Ashnod's Altar

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Arena Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Gladiator Legal
Highlander Legal
Historic Legal
Historic Brawl Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Oldschool 93/94 Legal
Pauper Legal
Pauper Duel Commander Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Planechase Legal
Premodern Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Ashnod's Altar

Artifact

Sacrifice a creature: Add .

AstroAA on All the combos

1 week ago

Personally I'm a massive fan of anything involving the card Aluren. In addition, Enduring Renewal is a pretty funny card to use with sac outlets like Ashnod's Altar and Phyrexian Altar. Pair all the cards together with a creature less than three CMC you can get infinite mana, ETBs, death triggers, etc.

Gidgetimer on All the combos

1 week ago

I need a little more clarification on the objective of the deck. Are you wanting a deck with the longest list of combos, a deck with a large number of completely unique combos that you want to draw naturally, or a deck with a large number of completely unique combos and you will tutor the last piece? Each different style is going to require different combos.

Without any specific guidance on how you want to build the deck I am just going to list some of my favorites. I'll just list off cards, LMK if you need an explanation for any.

Dabsolux on Pauper and PDH combos

1 month ago

I would like to create a list of all Pauper and PDH deck combos. Most of them are created by NateDiggity7 (Moxfield) and PenguinPete (MTG Salvation). Here some:

BG - Golgari

BR - Rakdos

C - Colorless

G - Green

RG - Gruul

UBG - Sultai

UB - Dimir

UG - Simic

URG - Temur

U - Blue

WB - Orzhov

WG - Selesnya

WR - Boros

WUB - Esper

WU - Azorius

ONLY PDH

BR - Rakdos

U - Blue

UG - Simic

W - White

WG - Selesnya

DemonDragonJ on Death and Rebirth

1 month ago

I have replaced Ashnod's Altar with Warren Soultrader, because the soultrader is simply too awesome to not have in this deck.

Gidgetimer on Targeting rules

1 month ago

There is a rules Q&A on the site, it has some added functionality like the ability to choose an answer and is frequented by some highly knowledgeable users so your question will get answered and the answers will be double checked by the other knowledgeable users. I'm sure one of the mods will move the thread soon.

You seem to have a couple of misconceptions here, so I'm going to try and address all of them in a way that makes it easy to understand what is going on.

Once targets are chosen for a spell or ability the targets will not change (unless another spell or ability instructs someone to change the targets). If, when a spell or ability resolves, none of the declared targets are legal (this could be because they no longer exist) the spell will simply fizzle.

Spells and abilities resolve one at a time in "First In, Last Out" (FILO) order and there is a round of priority when new spells or abilities can be added to the stack between each object resolving.

Once a spell or ability starts to resolve it resolves completely before anything else can resolve.

If a card changes game zones and then returns to a previous zone, it is a new game object with no relation to its previous existence.

Using card names to make this easier to track what would happen in the scenario you are asking about:

An opponent casts Murder targeting your Gutter Skulk.

You cast Undying Malice targeting Gutter Skulk.

Undying Malice resolves. (FILO order)

You sacrifice Gutter Skulk to Ashnod's Altar to make mana.

Delayed trigger created by Undying Malice goes on the stack.

Delayed trigger resolves returning Gutter Skulk to the battlefield. (FILO order)

Murder attempts to resolve and fizzles because none of its declared targets are legal. (Spells can't retarget without an effect changing the targets; Gutter Skulk on board has no relation to the gutter skulk that was targeted)

Quickspell on Build a Deck with Me …

2 months ago

I’m thinking about what other cards can combo with Ghired.

A combo usually has the drawback that it’s single pieces don’t do anything by themselves. So ideally you want combos that work with your Commander and are synergetic by themselves.

Here is an idea.

Pili-Pala can tap with Ghired to copy any token, and for you can untap it to gain one mana of any color.

Illusionist's Bracers will copy any activated ability as long as it doesn’t create mana. In this deck especially, this card is great as it works with your Commander and any other creature that has received your Commander‘s ability to basically act as a token doubler.

Now, if you equip Pili-Pala with the Bracers, and if you made a treasure and a clue token this turn (which isn’t inconceivable in this deck), you can now do the following:

  1. Tap Pili-Pala to create two copies of the treasure.
  2. Use those treasures to untap Pili-Pala and gain one mana of any Color
  3. Repeat this process any number of times to gain any number of coloured mana.
  4. Move on to tap Pili-Pala to create two copies of the Clue token.
  5. Use your infinite floating mana to untap Pili-Pala (and generate more mana).
  6. Repeat this process to create any number of Clue tokens.
  7. Use your infinite floating mana to crack those Clues and draw your entire deck.
  8. Use your infinite floating mana to cast any number of spells from your hand.

I just came up with the combo while waiting for my food, but I think should work.

You could also use Ashnod's Altar. This card usually is great in creature token decks, as it, too, is useful by itself.

In this case you can use Pili-Pala to create a copy of a creature token. Sac that token to the altar to get . Use this mana to untap Pili-Pala and generate one mana of any color.

Repeat this to generate an infinite amount of mana. Then proceed to copy a Clue token. Since you have infinite mana in your pool, you can keep untapping Pili-Pala and keep creating Clue tokens. You can then go on to crack them and draw and cast everything.

77hi77 on I BEG YOUR F@CKING PARDON??!!! - Razaketh

3 months ago

Profet93 fantastic, thanks so much! I'll let those suggestions ferment in my mind for a bit, my next cards shopping spree is coming up.

This goes to show you my ability to spot combos, I had that full Blood Artist + Reassembling Skeleton + Carnival of Souls + Ashnod's Altar combo in the deck! I took out Blood Artist because, as well as she fits in the way the deck plays, I wanted it to be more demon focused. The deck has always had some non-demons in there, maybe I should reconsider putting her in there. That's the case in all my tribal decks, I do my best to be strict about the tribe unless I can justify breaking it thematically (in my Rakdos the Defiler deck, there are devils and tieflings that serve the demons, so they're allowed).

Thanks again, your suggestions are really helping me out! I'll report back as I update the deck!

plakjekaas on Can I draw multiple cards …

3 months ago

The phrase "When they do," is key here. Indeed you will draw cards for each time an opponent gains control of it, not for every activation.

However, if you activate it again with another activation already on the stack, and you target a different opponent than you did in the first activation, then the creature should change control twice, and you should be able to draw for each time control has changed. Make sure your opponents don't have sacrifice outlets, because if opponent #1 sacrifices it to an Ashnod's Altar before opponent #2 gains control of it, you won't draw for the second time if the exchange doesn't happen, of course.

Load more