You are Red/Blue!

As it says above, I am an Izzet player, and I make a lot of theme decks. Sometimes I'll sacrifice having the very best cards to fit the theme, so please don't hold it against me.

I'm a big-time EDH player, though the more decks I build the more I notice they all have red for some reason...I'm going to build an Orzhov deck to break the curse. I'll let you know if it somehow ends up Mardu. I'm also the author of the Planeswalker's Guide to Andora. Currently only Irindu and the planeswalker Bagan are out, but the rest of the shards are on the way. I'm considering trying to write a book about the storyline of our little community set (actually, the Bagan part is from that). We'll see where that goes (coming back in 2020, that never really went anywhere, but it sure was fun!).

Please login to comment

Yesterday

"...players can respond and add things to the stack during the resolution of Fiery Encore because it puts new things on the stack to resolve as itself is resolving?"

I was responding to this specifically. No actions can be taken during the resolution of a spell or ability except for what it says. You can cast a spell as part of the resolution of Baral's Expertise, but that doesn't create an instant round of priority. You finish resolving Baral's Expertise and then a new round of priority happens as normal, during which people can respond to the spell Expertise let you cast.

October 17, 2021 10:03 p.m.

To clarify about casting during an effect's resolution: if a card like Baral's Expertise lets you cast a spell as part of its resolution, the casting takes place while Baral's Expertise is resolving. You will make choices, select targets, and put it on the stack, but neither you nor anyone else gets priority until Baral's Expertise finishes resolving, including any effects it has after casting the spell. After it finishes, priority passes as usual and players can respond to the spell you've cast.

October 17, 2021 4:18 p.m.

Basically, watch out for Moonmist and Poppet Stitcher  Flip together, as this combo can cause some of the shenanigans mentioned here.

October 16, 2021 11:28 a.m.

Yeah, this is one of those cards that had a very simple idea that turns into a wall of rules text. The simple version is that you enchant a dead creature and bring it back to life (slightly weaker), and it dies if it loses Animate Dead.

The current printing, by the way, is Eternal Masters (an all-reprint set full of old cards), though it does look like Theros. Masters sets have different rarity scaling since they contain a far higher power level than a normal set, so you'll see crazy effects like this with the uncommon symbol.

October 16, 2021 11:11 a.m.

Basically, to "become" tapped, a permanent needs to be untapped and then become tapped. If it enters tapped, or if it is already tapped and another effect tries to tap it, it won't become tapped (for example, you'll only trigger Immersturm Predator's middle ability once in your average turn, no matter how many creatures you sacrifice to it).

October 15, 2021 6:48 p.m.

Friends

ForlornEuphonatronberniensDlovreidmantelliJokernaughtkurakuzandlnuma529

Followers

ForlornJokernaughtkurakuolowleye

Decks

Stupidly Destructive

Unknown Polaris

SCORE: 1 | 2 COMMENTS | 2523 VIEWS | IN 2 FOLDERS

Grand Warlord Radha

Commander / EDH Polaris

SCORE: 2 | 96 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Topdeck Hero

Standard* Polaris

SCORE: 17 | 21 COMMENTS | 7633 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Topdeck Hero (AVR edition)

Standard* Polaris

SCORE: 2 | 1 COMMENT | 801 VIEWS

Somebody's Olivia EDH

Commander / EDH Polaris

342 VIEWS

Graveyard as Hand

Unknown Polaris

2 COMMENTS | 796 VIEWS

Finished Decks 21
Prototype Decks 8
Drafts 2
Playing since Time Spiral
Avg. deck rating 8.20
T/O Rank 58
Helper Rank 121
Favorite formats Standard, Commander / EDH
Cards suggested / good suggestions 1 / 0
Last activity 1 week
Joined 10 years