Sylvan Reclamation

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Vintage Legal
Pauper Legal
Legacy Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2016 (C16) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Sylvan Reclamation

Instant

Exile up to two target artifacts and/or enchantments.

Basic landcycling (, Discard this card: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.)

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

C16

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Sylvan Reclamation Discussion

adbirk on Cats in da house

3 days ago

@gonewithlaw Thanks for your reply. I agree with Sylvan Reclamation. I will make that change as soon as possible.

As far as Thought Vessel and Spell Book. With cards such as Life's Legacy and Hunter's Insight, I have found that it is far too easy to be drawing 6 plus cards as early as turn 3. Later on I'm drawing 8-15 cards a turn and consistently discarding almost half my deck a game without these cards. It was weird to me at first but I think this is the deck MOST in need of these cards I have ever seen.

I agree with your tapped land argument there probably are 2-4 too many, however in general a tapped land on turn 1 is ideal.

Also I agree with your statement on low-drop cats. However, I do want exactly 1, 1-or 2-mana cat on turns 1 or 2 in order to start my card draw. I will probably replace some 2-mana cats with slightly more expensive cats like Brimaz, King of Oreskos, and some of my 6 and up mana cats for more interaction.

I do like the idea of double-stike. It really pushes the deck of the edge as far as an early and late game aggressive threat. I think all of your suggestions are perfect for the deck as well, it's just fitting them into a curve as they don't add to my creature power for cards such as Greater Good.

As far as your recursion/combo suggestion. I do think the deck can diversify and should diversify to some kind of combo. The quick end to a game that a combo (built out of pieces that hold there own without the combo) is exactly what I have been looking for to end late game board stalls against multiple opponents who have staved off the the claws.

Thanks again for your comment!

GoneWithLaw on Cats in da house

3 days ago

Some thoughts on some of your card choices, in no particular order.

Sylvan Reclamation for all intents and purposes in a deck like this is strictly better than Relic Crush. Trading out one generic mana for one White mana (which 99 times out of 100 you WILL have) gets you basic landcycling AND exile instead of destroy. The switch is a no-brainer, imo.

Thought Vessel isn't doing a ton for this deck. How often will you be at or above your hand limit for more than a turn or two? Card draw in GW isn't that impressive, even with Rishkar's Expertise and company. I think you'd be better off with Talisman of Unity over Thought Vessel, and I'd dump the Spellbook for a Sol Ring so you can get some more ramp going.

For a deck that wants to get ahead early, I believe you're running far too many ETB tapped lands. Blossoming Sands, Grasslands, Krosan Verge, Mosswort Bridge, Myriad Landscape, and Stirring Wildwood will all set you back a turn on mana production. I'd say Temple of Plenty too, but at least you're getting the scry on that. I'm Opting not to run that, but that's your call! Get some more rocks in there like Selesnya Signet, and be on the lookout for the new Unclaimed Territory in Ixalan, which is pretty much budget Cavern of Souls. Some more relevant utility lands like Rogue's Passage over Reliquary Tower would be worthwhile, too.

If you can, I'd sooner run Brimaz, King of Oreskos over Jedit Ojanen of Efrava. The forestwalk is nice, but 6 mana is steep. Brimaz is only 3 CMC and provides an excellent source defense with Vigilance.

Running Lost Leonin signals to me that you want to use Infect combined with the Arahbo's eminence for a quick kill. Double Strike enablers like Duelist's Heritage, Silverblade Paladin, and Ajani, Caller of the Pride (did somebody ask for flavor?) are huge boons for this, and in general allow you to get the most of Arahbo's pumps. Not to mention them having 3 CMC and similar casting costs as Lost Leonin lead to a superb curve out of your plays. Grafted Exoskeleton also turns any of your cats into a bigger Lost Leonin, for what it's worth!

The last comment that I'll make, and this stems from "mistakes" I was making when first build this deck, is too much focus on cheap cats as soon as quickly being too big a focus. Smashing your opponent for 6 with a 2-drop sounds appealing, but that's only going to go so far in multiplayer. If you're doing 1v1 commander, that's largely fine, but you'll want to diversify your line-up if you want to hold your own in multiplayer. Admittedly, I'm still trying to squeeze these in my own deck, but it wouldn't be remiss of you to include cards like Reveillark and Karmic Guide in here for some recursion. (Also, those two go infinite with Leonin Relic-Warder, Greater Good, and a mana rock!)

GoneWithLaw on Kitty Deck

1 week ago

In no particular order, here are some suggestions:

Replace Relic Crush with Sylvan Reclamation. Both are 5 mana instants that remove up to two artifacts/enchantments. While Sylvan Reclamation requires the more specific casting cost of instead of , the difference is negligible in a 2 color deck. Sylvan is otherwise completely superior since it exiles AND cycles for a basic land if you want. It's less than 50 cents so it's a great budget addition.

I'd personally simplify the mana base by getting rid of most of the ETB tapped lands. Arahbo is an aggressive commander, meaning that ideally you want to be hitting your land drops each turn in order to get the most of your mana base. My personal build only has two of these lands: Path of Ancestry for the scry, and Scattered Groves as a dual land that would often ETB tapped from my ramp spells like Cultivate anyways.

While it costs more than Soul's Majesty (and you lose out on the Cat flavor), Rishkar's Expertise is a superior card in my opinion. The free cast of any 5 CMC or lower card is huge in a deck like this, but more importantly is the fact that it isn't as vulnerable to targeted removal. If you target a single creature with Soul's Majesty, and an opponent Path to Exile's it, all of a sudden you just spent 5 mana on nothing. If your biggest creature gets eliminated after using Rishkar's Expertise, you still get to draw cards off of your second biggest creature.

Angelic Gift provides decent evasion and serves as a cantrip, but otherwise isn't repeatable or usable for multiple creatures like some of your other cards would be. Rogue's Passage is a simple land that allows any creature to attack unblocked, even getting past your opponent's fliers. If you are set on flying, Gryff's Boon is cheaper at only , but can be recurred from your graveyard. It's kinda like a higher CMC Rancor in that sense.

The rest of my suggestions would depend greatly on how you build this deck. I see that you've kept a majority of the cards from the precon in here. The issue here is that in order for the deck to be really effective, you should choose one of a few deck focuses:

  • Pump - Going tall with Arahbo
  • Voltron - Equipment focus with Nazahn
  • Tokens - Going wide with Mirri

There are other ways to build each of these commanders, but generally speaking these are the directions you'll see most players take them for tribal. Personally, I decreased the equipment focus in my own deck to focus on Arahbo's eminence ability, but it's ultimately your call on what direction you'd like to take your cat tribal.

superman101 on Saskia EDH

3 weeks ago

Your single target removal needs work. Putrefy and Terminate are the only ones I'd keep. Utter End, Anguished Unmaking, Swords to Plowshares, Chaos Warp, Beast Within, Oblation are all good replacements. Also, you need artifact/enchantment removal. Forsake the Worldly, Wear / Tear, Krosan Grip, Deglamer, Return to Dust, Sylvan Reclamation, Vandalblast. Lyev Decree and Blinding Flare are bad. Your mana base needs work, and I'd run Phyrexian Arena, Bloodgift Demon, and Underworld Connections.

Yen24 on Dragons, Dragons, Dragons!

3 weeks ago

Cascading Cataracts / Crystal Quarry / Sylvan Ranger / Rampant Growth / Bloom Tender / Birds of Paradise / Sylvan Caryatid / Utopia Tree / Reflecting Pool / Oblivion Ring / Gruul Signet / Golgari Signet / Simic Signet / Selesnya Signet / Bringer of the Red Dawn / Bringer of the Blue Dawn / Bringer of the Black Dawn / Unclaimed Territory / Cavern of Souls / Keiga, the Tide Star / Breath of Darigaaz / Nissa's Pilgrimage / Explosive Vegetation / Molten Disaster / Subterranean Tremors / Ash Barrens / Evolving Wilds / Terramorphic Expanse / Sudden Demise / Fault Line / Beast Within / Dragonlord Dromoka / Sylvan Reclamation / Wear / Tear / Grand Coliseum / City of Brass / Mana Confluence / Fellwar Stone / Solemn Simulacrum / Farhaven Elf / Wood Elves / Heartless Summoning / Urza's Incubator / Sensei's Divining Top / Cyclonic Rift / Reclamation Sage / Urban Evolution / Nature's Lore / Eternal Witness / Skyshroud Claim / Chaos Warp / Manglehorn / Vizier of the Menagerie / Relic of Progenitus / Chromatic Sphere / Chromatic Star / Terrarion / Llanowar Wastes / Shivan Reef / Yavimaya Coast / Karplusan Forest / Sulfurous Springs / Battlefield Forge / Brushland / Caves of Koilos / Night's Whisper / Reanimate / Anguished Unmaking / Swords to Plowshares / Path to Exile / Flame Slash / Vindicate / Sarkhan's Triumph / Preordain / Ponder / Brainstorm / Anticipate / Weathered Wayfarer / Safewright Quest / Temple Garden / Breeding Pool / Overgrown Tomb / Stomping Ground / Mirari's Wake / Nature's Claim / Fatal Push / Thunder Dragon / Scourge of Kher Ridges / Skyline Despot / Siege Dragon / Karrthus, Tyrant of Jund / Foe-Razer Regent / Eternal Dragon / Dragonlord Atarka / Balefire Dragon / Vorosh, the Hunter / Swift Warkite / Scourge of the Throne / Runehorn Hellkite / Rith, the Awakener / Prossh, Skyraider of Kher / Numot, the Devastator / Noxious Dragon / Mordant Dragon / Harmonize / Ancient Craving / Ambition's Cost / Dragonlord Silumgar / Dragonlord Kolaghan / Destructor Dragon / Darigaaz, the Igniter / Surrak Dragonclaw / Stormbreath Dragon / Sarkhan Unbroken / Necromaster Dragon / Icefall Regent / Hunted Dragon / Glorybringer / Fearsome Awakening / Dragonlord Ojutai / Boltwing Marauder / Thunderbreak Regent / Territorial Hellkite / Skyship Stalker / Dragonloft Idol / Dragon Throne of Tarkir / Dragonsoul Knight / Dragonmaster Outcast / Slumbering Dragon / Omen / Serum Visions / Read the Bones

N_ on N_

4 weeks ago

Alright I took a look.

I'll give you a list of cards I would remove and a list of cards to be considered.

Remove:

Admonition angel - hell no they get their stuff back immediately

BAneslayer

myth realized

mana bloom

skybind - I might have missed why it is in there?

wildest dreams

elvish mystic/avacyn's pilgrim - unless you are hoping to combo off in 5 turns or less I have found these little 1 mana makers to be useless, especially since your commander ramps

oran reef hydra

selvala - unless it's your general or group hug I would try to refrain giving decks card draw

Yavimaya Elder

I feel like your deck doesn't need more than karametra and the 3-5 other ramp spells. Your commander is always there and is indestructible so I feel like the cards I mentioned for removal could be swapped for stronger cards for mid-late game play.

Options!

Avacyn .... It's avacyn

Angel of Serenity - if it dies the opponents stuff goes back into hand instead of battlefield or you can get cards back from your graveyard if you exile creatures from your graveyard.

Emeria Angel is a not bad option for land fall

Rishkar's Expertise

Selvala, Heart of the Wilds

Tooth and Nail

Those were already in your maybe board and good options

Here's a bunch of ideas haha. Your deck looks like a mix of enchants and creatures mainly with some token stuff. It's mostly green, sorry

Seasons Past - better than wildest dreams

Hooded Hydra - mana sync with secondary value

Sylvan Reclamation

Krosan Grip

Ezuri's Predation

Gelatinous Genesis - Late game mana sync

Grove of the Guardian

Emeria, The Sky Ruin - getting 7 plains should be easy

Reliquary Tower

Sunpetal Grove

Dauntless Escort

Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite

Garruk's Packleader - I didn't see how many guys with 3 or over you have

Giant Adephage

Hydra Broodmaster

Hydra Omnivore

Oracle of Mul Daya - expensive but she is good

Asceticism

Aura Shards - better in token decks but you don't have much removal

Elemental Bond

Luminarch Ascension

Martyr's Bond

Primeval Bounty

Privileged Position

Sandwurm Convergence

Glare of Subdual - better in token decks

Beastmaster Ascension

Genesis Wave - late game win con?

Bear Umbra - a form of ramp

Akroma's Memorial

Vigor - expensive but strong

Into the Wilds - since you like your ramp so much haha

Darien, King of Kjeldor - don't touch me!

Return to Dust

Storm Herd

Lifeblood Hydra - beater plus lifegain and card draw on death

Pathbreaker Ibex - it is an Overwhelming Stampede on a stick

Stonehoof Chieftain

Temur Sabertooth - send cheapies back to hand and recast for more lands or to abuse other ETB

Greater Good - might be ok, works better with power 5+

Greenwarden of Murasa - more recursion

Primordial Hydra - always scary

Aid from the Cowl - It might work with all your perms?

Pollenbright Wings

Scute Mob - Scute Mob. And Scute Mob.

Siege Behemoth

Selfless Spirit

Cathars' Crusade

Odric, Lunarch Marshal - if your commander is out attacking creatures get indestructible

Aura Mutation

Mint0055 on Angelic Devotion

1 month ago

I'm also working on an atraxa angel tribal. A few things ive found that might help your deck:

Enchantments:Cradle of Vitality will help you throw alot of counters on your angels making them even bigger threats that will only grow bigger with Atraxa.

Angelic Accord since you can gain at least 4 life every time you deal damage with Atraxa you can throw down some mean angel tokens. There is also the better known Luminarch Ascension but that is a huge target. Your running decent protection though so may work for you. My favorite is Entreat the Angels cast it for Its miracle cost and just sweep the board with angels. These are obviously all weak to board wipes which the rest of your deck seems to benefit from so I could see you not including these but I find them great since most angels cost so much mana.

Duelist's Heritage can really help you hit for crazy damage with any of your bigger angels.

Cathars' Crusade I'm sure you have already considered this and I know the deck isnt built around Atraxas proliferate but I feel Angels are just meant to have counters placed on them to truly dominate the skies over dragons and other big creatures. Pair this card with one of the token generators I mentioned above plus Atraxa and you will have some serious threats.

I have found Frontier Siege useful in helping with mana. You also get the option to use your flyers to take out your opponents blockers and other pesky creatures without using up your control cards or risky combat. Its sister card Citadel Siege helps either throw more counters on angels or tap down blockers (or the scary Eldrazi eyeing you across the table).

Removal:I dont know many good ones that arent in white (and you have more than enough cards running white) but I will still recommend a half white card Sylvan Reclamation because of the options to exile stuff or landcylcle. And in 4 colors, you need dem lands.

Recursion:You have most of the best ones so I can only suggest Necromantic Summons since you get more counters to exploit. The high manna cost weighs against it compared to your cheaper options so this is definitely a 50/50.

Card draw:I definitely recommend you get at least 3-5 more card draw cards since that's a big game decider often in EDH. There are too many good ones to list here but I will say Brilliant Spectrum since you have 4 colors (though there are many cards that will let you draw that many cards without discarding that are more expensive) and Tezzeret's Gambit since proliferating is important for those mana rocks and lands with counters on them. Mana is huge in an angel deck. Speaking of which...

Mana Ramp:There are the obvious green ramp spells like Cultivate and Rampant Growth (personally I go with Map the Wastes for that bolster counter) and I recommend any of them if You can since 4 color decks need help with the mana base. Having Astral Cornucopia is a great choice, but you should also swing Everflowing Chalice since it does the same with colorless mana. Mana is really important in a deck with so many high costing creatures, even if your cheating them out alot with reanimation cards. Also lands like Dreadship Reef that can be proliferated. If you have room for it, I find Alchemist's Refuge useful for flashing in big angels as blockers or on my opponents end step so I get to attack with it on my turn without it risking being removed off the board (angels are big targets after all).

Cards to remove: Avacyn, Angel of Hope and Akroma, Angel of Wrath are very good angels, but their very high mana cost combined with them having 3 white in the casting cost really hurts in a 4 color deck. Cards like reanimation do help you cheat them out, but you aren't going to be able to do that often enough to balance it out. If you dont run into a mana problem when you play the deck however then they are fine additions.

Sublime Archangel very good angel but maybe not good in this deck since you may not ever have more than 3 or 4 angels out at once and you will want to be able to attack with all of them.

Sigarda, Host of Herons also a great angel, but since you have so much graveyard recursion, may not be the worst thing to have to sacrifice them. She is amazing still though and only take her out if you have nothing else to take out and you have an even better angel to replace her with.Fractured Identity I like this card a lot but doesnt seem to have anything to do with the deck. Maybe replace it with something like Crackling Counterpart? Then you have 2-3 awesome versions of one of your own angels.

I hope this was helpful. Angels are what got me into commander and are my absolute favorite type of card. Atraxa is perfect for filling in the weak points of an angel deck and is an amazing commander. Flavor is also extremely important to me when I build decks and you have alot of it in yours which is good to see. Atraxa is the single most popular commander in EDH right now and with good reason, but with all the proliferate and infect decks people are making you can swing in out of no where with angels and just wreck people. Now go destroy everyone with the best creature type in the game!

Yesterday on Official missing/incorrect card/token thread

1 month ago

I was updating my inventory and there seem to be an awful lot of cards that are missing their Commander Anthology printings here.

Printings not found: Anger (CMT), Arcane Denial (CMT), Bathe in Light (CMT), Boros Guildmage (CMT), Borrowing 100,000 Arrows (CMT), Cleansing Beam (CMT), Congregate (CMT), Control Magic (CMT), Curse of Inertia (CMT), Curse of Predation (CMT), Curse of the Forsaken (CMT), Darksteel Mutation (CMT), Death by Dragons (CMT), Deceiver Exarch (CMT), Diabolic Tutor (CMT), Diviner Spirit (CMT), Dragon Whelp (CMT), Duergar Hedge-Mage (CMT), Evincar's Justice (CMT), Furnace Whelp (CMT), Gwyllion Hedge-Mage (CMT), Hada Spy Patrol (CMT), Krosan Grip (CMT), Leafdrake Roost (CMT), Leonin Bladetrap (CMT), Lightkeeper of Emeria (CMT), Mortify (CMT), Mother of Runes (CMT), Oni of Wild Places (CMT), Orim's Thunder (CMT), Orzhov Guildmage (CMT), Path to Exile (CMT), Pilgrim's Eye (CMT), Presence of Gond (CMT), Pyrohemia (CMT), Razorjaw Oni (CMT), Restore (CMT), Return to Dust (CMT), Selesnya Charm (CMT), Selesnya Guildmage (CMT), Serra Angel (CMT), Shattered Angel (CMT), Skyward Eye Prophets (CMT), Soul Snare (CMT), Stonecloaker (CMT), Sulfurous Blast (CMT), Swiftfoot Boots (CMT), Sylvan Reclamation (CMT), Syphon Flesh (CMT), Syphon Mind (CMT), Terminate (CMT), Thornwind Faeries (CMT), Thunderstaff (CMT), Vow of Duty (CMT), Vow of Lightning (CMT), Vow of Malice (CMT), Wash Out (CMT), Winged Coatl (CMT), Wonder (CMT), Wrecking Ball (CMT).

Load more