War's Toll

Legality

Format Legality
Modern Legal
Legacy Legal
Vintage Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Dissension Rare

Combos Browse all

War's Toll

Enchantment

Whenever an opponent taps a land for mana, tap all lands that player controls.

If a creature an opponent controls attacks, all creatures that opponent controls attack if able.

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Cardhoarder (MTGO)

0.02 TIX $0.24 Foil

Ebay

Have (2) zachi , Hootiequack
Want (0)

War's Toll Discussion

Mr_Radical on War's Toll Propaganda against mana ...

1 day ago

Sorry, it didn't occur to me that War's Toll's ability was static. Thanks for clarifying.

KylerStar on kynaios and tiro of meletis, fun for all

1 day ago

War's Toll/Bident of Thassa+Crawlspace/Blazing Archon. can make people attack each other and not you.

Neotrup on War's Toll Propaganda against mana ...

2 days ago

War's Toll's second ability doesn't use the stack, nor does Propaganda. Propaganda adds a restriction to the attack (requiring a mana payment), and War's Toll adds a requirement to the attack (attacking with all creatures, When you attack, you must follow all requirements you are able to without violating any restrictions. If you only attack with one creature, you are violating the War's Toll requirement, but if you were to attack with all three creatures (without paying the mana, because Propaganda cannot make you tap land if you don't want to), you would be violating a restriction, so the attack would be illegal. Because of this, the attack with a single creature is more legal than the attack with all creatures, and thus is an acceptable attack. The reason this destinction is important because if you simply had 3 creatures and none were able to produce mana, you could still attack with just one creature, even if you had six lands. (Although, you would end up tapping all your lands anyways due to War's Toll's first ability, which is a triggered ability.)

Mr_Radical on War's Toll Propaganda against mana ...

2 days ago

You would be able to pay the 2 mana. It would play out like this:

Declare attackers step begins

You activate your two creatures' mana abilities and spend the mana to allow the third creature to be declared as an attacker

When you declare your attacker, War's Toll's effect is put on the stack

You receive priority which is passed in succession, causing War's Toll's effect to resolve...your two mana creatures are obliged to attack, but they can't, so nothing happens

Declare attackers step ends and mana pools empty

Neotrup on War's Toll Propaganda against mana ...

2 days ago

You tap the creatures for mana as part of declaring the attack. Because Propaganda involves a cost in attacking, War's Toll cannot make any of your creatures attack (even if you could pay the costs).

Ziggy101 on War's Toll Propaganda against mana ...

2 days ago

My opponent has War's Toll + Propaganda

I have 3 creatures, 2 of which can tap to add 1 mana to my mana pool.

Can I tap the two of them to pay for Propaganda and attack with my last creature or does the mana empty before Propaganda can be paid?

Cheers

Chandrian on Prison Sphere

5 days ago

I must say I like the look of this deck. What have you played this against and how did it go?

Regarding the question above me aboout War's Toll: once you have something like Ghostly Prison out your opponents will have to choose if they use all their mana during the combat step or during another phase because mana is emptied after each step.

Maybe you could include a sweeper like Anger of the Gods to kill some early creatures your opponents will have played?

Smeltz45 on Prison Sphere

5 days ago

I just have a general question whats up with War's Toll?

Load more