Pit Fight

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Casual Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Gatecrash (GTC) Common

Combos Browse all

Pit Fight

Instant

Target creature you control fights another target creature.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

GTC

Ebay

Recent Decks

Pit Fight Discussion

Sagarys on Wolf Lord

2 weeks ago

I'd recommend Pit Fight or Pounce over Prey Upon. It's one more mana, but the instant speed makes a huuuuuuge difference.

Profet93 on Xenagos EDH

3 weeks ago

Hey! I saw your list on the FB group. Here is some feedback...

Since you a running green, you do not need mana rocks, rather, you need just get out your lands faster. Rocks can be destroyed, lands usually arent. As such, I suggest you remove the following...

Artifact Ramp to Remove Show

Fork in the Road - There is much better ramp

Ground Assault - Much better removal

Slagstorm - See above

Sylvan Scrying - Gets you any land card, but since you don't run specialty lands like Cradle or Eye of Ugin, its best to replace this with better ramp

Blanchwood Armor - better in a mono green deck, also auras have the 2-1 issue (try to place aura on creature, they doomblade in response).

Vessel of Nascency - Weak card

Vessel of Volatility - Weak, nonrepeatable ramp

Pit Fight - Better versions of this card exist

Cards to put in Show

I can give you more suggestions if you like. I see your deck is budget so feel free to ignore the more costly cards and put them in an acquireboard for trades/purchase later on.

Guydo on Werewolf

4 weeks ago

Sideboard cards:

Manamorphose may also be worth looking into if you feel the deck loses because you are not drawing into enough threats as well.

Pit Fight is a good card for you to consider if you want more removal.

Destructive Revelry will be a good way for you to deal with artifacts and enchantments.

Atarka's Command might be a good toolbox card for you, especially in the sideboard against flying creature decks.

Firespout in the sideboard will help you deal with flying creatures and token decks.

cdkime on DO WHAT YOU WANT CAUSE A PIRATE IS FREE

1 month ago

Angrath, Minotaur Pirate, is not a legal commander because it is not a creature. Only Planeswalkers which specifically delineate that they can be used as a commander (example: Teferi, Temporal Archmage), or when they start as a creature (example: Jace, Vryn's Prodigy  Flip).

Another rule of commander is that all cards in the deck must exclusively fall within your commander's colour identity. Colour identity includes both the colorus to cast the spell, and all mana symbols in the text box. Even assuming arguendo your commander is legal (though it is not, as established herein), its colour identity would be Red and Black. Thus, you can only play cards with Red or Black colour identities.

I am well aware Boros Reckoner can either be red or white. Its colour identity is both Red and White--as such, it would be illegal with a Rakdos commander.

The following cards, would also fall outside Rakdos' colours, and thus would not be permissible:

You also cannot use any lands which have non-Red/Black symbols in their rules texts. Vivid Creek, Island, Dimir Aqueduct, Dismal Backwater, Swiftwater Cliffs, and Izzet Boilerworks are all no-goes. The same is true of artifacts, so Dimir Signet, Izzet Signet, and Sky Diamond cannot be used. While Fellwar Stone can produce non-Red/Black mana, because it does not have mana symbols in it, its colour identity is colourless, and can thus be used in any deck.

I think that covers everything. There might be more that I missed. I hope this proves helpful.

DjNotturn0 on DO WHAT YOU WANT CAUSE A PIRATE IS FREE

1 month ago

Angrath, Minotaur Pirate is the commander,it's just illegal currently because Rivals of Ixalan technically isn't out. As for Boros Reckoner it can be either red or white. It is not both technically. IF there would be a problem with that,then there'd also be a problem with Pit Fight

Neotrup on Unstable: What power and toughness ...

2 months ago

For Undeathtouch:http://markrosewater.tumblr.com/post/168450614523/can-a-creature-in-a-graveyard-from-over-my-dead

For Augments in the graveyard:http://markrosewater.tumblr.com/post/168200828248/presumably-augment-creatures-in-my-graveyard-are

Though it does look like an augment on the battlefield could attack/block:http://markrosewater.tumblr.com/post/168398356728/what-happens-when-garbage-elemental-cascades-into

As for targeting a creature in your graveyard with Pit Fight, while a creature in a graveyard is attacking or blocking, you may target it as though it were on the the battlefield. If it would be destroyed, it is instead removed from combat. From the Unstable faqawaslfaqpaftidawabiajtbt:

So I can cast Giant Growth targeting an attacking graveyard creature?

Yes, you may target an attacking or blocking graveyard creature just as you could target a normal creature.

So I can cast Murder targeting my opponent's blocking graveyard creature?

Sure. If a graveyard creature is destroyed, it's removed from combat. It would go to the graveyard, but it's already in the graveyard. But you removed it from combat!

Can I target a graveyard creature that isn't attacking or blocking?

Not with anything that targets a creature on the battlefield. Remember you treat them as on the battlefield only while they're attacking or blocking.

Yesterday on Unstable: What power and toughness ...

2 months ago

Boza, as per Q3, I wasn't talking about targeting a creature in the graveyard just FYI. Why are creatures that are alive unaffected by Undeathtouch? It doesn't specify the damage needs to be through combat.

Neotrup Q1, can I ask where you got the ruling on unattached Augment creatures not being able to attack or block?On Q3, that's what I was afraid of. :( How would one target a creature card in the graveyard with Pit Fight?

Neotrup on Unstable: What power and toughness ...

2 months ago

Q1: Augment creatures in the graveyard cannot attack or block. I believe this also means an augment creature on the battlefield not augmenting anything can't attack or block either, but we don't have an official answer on this.

Q2: Aquamorph Entity has a replacement effect that modifies how it enters the battlefield or is turned face up, not a characteristic defining ability. As it's power/toughness are not defined by the card, it is a 0/0 in all other zones. It can still attack or block.

Q3: No. Abilities that trigger off a permanent leaving the battlefield use the last known information about that permanent. Because Gang of Devils did not have undeathtouch while it was on the battlefield, the triggered ability acts as though it does not have it. If a creature in the graveyard does somehow deal damage to a creature on the battlefield (such as through Pit Fight) Undeathtouch does apply and will exile the creature on the battlefield.

Load more