

(Adding to previous comment) Oh, I see Reclamation Sage , but I'm still considering adding something like a Ghost Quarter or a Tectonic Edge when I build my own version.

Load more

Reclamation Sage occurrence in decks from the last year

Standard:

All decks: 0.03%

Modern:

All decks: 0.03%

Golgari: 0.29%

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.15%

Green: 1.11%

Golgari: 0.66%

GW (Selesnya): 0.73%

GU (Simic): 0.81%

RG (Gruul): 1.23%

RUG (Temur): 2.05%

BUG (Sultai): 0.72%