Decimate

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
Noble Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Custom Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2018 (C18) Rare
Commander 2016 (C16) Rare
Conspiracy (CNS) Rare
Odyssey (ODY) Rare

Combos Browse all

Decimate

Sorcery

Destroy target artifact, target creature, target enchantment, and target land.

Decimate Discussion

Struyk on Magic: The Gathering - Endgame

2 days ago

Problem with Decimate is that you 4 targets, and if one of the targets gets removed / protected while it's on the chain it gets cancelled. Still I like it :D

Hav0cD3m0n on Niv Mizzet, Ultimate Master of Guilds (Ver 1.2)

3 days ago

The only I have is Sphinx's Revelation I think? And I was already thinking about taking it off. Decimate was in the deck, the problem is, once only one of the target disapear (bounce, sacrifice, whatever), the whole spell fizzle. Like 9 time of 10, the spell just don't resolve (In my playgroup tho). Assemble the Legion got out too, It's too slow imo. I'll check for the rest tho, thank you.

Struyk on Niv Mizzet, Ultimate Master of Guilds (Ver 1.2)

3 days ago

Drop all the card draw cards, commander is more than enough for all your card draw needs.

Boros: Assemble the Legion or Lightning Helix or Master Warcraft
Gruul: Decimate pretty much must have or any of the Domri planeswalkers
Selesnya: Aura Shards or Trostani Discordant or Sylvan Reclamation

Would also add Ash Barrens as its must have for 5 color decks

Jumpstick on Magic: The Gathering - Endgame

1 week ago

Disoo: Accurate Card Styles

Fellin22: I could give advice, if you show me your decklist.

BelugaWhale217: How is Decimate hard to cast? You have 3 other players playing. I never didn't find anything to target. Also It's one of the two cards in Gruul colors. I will do some more playtesting, and evaluate it again after.

BelugaWhale217 on Magic: The Gathering - Endgame

1 week ago

Honestly, Decimate because its kinda hard to cast

NV_1980 on Gruul Werewolves May.12 2019

1 week ago

Hi,

First off, we would recommend that you main-board the following cards from your maybe-board:

Then there are some other cards we would include:

We are not entirely sure what we recommend you should remove in order to make room for some of this. Ruric Thar and Mana Barbs come to mind as these seem to hurt you almost as much as your opposition. We're not sure about including Coat of Arms either, as many opponents will benefit from this card too.

Anyways, let us know what you think and good luck with your build. We think this is a promising start.

Regards,

Mrs and Mr NV_1980

dragonstryke58 on If a spell or ability ...

3 weeks ago

Ah right...I forgot to touch upon the items before...

From Rules:

608.2b If the spell or ability specifies targets, it checks whether the targets are still legal. A target that's no longer in the zone it was in when it was targeted is illegal. Other changes to the game state may cause a target to no longer be legal; for example, its characteristics may have changed or an effect may have changed the text of the spell. If the source of an ability has left the zone it was in, its last known information is used during this process. If all its targets, for every instance of the word "target," are now illegal, the spell or ability doesn't resolve. It's removed from the stack and, if it's a spell, put into its owner's graveyard. Otherwise, the spell or ability will resolve normally. Illegal targets, if any, won't be affected by parts of a resolving spell's effect for which they're illegal. Other parts of the effect for which those targets are not illegal may still affect them. If the spell or ability creates any continuous effects that affect game rules (see rule 613.10), those effects don't apply to illegal targets. If part of the effect requires information about an illegal target, it fails to determine any such information. Any part of the effect that requires that information won't happen.

So actually a Decimate that targeted four legal targets, but then a target became illegal (in stated case: the Commander's Sphere was sacrificed) would still resolve with illegal targets being unaffected.

Illusionist's Stratagem as you stated, would still resolve if only one of your creatures got removed due to not all of its targets being illegal.

And as Colgate mentioned, if you cast Cleanfall splicing Blessed Breath , it will not resolve if its only target was removed.

tl:dr - If all of a spell or ability's targets are illegal, it will not resolve.

Yesterday on If a spell or ability ...

3 weeks ago

I was under the impression when I was first learning Magic that once a spell failed in having 100% of its targets as it tried to resolve, it would be countered by the game (back when being countered by the game was a thing). So a Decimate I cast that targeted four legal permanents including a Commander's Sphere would fizzle if the controller of the Commander Sphere sacrificed it in response.

I later came to understand that as long as a spell has at least one legitimate target, it will try to resolve to its fullest ability. So if you cast Illusionist's Stratagem targeting two of your creatures and one gets removed in response, you would still blink the remaining creature and draw a card.

But was I still wrong? So if I cast Cleanfall w/ Blessed Breath , and the only target of the spell becomes illegal in some way, the rest of the spell will still resolve as normal?

Now, as I was typing out this next part, I realised I've been misreading Fblthp since his spoiler. For this next part of the question, just to help me understand the ruling, please pretend Fblthp's second ability triggers from being targeted by anything:

When I first saw the creatureless deck techs for Fblthp, the Lost that revolve around Proteus Staff , I thought somebody must have made an error because the staff's ability would fizzle when Fblthp gets shuffled away. But is it true that the Staff's ability will not only continue to resolve, but will also use the last known information of the creature to determine the missing permanent's controller when it was last on the battlefield?

Load more

Decimate occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.05%

RG (Gruul): 1.22%

BRG (Jund): 1.2%