Creature — Human Wizard
When Dualcaster Mage enters the battlefield, copy target instant or sorcery spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.
|Want (8)||supersrsbiznis , joeofthefallen , Tortillaria , Draconaught , Jdreesman , TheWooba , hkobrinetz , gademers|
Printings View all
|Commander 2020 (C20)||Rare|
|Commander Anthology 2018 (CM2)||Rare|
|Archenemy: Nicol Bolas (E01)||Rare|
|Eternal Masters (EMA)||Rare|
|Commander 2014 (C14)||Rare|
|Promo Set (000)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
- Dualcaster Mage + Ephemerate
- Dualcaster Mage + Reverberate
- Brass's Bounty + Deadeye Navigator + Dualcaster Mage
- Dualcaster Mage + Ghostly Flicker + Mulldrifter
- Dualcaster Mage + Ghostly Flicker + Prophetic Prism
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Dualcaster Mage occurrence in decks from the last year
Commander / EDH:
All decks: 0.03%
Dualcaster Mage Discussion
12 hours ago
I have been testing competitive Godo a lot recently. Since testing this list out I have been missing my copy spells like Fork. There are few better feelings than that of casting Fork to copy an Ad Nauseam.
Personally, I feel that Dualcaster Mage is a little too versatile to cut. At a minimal impact it's functionally a counterspell that you can tutor for with Imperial Recruiter. The upside is that it incidentally allows you to combo off with Twinflame, even in games where Helm of the Host has been exiled or an opponent has made casting Godo, Bandit Warlord or tutoring impossible.
At least one person was asking about Frenzied Fugue. This card is the truth! The card wins games that feel impossible otherwise. I've gained control of an opponent's Necropotence recently (and won the following turn). It can even bypass potential blockers with indestructible or help you to cast godo through stax pieces such as Aven Mindcensor or Drannith Magistrate.
1 week ago
The Simic player popped off, spitting out loads of creatures with loads of +1/+1 counters, and swung out at me. I took 38 square on the jaw, dropped to 2. All I had in play was a Repercussion and a Glorybringer.
On my turn, I cast Insult, then a Dualcaster Mage on the Insult, then attacked with my Glorybringer and exerted. Glorybringer dealt 4 to one of the Simic player's creatures, which doubles to 8 then doubles to 16 - then Repercussion triggered, and shot the player for 16, which doubled to 32, which doubled to 64.
And that's how I killed someone from 40 with Glorybringer's attack trigger, while also 16'ing another player with the Glorybringer itself.
Let's just say my commander, Neheb, the Eternal, lived up to his flavor text.
This is what glory looks like.
2 weeks ago
Mana Geyser can go infinite with reiterate: If you can cast Reiterate with buyback in response to a Mana Geyser that will produce 7 or more mana, you can cast infinite Reiterates to get infinite storm and infinite mana.
Where is your card draw? All I see are 3 wheels and outpost siege. Anvil, burning inquiry don't count IMO because they don't net you cards. I really like this chaos build. I had something similar (although not as compact/good) about a year or so back, but my playgroup hates chaos so they targeted me. So I made mine a semi-competitive build. If you added more card draw in the form of....(there are other ideas, just lmk if ur interested in them)
Endless Atlas - Card draw
Tome of Legends - I have a "good" feeling about this ;)
Ignite the Future - Better in more serious builds, but is still nice
Light Up the Stage - Similar to above, this card is probably better suited to your deck, although I run both since I'm card draw hungry in mono red
Would love to hear your thoughts on my semi-competitive build
2 weeks ago
Wow, great work MagicalHacker. Reformatted with card links and averages (rounded up) of the range of decks the combos are in. I figure a single number for each 2 card combo makes it easker to tally up and figure percentages later. So 120,411 two-card combos total.
6255 Exquisite Blood + Sanguine Bond
4 weeks ago
My play group does not support the banned card list, but they do support banned mechanics.
Example: no conspiracy, no side board, no companion, no wishing, (partner is borderline being banned).
The catch is if you play with a banned card in your deck you are subject to the mulligan rules at the time the card was first printed.
Example: we can play with mox's and lotus in our decks but if we do we are subject to the land mulligan rule.
Back on topic
Can infinite copy any spell cast.
Also Helps Color Balance The Deck.
Lutri, the Spellchaser
Can only infinite copy my own spells
Screws color balance
But its an elemental.
So it counts towards Omnath, Locus of the Roil trigger.
Also i can cheat it out easier with Cryptic Gateway.
4 weeks ago
Oops, slight problem, Lutri is banned >_<. Consider a Dualcaster Mage as an alternative. Real nice one rubix, good to see you back on Tappedout.
1 month ago
Fork will no longer be on the stack to copy when you cast Dualcaster Mage in your scenario. Objects on the stack resolve one at a time in first in, last out order. When you cast Fork it will resolve and make a copy of Manamorphose then that copy will resolve and give you the mana and the only spell left on the stack will be the original Manamorphose.
You could start the combo with only the mentioned cards and amount of mana by activating Ral's -2 and letting two copies resolve before doing your copying trickery.
1 month ago
I'm not sure that I understand the question, but there are a couple of issues that I noticed. I'll phrase the question as I understand it with those points cleared up.
First, you cast Manamorphose which triggers Kalamax. The trigger goes of the stack and resolves. You now have the original MM and a copy. The copy will resolve which gives you . You then cast Fork targeting the original MM. You can now cast Dualcaster Mage, but the original MM can't resolve before then.
With the Mage's trigger, you can copy Fork which can then copy Fork again. You can then repeatedly copy Fork with the copy to deal "infinite" damage with Ral to your opponent(s).
One of the major points that needed to be cleared up is that the stack resolves in a first-in-last-out order, so the target of Fork doesn't resolve until Fork has made a copy and that copy has resolved.
Hope this helps!! If I misunderstood anything, just let me know!!