Sylvan Reclamation

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2016 (C16) Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Sylvan Reclamation

Instant

Exile up to two target artifacts and/or enchantments.

Basic landcycling (, Discard this card: Search your library for a basic land card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.)

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

C16

Ebay

Recent Decks

Sylvan Reclamation Discussion

MegaMatt13 on Nazahn's Mighty Hammer

1 month ago

Talorc03, I hear ya when it comes to lands. Usually I run about 37 and then shift up and down based on average CMC and amount of card draw. So far I am finding 35 sufficient in the deck due to lower CMC and good ramp. I'll definitely throw in another one if I find myself mana screwed. Hasn't come up yet though.

Ralsek, thanks! I've kinda gone off Return to Dust and Sylvan Reclamation, especially in a lower CMC deck like this one. If I threw in an exiling artifact/enchantment removal, it would probably be Forsake the Worldly. I really like its flexibility with the added cycling. Sure, you don't get the 2-for-1 but it's great at 3 mana and the cycling ability. Don't know what removal I'd cut to make room for it though.

Senomar, I hadn't thought of Mistveil Plains...thanks for the suggestion! Do you think it's better than something that would just bring the Hammer right back to hand? For example, I've thought of adding Ironclad Slayer to bring it back to hand (and also have another body on the field).

Treehugger003, I've thought about Blade of Selves. I don't own a copy, but I see its use. In a 4 player game it would offer pretty solid card advantage, tutoring up a couple more equipment. I may pick one up!

Delta-117 on

1 month ago

I have been building a Muldrotha, the Gravetide deck, and one strategy i'm planning to include is the use of the cards Sylvan Reclamation and Rude Awakening. Now I know mono doesn't have the capacity as much for self-mill, but with cards like Azusa, Exploration, Burgeoning, perhaps even Animist's Awakening and Kamahl's Druidic Vow, I think these cards could be of use to you here also?

Avenger of Zendikar and Caged Sun might be a good include here too.

pummelhuff on scion, dump deck

1 month ago

You are playing two fetchlands and farseek. How about Sunken Hollow or Prairie Stream or any other from this circle to benefit from the fetches?I prefer in multicolored decks Sylvan Reclamation over Return to Dust. I can recommend Karrthus, Tyrant of Jund in dragon decks. He looks like a upgraded Dragonlord Kolaghan but i guess he is more expensive (or you could play both of them).

Delta-117 on Muldrotha: Recursion, Reanimation, Repeat

1 month ago

Hey I love the decklist, and I was wondering if perhaps you had any suggestions for my very own Muldrotha deck. When I have more free time i'm going to refine it as right now it's not even at 100 cards and is I feel a bit all over the place with what it wants to do.

You see, I also own a Meren of Clan Nel Toth deck already so I decided to do something quite different with this deck purposedly to avoid too much overlap in strategy. What i'm doing is much more focused on self mill to a larger degree, but also a lands matter theme playing cards like Hermit Druid (with little to no basics likely), Mirror-Mad Phantasm, Tunnel Vision alongside cards like Temple of Malady, Temple of Deceit, Temple of Mystery, and Zhalfirin Void to make possible Laboratory Maniac as a win con. Then there's other goodstuff like Worm Harvest, Sylvan Reclamation, WORLDSHAPER!, Sylvan Awakening/Rude Awakening alongside Avenger of Zendikar, Ob Nixilis, the Fallen, The Gitrog Monster, Azusa, Lost but Seeking, multani, yavimaya's elder, and Ulvenwald Hydra.

I'm playing tons of efficient lands that fill other roles like Dark Depths/Thespian's Stage/Vesuva, Maze of Ith, Glacial Chasm, Strip Mine/Tectonic Edge, Cabal Coffers/Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth, etc. Because of Cabal Coffers and maybe Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger and other mana doublers I might add, I may try and play some big spells like Exsanguinate, Torment of Hailfire, Genesis Wave as finishers also.

Anyways, what I recommend for your own deck is to consider lands like Remote Isle, Barren Moor, Tranquil Thicket, etc. Oblivion Stone also would go quite well here I think. But yeah if you have any feedback for my own different take I would really appreciate it as I feel it needs much, much refinement still.

Bad_Wolf on Tana and Ravos: the Tokening

1 month ago

Hey JuQ! Thanks for the suggestions!

I like the idea of Whispersilk Cloak over Trailblazer's Boots. I think I was worried that I wouldn't be able to target Tana, but Anthems don't target, I don't think I realized that. The Anthems are really the Crux of the deck, so Collective Blessing is here to stay.

The deck is pretty high CMC, but not so high that I think the deck needs the creature-cheaters. My meta is pretty slow; no combos, no land destruction, I can usually expect at least a dozen turns in a game. For that same reason I don't really need Exile artifact and enchantment removal. Return to Dust and Sylvan Reclamation are great, but we're more quantity removal over quality over here.

I like Elenda, the Dusk Rose, maybe over Rout? And I just don't own Journey to Eternity  Flip. Thanks again!

JuQ on Tana and Ravos: the Tokening

1 month ago

I like the deck, but it's a bit heavy in cost for my meta. You could consider Champion of Rhonas, Elvish Piper, Deathrender or Quicksilver Amulet to help easy those bigger costs.

For board pump spells Mazirek, Kraul Death Priest, Bloodspore Thrinax, Cultivator of Blades or Path of Discovery are also amazing. You could put any of them instead Intangible Virtue or even Collective Blessing as it is a bit too high cost.

I would always go for Return to Dust or Sylvan Reclamation over Vandalblast. They exile, target enchantments and don't upset too many players on the game (if you destroy all of your opponents' toys, only yours will remain on the battlefield for their removals).

Some board wide haste effects would also be helpful you know the usual suspects Anger, Fires of Yavimaya.

Whispersilk Cloak looks like an improvement over your Trailblazer's Boots and Prowler's Helm. Shrouds matters a lot.

You could ease a bit on your board wipes as you will usually be the one on the receiving end of other players board wipes. Maybe you could cut the two red ones.

I see Elenda, the Dusk Rose fitting perfectly on this deck as she benefits from tokens dying and later she produces a lot of tokens.

For a bit more of recursive recursion Journey to Eternity  Flip is an overperformer.

Hi_diddly_ho_neighbor on Jodah, Archmage Eternal

2 months ago

Jodah is by far the most intriguing leaked legendary so +1 from me. I'd say you should run Fist of Suns, Sunbird's Invocation, and Maelstrom Archangel to provide redundancy incase Jodah is dealt with.

Both Forbidden Orchard and Exotic Orchard are great land additions. You could also consider the other cheap dual lands: BfZ tango lands and Amonkhet cycle lands

Skyshroud Claim, Wood Elves, and Nature's Lore seem like auto includes based upon your mana base and will serve you much better than Birds of Paradise or Captain Lannery Storm.

Selvala, Heart of the Wilds and Bloom Tender seem like great inclusions as well.

I think you could upgrade most of your removal packages. I understand that Contract Killing and Gild get you treasure, but cards like Utter End, Anguished Unmaking, Path to Exile, Cyclonic Rift, etc. are far superior and more versatile. Sylvan Reclamation is also great to deal with a troublesome Blood Moon and can help fix your mana.

Good luck deck building and I absolutely love seeing someone play Hypnox!

JuQ on Rafiq of the No Interaction

2 months ago

Hi, I have My own Rafiq deck and it actually works quite consistently (at least in my meta of kitchen table magic) Rafiq of the mostly himself.. Rafiq is an amazing commander because he needs really little help to destroy your enemies wich leaves you a lot of slots open in the deck to oil the engine of the deck. On top of that he has a really nice color identity.

I Use 39 lands which may be a bit more than enough, but at least you don't get stuck.

To pump Rafiq I focus mainly on evasion so they dont just chump-block him, Cartouche of Knowledge, Rancor, Shield of the Oversoul, Steel of the Godhead, Unquestioned Authority, Whispersilk Cloak Shroud can be a hinder but this card is just bananas.
When I find an opening or I have a counter in hand I use Might of Oaks (if he hasn't been blocked) or Enlarge to one shot a player (7+3+1)x2= 22.
All those auras you use that give Rafiq just a super big body are a bit overkill in my opinion. If you just give him +2/+0 and some evasion he will only need two attacks to kill someone. Leave you mana open and brag about all the counterspells in your hand.
Forgotten Ancient: Almost forgot about this guy. Gives no evasion, but makes anyone super big.

It looks like you are lacking serously in card draw. Card draw is crucial in Commander because you won't be able to kill and fend from all other players just with your starting seven cards. If you are the player that's drawing one card each turn then you are most likely not going to win.
Hunter's Insight will draw you 8 cards for three mana just attacking with a butt naked Rafiq that happens to be unblocked.
Hunter's Prowess is a heavier version of the previous, with a sexy +3/+3 and trample. I hope you draw the Reliquary Tower.
Snake Umbra: Up to two cards per turn and protection from death.
Pull from Tomorrow: instant braingeiser, nuff said.
Fact or Fiction, Concentrate, Secrets of the Golden City: just flat card draw with a moderate cost, gotta keep the cards comming.
Rush of Knowledge an underated spell. will get you easily four or more cards.
And seven more cards that are cantrips.

Reactions abound:
Counters: Stubborn Denial, Swan Song, Arcane Denial, Disdainful Stroke as cheap counters. Faerie Trickery, Hinder because there are stuff that you just don't want to leave in a graveyard. This spells should be Dissipate and Void Shatter instead, It's in my "to do" list. Bant Charm one of the most versatile card in the game, the three options are good.
Blossoming Defense: protection/boost, Shelter: protection/evasion, Valorous Stance: Protection/removal.

Removals, if I'm not unblockable I will open a way myself!. My phylosophy with removals is "exiling matters" if I use a card slot in a deck in a removal, I want that thing gone for sure, gone forever and not triggering anything:
Bant Charm, Selesnya Charm, Crib Swap, Reality Shift, Curse of the Swine, Valorous Stance. Also Snakeform and Polymorphist's Jest get the job done against indestructible creatures. Provoke is a pet card of me, you gotta see their faces when you meddle in combat between opponents getting one or both of the creatures dead.With the naturalize effects I also want stuff exiled, too many gods and indestructible artifacts. Sylvan Reclamation, Return to Dust, Forsake the Worldly and then those that don't ecile but are too good not to use: Acidic Slime the ooze with deathtouch is quite unwelcomming for big attackers, Qasali Pridemage too on theme with the deck, Trygon Predator reusable naturalize and can destroy two each attack.

My decks are usually low on board wipes, they are boring because they set everyone back, you included. They are only a last resort for me, it works better for me removal of strategic targets but I still run three of them Cyclonic Rift as you, AEtherspouts set one player back to stone age and he'll become the punching bag of the table, Tragic Arrogance board wipe that you lets your main guy live and the worst creature of your opponents.
I have a card slot in the deck (I think I lost a card somewhere), one of the cards I may put is Cataclysmic Gearhulk

For big final play I don't need more than Finest Hour (same as you, no brainer for the deck), Medomai the Ageless to play three turns in a row every time until they kill it.

What I think you are doing wrong:
Yes, you land count is low, it is not 35 but even lower: Maze of Ith doesn't give you mana and Serra's Sanctum in your opening hand wont give you mana either. Then you have the three fetchlands that will take another land from the deck you may need to draw later. The moment you play first time Rafiq everybody will have have their hand overflowing with removals and there will be fewer targets more deserving of removal than him, it will take you forever to get back on your toes.

You lack awfully on card draw, you only have Rhystic Study, Betrayal, Enchantress's Presence, I you don't happen to draw one of them or they get detroyed, the deck will lag and you will lose. In a blue and green deck is a crime to be low on card draw, you need many cards to be sure you get to draw some of then and then they will call to each other, the more you draw the more draw cards you'll get to keep the drawing going. About ten to fifteen cards to draw is a nice number. If you put too many you will find yourself drawing only draw spells, not good either.Rhystic Study is a great card, works on its own and in the worst case slows your opponents, keep it.
Betrayal unless you find a card with a crazy ability that may get abused untapping several times, this card is a bit weak, It's better in a control deck that is already tapping the opponents' creatures.
Enchantress's Presence You have to make up your mind, is this an enchantress deck? because if it is you better be including all the enchantress (Argothian Enchantress, Femeref Enchantress,Mesa Enchantress and Verduran Enchantress) Eidolon of Blossoms, Kor Spiritdancer, Sram, Senior Edificer, and swap several of the cards for enchantments that do something similar (I.E. mana rocks for land auras like Wild Growth). Then you will have a decent card engine.

Eldrazi Conscription big flashy card that's more than Rafiq actually needs, it will be a dead card in your hand until you finally get some way to cheat it to the battlefield. You may at one point be able to cast it but you will run out of mana and expose yourself to removals. You could wait until you have 10 mana, but do you really want to? I would take it out of the deck unless I could consistently cheat it to the battlefield (like having Bruna as commander).

Flickerform Tried this card a lot of times, 90% of the times you won't have four mana available when you need it, that's a lot. also it gives nothing else to Rafiq.

Ghostly Prison and Propaganda: You said you want to kill your oponents as soon as posible, yet you keep building a pillow fort around you. Make up your mind!

Tooth and Nail: The same, you say you want to push voltron to the limits, but you can't help but including the nine mana cost spell that puts the combo in the battlefield.
The point of having a voltron commander is that he is the win condition.

Your deck want's to be too many things (a voltron deck, an enchantress deck, a control-combo deck), but at the end of the day is none. Try to focus on your game plan, you can't just fill a deck with good stuff and expect it to work consistently.

Load more