Reclamation Sage

Legality

Format Legality
Modern Legal
Legacy Legal
Vintage Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Frontier Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2014 Uncommon
Magic 2015 Uncommon
Promo Set Uncommon

Combos Browse all

Reclamation Sage

Creature — Elf Shaman

When Reclamation Sage enters the battlefield, you may destroy target artifact or enchantment.

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Cardhoarder (MTGO) 16%

1.37 TIX $0.08 Foil

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Reclamation Sage Discussion

Bulldawg1310 on Elves (Work in Progress)

1 day ago

Reclamation Sage is a must, you should probs main an Eternal Witness or 2 to return your co-co's. Back to Nature's in your side should be prominent too.

Paul.The.Firewood.Salesman on Kresh, Warrior of the World

2 days ago

I agree with a lot with what you've said but disagree with about half. The first thing I'll address is Emrakul. She tends to be a game ender in my meta. Granted not all the time, but most of the time. In either case Gratuitous Violence seems like an interesting card to run. I may even try to work Wound Reflection in as well, just for the laughs.

Hatred is a great call. Meshing that with Batterskull so the life lose just being nulled would be fantastic. I'm definitely going to make room for it.

I'm not too keen on Tormod's Crypt or Nihil Spellbomb. They're great cards but can be a dead draw when recursion isn't too involved in the game or graveyards have already been exiled. Though the card draw of the spellbomb is sweet. Jund Charm on the other hand is a good call, I think. It resolves the issue I just gave. Worst case scenario is that I pump up Kresh or someone else and that's never a bad thing.

So far I've felt I've run plenty of removal. Putrefy was actually originally ran but just due to the amount of removal I already have it was the first to go. And I was not going to run Reclamation Sage but I thought about it for a while because I considered Birthing Pod for a long time. It's a card that I get suggested a lot in person so I think it's about time it works its way into the deck. And with that Sage can be another sac outlet to get me some handy four drops.

Thanks for the suggestions! They're appreciated.

PookandPie on Kresh, Warrior of the World

2 days ago

You need to take the images linked and make them a little smaller if you can; it makes reading an absolute chore because you're forcing the reader to scroll a lot in order to read what you've typed in between images.

That said, I'll list my suggestions:

Birthing Pod is first off. You want to sacrifice and gain benefits? This is your card. You can sac off a Marauder, Executioner, or Eternal Witness to grab Disciple if you need to draw, Jarad if you need to kill, and Oracle if you need to ramp- and the benefits only grow the higher up your curve you go. I strongly recommend it as it is a repeatable sacrifice outlet and a way to gain more consistency out of your deck.

Burn Away is terrible and you should run either good removal or good graveyard exile, not some hamfisted combination of both that does neither well. If you want graveyard removal, Tormod's Crypt or Nihil Spellbomb are great, one because it's 0 cost, the other because it draws a card and exiles too. I, personally, think you should be using Reclamation Sage in this deck and it's a shame you don't have it, though you've got Bane/Grip/Slime, so that'd be up to you. If you need more removal, there's always Malicious Affliction or Putrefy which are instant speed and can off a creature no matter its size (lol trying to kill a Ghave, Guru of Spores with Burn Away would be like trying to stop a brushfire by pouring gasoline on it, and doubling up with a 5 mana spell is rough). There's also Jund Charm, which does instant-speed graveyard exile and can function as a Pyroclasm to eliminate mana dorks and tokens, so that's an option too.

Not running Hatred seems like a bad call. Being able to just one-shot somebody by paying 18 life and 5 mana is pretty huge.

Gratuitous Violence is a second Xenagos, God of Revels that works for multiple creatures at once. That might be worth looking into over Emrakul, the Promised End (it's not a bad creature, I just find it mediocre in multiplayer Commander).

Mandalorian on Abzan Life in the Kitchen

4 days ago

I know you think Spike Feeder combo is slow or inconsistent but trust me you want it in the deck. I play Abzan Evolution as well and it plays pretty much like a creature heavy midrange deck but with a backdoor combo. You play all your games normally and every now and again you get to go infinite and win some matches you may have been way behind in or had no business winning to begin with. The other bonus of running it is it can reset your Kitchen Finks as well.

Personally Im also more in favor of disruption in the form of creatures instead of spells since you are a toolbox deck. 1 ofs of Scavenging Ooze, Reclamation Sage, Orzhov Pontiff, or Fiend Hunter can make your Eldritch Evolutions better mainboard. In the sideboard you can run a good amount of silver bullets like Eidolon of Rhetoric, Aven Mindcensor, Sin Collector, Spellskite, Melira, Sylvok Outcast, and Fulminator Mage.

Some other cards I highly suggest would be Eternal Witness, Thragtusk, and Reveillark. With Witness in your deck you can get huge value out of your Reveillark by returning Eternal Witness, Voice of Resurgence, Fiend Hunter, Scavenging Ooze, and all of the sideboard cards I suggested.

WargRave on Yasova taking over control

6 days ago

Just some random thoughts, sorry for the disorder. I don't really have time to organize this atm.

You're extremely light on way to interact with _non_creatures. You're gonna feel real silly as a green deck when you're facing an Asceticism and you don't have so much as a Reclamation Sage to deal with one enchantment. Consider taking out the tapping subtheme and adding Decimate, Beast Within, Hull Breach, or similar cards. Get Cyclonic Rift in there too. You need Turn to Frog much less than more noncreature interaction. Most any creature you can target, you can steal, one way or another, and the ones you can't probably aren't numerous enough to make Turn to Frog worth it.

17/39 is a lot of etb tapped lands. Try to replace some guildgates and Smoldering Crater at least, swap them for untapped dual lands, or conditionally untappeds or basics. I would guess that, while also etb tapped, the U and G vivid lands would serve better than guildgates. High Market has great utility with your gameplan. Opal Palace is possible, it helps with Yasova's power.

FYI, you can tag cards into multiple categories, so Helm of Possession, Grab the Reins, and Demonmail Hauberk can both go under Sacrificing as well. You might want even more sac outlets and fewer steal effects. Your general gives you the second but not the first, so the rest of your deck should provide more of the first and less of the second to ensure you have one of each every turn. It seems like you can do better than Barrin, Master Wizard. What about Ooze Garden? There's always the classics Fling and Birthing Pod.

You need card draw too, and a generous amount. A hand with 4 Threaten effects is a lot worse than one with 3 threaten effects and a Harmonize. At the very least, no Tibalt please. He doesn't even count as a steal effect, he's too slow for that. Shamanic Revelation, Rishkar's Expertise, and Treasure Cruise are all options. Skullclamp can turn your enemy's dorks into cards for you, or just pump up Yasova and give her death insurance. Add some more like Elvish Mystic of your own for more consistency out of the clamp. Life's Legacy and Momentous Fall do double duty. If Yasova is out, Life's Legacy is probably better than a hand of three threatens.

By the way, OG Threaten isn't good enough to make the cut, and Kari Zev's Expertise and Act of Aggression might not be enough of an improvement.

Under your ramp package, Temur Banner should be Commander's Sphere and Nissa's Pilgrimage should be Cultivate to fix your colors. You've got a pretty high curve, so adding even more ramp and bringing down the curve would help. Better to play a spell with 80% power than have a 100% power spell stuck in hand for three turns. Think about exchanging Clone Legion, Nissa's Renewal, and one of the expensive threaten effects with Rampant Growth, Farseek, and Primal Growth which gives another sac outlet. With more cheap fixing, you can run more basics, and therefor fewer etb tapped lands.

Rancor is nice for helping the general, much more efficient than Incremental Growth I think. Stormsurge Kraken seems pretty intimidating but it doesn't advance the gameplan and Yasova herself is pretty easy to remove.

WargRave on Lusus Naturae

6 days ago

Hi, nice deck! I like the theme. I've got a few suggestions, if they're not what you're looking for pay me no mind.

You mention a combo with Gutter Grime and Altar of Dementia, but Gutter Grime says nontoken. I don't know if you consider the combo critical to their inclusion since they both work fine alone though.

Baton of Morale is cute, but it seems worse than simple Whispersilk Cloak at giving Sidisi more attack triggers, and I don't see where it fits the flavor.

You've got Sultai Banner and no Commander's Sphere, so that's a fairly easy swap.

35 lands and average CMC 4 seems low, even counting the emerge effect. There are still more good budget lands available: Temple of the False God, Evolving Wilds/Terramorphic Expanse, (which are probably better than Foul Orchard, but I don't know if that's included for flavor) and Drownyard Temple which synergizes with self-mill and fits in Innistrad flavor too. There's hardly any ramp here, what about Rampant Growth, Cultivate, etc?

Draw looks really light too, especially for UBG. I don't know if you are bound to flavor to the point of rejecting good ol' Concentrate, but we can find some on theme things like Treasure Cruise that appreciate the milling. Ancient Craving at least sounds like eldritch horror, and Read the Bones, Night's Whisper, and Sign in Blood all sort of work too. Sift seems better than Amass the Components since you'd rather discard than put to bottom, though Sift has no flavor.

It's also light on artifact/enchantment removal to my eye. Reclamation Sage, Bane of Progress, and others fill this role while also being creatures to give Sidisi zombies.

As for what to take out that I haven't mentioned, what catches my eye as not pulling their weight are Altar of the Brood (without an infinite combo this will just help opponents), Enlightened Maniac (low impact, no graveyard synergy), Ludevic's Test Subject  Flip (slow), Geralf's Masterpiece, Momir Vig, Simic Visionary (not a huge number of triggers for him, the only other blue AND green creature is Sidisi), and Brood Monitor (Nice with blink effects but you haven't any).

PartyJ on Gruul for beginners

1 week ago

I have never played with or against this Commander before. But I might have a few interesting ideas that could improve your deck:

Does this help you to get this dekc to the next level for you?

PJ

buildingadeck on Staples?

1 week ago

Colorless:

Mana Crypt

Sol Ring

Eternal Scourge

Mox Diamond

Chrome Mox

Dimir Signet or other on-color signets

Mana Vault

Grim Monolith

Winter Orb

Static Orb

Trinisphere

Tangle Wire

Null Rod

Sphere of Resistance

Thorn of Amethyst

Isochron Scepter

Paradox Engine

Fellwar Stone

White

Thalia, Guardian of Thraben

Boonweaver Giant

Aven Mindcensor

Swords to Plowshares

Path to Exile

Silence

Angel's Grace

Stony Silence

Rest in Peace

Grasp of Fate

Cataclysm

Armageddon

Vryn Wingmare

Enlightened Tutor

Idyllic Tutor

Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite

Blue

Counterspell

Swan Song

Arcane Denial

Force of Will

Mana Drain

Cyclonic Rift

Into the Roil

Chain of Vapor

Brainstorm

Preordain

Ponder

Gitaxian Probe

Gush

Laboratory Maniac

Mystical Tutor

Tezzeret the Seeker

Dramatic Reversal

Stroke of Genius

Mystic Remora

Palinchron

Phantasmal Image

Timetwister

Snapcaster Mage

Gilded Drake

Jin-Gitaxias, Core Augur

Red

Gamble

Wheel of Fortune

Wildfire

Blood Moon

Pyroblast

Red Elemental Blast

Decree of Annihilation

Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker

Zealous Conscripts

Black

Demonic Tutor

Vampiric Tutor

Buried Alive

Necrotic Ooze

Grim Tutor

Imperial Seal

Dark Petition

Toxic Deluge

Necropotence

Animate Dead

Entomb

Ad Nauseam

Tendrils of Agony

Exsanguinate

Sidisi, Undead Vizier

Green

Burgeoning

Exploration

Birds of Paradise

Arbor Elf

Elves of Deep Shadow

Avacyn's Pilgrim

Noble Hierarch

Beast Within

Nature's Claim

Crop Rotation

Life from the Loam

Regrowth

Noxious Revival

Eternal Witness

Seedborn Muse

Food Chain

Reclamation Sage

Survival of the Fittest

Yisan, the Wanderer Bard

Craterhoof Behemoth

Chord of Calling

Worldly Tutor

Natural Order

This is the best I have off the top of my head. The multicolored ones add some things, too.

Load more