Please login to comment
Unfortunately, if Intet leaves play, any cards you've exiled with her will be uncastable even if you replay her. (That said, they will still have the rider that you can look at them at any time.) But you can exile new cards and play those, so long as she doesn't leave play again (thus starting yet another new pile of playable cards.) As much can be seen on her official rulings page: http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=124073
Rule 400.7 elucidates this with "An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. " This is why if you Flicker a creature, it won't have any damage when it comes back, and any spells that were exclusively targeting it are now targeting nothing, even though it came right back. It's like it's a whole new card that never existed before. Hence, if Intet leaves, she has no idea what those exiled cards are about from last time she was in play.
May 20, 2018 1:01 a.m.
The Ballista would unfortunately perish in both scenarios. Both Graft and Rishkar's ability trigger off of permanents coming into play, meaning they go on the stack waiting to happen (just like any other spell or non-mana ability.) The thing is, if a creature is ever in play with zero toughness, it will die the next time state-based actions are checked, which is any time you would receive priority.
Consider the wording of Graft on something like Simic Initiate - it says he enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter already on him. There's never a period where he's in play without one. But if another 0/0 creature shows up, it has to already come into play (and thus die) before you can move a counter over. But Master Biomancer makes your creatures likewise enter with the counters already on them, meaning he could save a 0/0 Ballista.
May 19, 2018 11:26 p.m.
Absolutely right, yes. But if you include Vedalken Orrery, that will let you pay for any of your spells on your upkeep!
May 19, 2018 8:36 p.m.
Ooh, nice and broad.
Lost to Time
Put target creature on top of its owner's library. That creature's owner puts the top five cards of his or her library into his or her graveyard.
Make a monowhite shapeshifter!
May 19, 2018 2:25 p.m.
It gives them +2/+2! This is exactly why his two pumping abilities are separated out. In the case of Death Baron, for instance, it's a single check being performed, so a creature that was both a zombie and a skeleton would still only get +1/+1. All of the Lieges from Shadowmoor have two separate abilities, though, meaning both can apply to one creature. He does indeed make a 3/3 token every turn.
May 16, 2018 4:20 p.m.
With all of these little guys dying and coming back, you might like Attrition or Grave Pact as ways to keep the board clear, and Blood Artist and/or Zulaport Cutthroat as alternate win conditions. The new Torgaar, Famine Incarnate is an interesting take on a big creature you can "cheat out" by feeding him three little ones.
May 15, 2018 9:50 p.m.
Being a legendary sorcery doesn't make a card interact any differently with countermagic or the stack. If your opponent plays Urza's Ruinous Blast, you can counter it with Unwind just as you could any other noncreature spell.
May 15, 2018 9:37 p.m.
You might like swapping out some of your one-drops for things like Gravecrawler, Bloodsoaked Champion or Dread Wanderer - they aren't exactly impressive, but at least they can easily come back if you're planning to feed them to a big creature. Dread Return is useful if one of your big creatures are immediately killed - especially since its Flashback functionally lets you play them for free from your graveyard as well.
May 15, 2018 9:35 p.m.
Firstly, to frustrate.
Secondly, to win.
May 13, 2018 2:48 p.m.
Unfortunately, Panharmonicon will not double the effects of kicker costs. Getting the boost from a kicker is not a triggered ability - an easy way to tell is the fact that a triggered ability will start with the words "when," "whenever" or "at" (as helpfully pointed out by Strionic Resonator.) Kicker is a static ability that functions while the spell with kicker is on the stack.
May 13, 2018 1:57 p.m.
In all of the cases you listed, Naga Vitalist can indeed make one mana of any colour. She cares not about the cost or legality of the mana-producing abilities, nor any restrictions or riders on the mana produced. It's simply a checklist: is there any possibility you can make this colour? If yes, then the Vitalist can as well. Reflecting Pool works the same way.
You can see the rulings in an official capacity on the Vitalist's Gatherer page.
May 13, 2018 1:51 p.m.
They're called gating creatures, not Karoo creatures!
(Also, you didn't properly tag Healing Salve.)
May 6, 2018 6:54 p.m.
You're absolutely right, he can't activate the ability while Nezahal is in the graveyard. As stated in Rule 112.6: "Abilities of an instant or sorcery spell usually function only while that object is on the stack. Abilities of all other objects usually function only while that object is on the battlefield." To clarify, Rule 112.6k adds "An ability whose cost or effect specifies that it moves the object its on out of a particular zone functions only in that zone, unless that abilitys trigger condition, or a previous part of that abilitys cost or effect, specifies that the object is put into that zone."
So as an example, consider Reassembling Skeleton. You can return it from the graveyard to play because his ability says "Return Reassembling Skeleton from your graveyard to the battlefield." Obviously this ability can only be played from the graveyard, since it specified. You couldn't use that ability if the Skeleton is in your hand or library. Likewise, since Nezahal's ability doesn't specify that you can play it anywhere other than the default (the battlefield,) then you can only activate it while he's in play.
May 6, 2018 6:06 p.m.
Seems to me that Marwyn would be all about that elf-token life! Things like Hunting Triad and Sylvan Offering might be worthwhile to make her huge - the latter especially since she can provide a huge amount of mana for it.
If you're after more card draw, Collective Unconscious may just be a worse Shamanic Revelation but it's still very much worth it if you're doubling down on elf production. You might also appreciate more reliable and long-term card drawing, such as Staff of Nin, The Immortal Sun and/or Mind's Eye - things that your commander can hurry out but will still be worthwhile even if you're having trouble building up your board. Best of all, if you're able to afford it, Staff of Domination would be like a dream. As soon as Marwyn has five or more power, you get infinite life and can draw all the cards you want.
May 6, 2018 3:23 p.m.
It's the fact that they're cast directly from the graveyard that stops you. For instance, if Havengul Lich's activated ability was used, you could exile the Sage in response - before the ability's resolved and he has the opportunity to play the Sage. But with Muldrotha, he has to pay the card's mana cost and put it on the stack as part of announcing that he's casting it.
It would be no different from trying to use Funeral Charm to make a player discard a spell in response to them casting it - by the time you do, it's no longer in their hand.
May 2, 2018 5:02 a.m.
It's exactly as you thought. Being an artifact, it's historic, just like any other artifact. Being a land, it isn't cast and thus doesn't trigger "if you cast a historic spell..." abilities.
Hopefully it still serves your purposes!
May 2, 2018 4:52 a.m.
I think the double protection of Paladin en-Vec is worth considering. Being able to have an untouchable creature against red decks is always nice, and I usually prefer him to Fiendslayer Paladin - I suppose it depends on how much you value the lifelink. Northern Paladin also seems like a gamble, unless you know you regularly fight against black or mostly-black decks.
Enough knights have printed abilities (usually first strike, sometimes protections) that Cairn Wanderer might also be worth considering? Even something like a dead Skyhunter Skirmisher would make him a force to be reckoned with.
May 1, 2018 7:04 p.m.
I kind of question the use of Bad Moon, since the Totems are your only black creatures! As important as they are, that's too specific for the moons to be worth it. Running Inquisitor's Snare and Luminesce also seem odd - they're more appropriate as sideboard cards. Bump in the Night is likewise not worth running unless you have some red mana to flash it back.
A good way to capitalize on the Totem's nature is with boardwipes! Something like Day of Judgment or Hallowed Burial will take out all creatures, but so long as the Totems are still just artifacts, they'll stay in play safe and sound. A good way to remove the Totems' drawbacks is through Dolmen Gate - they won't make you sacrifice permanents if they're blocked, and on your opponent's turn they'll just be artifacts again. It also helps you be more aggressive with your tokens!
You might also like to swap the Bad Moons for Tempered Steel - giving them +2/+2 for three mana is probably more impressive than +1/+1 for two. That said, you could then swap out your token generators for ways to make artifact tokens, such as Servo Exhibition and Master's Call, since they'd all become quite fearsome with the boost from Tempered Steel.
May 1, 2018 6:48 p.m.
SCORE: 2 | 2 COMMENTS | 1762 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER
SCORE 7 | COMMENTS 4 | VIEWS 1156
SCORE 1 | COMMENTS 0 | VIEWS 537
SCORE 1 | COMMENTS 0 | VIEWS 538
|Playing since||Limited Edition Alpha|
|Avg. deck rating||2.67|
|Good Card Suggestions||343|
|Last activity||1 day|