Simic Charm

Legality

Format Legality
Modern Legal
Legacy Legal
Vintage Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Gatecrash Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Simic Charm

Instant

Choose one Target creature gets +3/+3 until end of turn; or, permanents you control gain hexproof until end of turn; or, return target creature to its owner's hand.

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Cardhoarder (MTGO)

0.01 TIX $0.01 Foil

Ebay

Have (1) kobyjoe
Want (1) Psycheretic

Simic Charm Discussion

chandlerjbirch on Modern Mutant Zoo

1 day ago

Absolutely no regrets on the red splash. Lightning Bolt does so much for the deck's interactive angle and the reach is a huge upgrade. It also frees up the flex slots (currently filled with the 2x Simic Charm) for other options, like Huntmaster of the Fells  Flip and Savage Knuckleblade, making you less dependent on the graveyard.

TheWrongBunny on Anti-Sliver Slivers

1 day ago

Novisius my point still stands that another of my slivers could easily sacrifice itself to destroy the Necrotic Sliver. Also as a response to Harmonic Sliver just play the Simic Charm to give all permanents hexproof for the turn it comes out.

xyr0s on Forced Adaptation ($35 or less)

4 days ago

Budget concerns? well... maybe exchange Hinterland Harbor for Yavimaya Coast. That should make it possible to commit to such major investments as $ 0.16 Cloudfin Raptor and $ 0.23 Coiling Oracle without breaking the 35 dollar upper limit. I still think there should be some kind of land capable of producing both colors of mana, though.

How much is the deck now without maybeboard?

The differences between Jhessian Infiltrator and Cloudfin Raptor are smaller than they seem, as very few modern decks has anything ready to block fliers by turn 2. I just favor Cloudfin Raptor, because it works of any other creatures you might play, where Jhessian Infiltrator requires a very certain sequence - or it will remain a 2/2.

Apart from Simic Charm the deck is sorely lacking any kind of interaction... shouldn't there be at least a few Vapor Snag in there somewhere?

mkmi on Groundhog's Day

2 weeks ago

Hello again. About Serene Remembrance, it's a rather inferior card for the intended role. It does not guarantee that you will end up having any of your combo pieces in your hand, and it does not replace itself (it gives you a card disadvantage). Something like Eternal Witness would be much more efficient to re-use the cards in your graveyard, but it's not exactly budget-friendly. Overall, I don't think that graveyard recursion is a well-fitting strategy for this deck - you play with quite a few "growers", when they come back from graveyard there'll be back to being 0/1s, 1/1s and 2/2s. You could think of some other way of protecting your creatures - for example cheap counterspells, like the green instants I mentioned in the previous post. If you'd rather not play with those, you could also include some protective equipment, such as Swiftfoot Boots. Simic Charm is also quite a versatile card, with little setup it allows you to kill creatures, and you can also use it to protect your MVPs from sweepers with the bounce effect.

Going back to Serene Remembrance, it can be a useful card in certain circumstances, e.g. when you play against a dredge or reanimator deck, and want to remove Griselbrand or Life from the Loam from their graveyard, or when you play against a mill deck, it can keep you alive a little longer. However in both cases, there are far superior cards that do the same, budget version include Gaea's Blessing, Elixir of Immortality, Tormod's Crypt etc.

BlueScope on Can simic charm save phantoms ...

3 weeks ago

It can't, for exactly the same reasons a Counterspell can't, actually - they will cause the spell that targetted to be countered, but not the ability that will have you sacrifice the Phantasmal Image.

I can break it down some more, because that's probably not very understandable: When a player casts a Shock on your Phantasmal Image, that will trigger it's ability. That ability will be put on the stack after Shock, meaning it will resolve first.
Now if you cast Simic Charm, that will be put on top of the stack, and resolve first. At this point, you control a Phantasmal Image with Hexproof. If Shock were to resolve next, it would be countered by the game rules for not having any legal targets.
Yet, its own ability resolves next, and you'll have to sacrifice the Image.

The only thing you really can do is counter the ability that targets the Image, with cards like Stifle or Disallow.

acbooster on Can simic charm save phantoms ...

3 weeks ago

No.

The ability of Phantasmal Image triggers when a spell is cast targeting it. Giving it Hexproof in response with Simic Charm won't stop the ability from triggering because it's already on the stack by the time you get a chance to respond.

Conversely, if you were to cast it preemptively, your opponent could just cast an instant targeting it in response to trigger the ability.

Ultramegalord on Can simic charm save phantoms ...

3 weeks ago

Can Simic Charms non targeting hexproof be used in response to Phantasmal Image being targeted save it from it's targeted sacrifice clause? I know a counter spell can't, was curious if instant speed non-targeting hexproof could.

Livingham on Mirror Gallery EDH

1 month ago

Eiti3 I think you're mistaken, lattice doesn't make them cost generic mana it just let's you pay any kind of mana for anything. If mizzix provided mana towards spells for each spell you've played then it would let you play as many insists or sorceries as you want but since it just reduces the cost, nothing happens.

For example, if you want to play Simic Charm you would still have to pay 2 mana to play it. No matter how many experience counters you have, it only reduces the cost by 2 generic mana but since it costs 2 specific types of mana, the reduction in cost doesn't matter. Although lattice lets you spend mana as if it were any color, mizzix only reduces the cost rather than giving you mana, so you would still need to pay full cost for the charm.

Load more