|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|Tempest Remastered (TPR)||Mythic Rare|
Combos Browse all
- What exactly are not abilities?
- Isochron Scepter and Humility (separate questions)
- What happens if I have... on the battlefield with... ?
- Interactions with Humility, Eldrazi Monument, and Sudden Spoiling
- Will Lethal Vapors trigger occur when it is brought into play via Replenish, alongside Humility and Opalescence?
All creatures lose all abilities and have base power and toughness 1/1.
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
1 week ago
Idk if you still play this deck all the way in 2017, but I'm also trying to build a Teeg hate bear and enchantments deck. Your deck is a good list, but I'm a bit puzzled by using Humility in the deck. How has it performed for you when you play it? Is it for when you're behind on creature count? to create parity?
2 weeks ago
Close, but not exactly. Here's the two ways it can be used:
Play Humility or Darksteel Mutation on Medomai the Ageless while Vedalken Mastermind is out. Since Humility/Darksteel Mutation makes Medomai the Ageless able to attack on extra turns by removing all abilities, attack with Medomai the Ageless. After attacking, but before blocking is declared, activate Vedalken Mastermind or cast Capsize with buyback targeting the Darksteel Mutation or the Humility. Then blocks are declared (flying is nice), and damage is dealt, giving me an extra turn. The last step is to recast the Humility or Darksteel Mutation on Medomai the Ageless and do it all again the next turn.
If I attack with Identity Thief while Medomai the Ageless is on the battlefield, I exile Medomai the Ageless until end of turn and Identity Thief becomes a copy of Medomai the Ageless until end of turn. This let's it become a copy after it attacks, so it can attack on extra turns too. After dealing damage with Identity Thief, I activate Vedalken Mastermind or cast Capsize with buyback targeting the Identity Thief so that when Medomai the Ageless returns to the battlefield at the end of the turn, I won't have to get rid of one of the creatures due to the legend rule.
3 weeks ago
To confirm that we are on the same page;
Yahenni's Expertise is cast, it resolves; applying Layer 7c's rulings, now holding the timestamp of (a)
Upon resolving it triggers free cast of Sudden Spoiling, which resolves; applying Layer 7b's rulings, now holding the timestamp of (b)
But because of the Layer system, even though timestamp (a) was cast earlier, introducing timestamp (b) to the battlefield causes them to be checked in sequential order; thus Applying -3/-3 and 0/2 both simultaneously and separately, causing creatures target player controls to become -3/-2 until end of turn.
After reading the comprehensive rules article (https://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/layer-system-2009-11-05) I was able to understand your answer a little better and feel more confident using rules like this myself.
I suppose part of me didn't want to believe it, it seems overwhelmingly strong in certain situations, especially against newer players who might not know about the layer system.
If a player were to cast Holy Light at the start of the turn, most players would let it resolve due to it being a pathetically small effect (Green players would probably laugh).
However, if a player were to cast Humility at the end of their turn... all of their opponents creatures would die (if they had no other CDA's). This alone could catch new and old players alike off-guard.
However, rules are rules.
Thank you for your help, honestly.
3 weeks ago
LordNazahn, Balan, Wandering Knight could be good, but I'm not quite sure any part of its design is needed or efficient. The instant speed only matters against opponents that only have one blocker (it matters when I have equipment that I want to trigger the combat damage triggered abilities, and I would have to equip it all to another creature and attack with that creature and Balan if I want to have two creatures that can trigger it depending what creature gets blocked, and if an opponent has a blocker for both, the instant ability is irrelevant), the double strike on a creature is not efficient or relevant on a creature (if it were, I wouldn't have dropped Kor Duelist), and the cheating equip costs aspect is not that great when my commander can already do that and it can only attach to one specific creature that costs more mana than all my creatures in the deck except for two. I won't say that it can't be good in an equipment deck, but I feel like I have all better options than it.
dlamars, I do have Humility because of its synergy with equipment (equipment can add abilities if they get attached after Humility enters because of the way layers work), but I don't think Armageddon or Catastrophe would fit in this deck, and here's why:
While I do have Worldslayer because of its combo with Shield of Kaldra or Darksteel Plate, MLD is definitely one of the top (if not THE top) most hated types of spells, and I don't know if this deck would even be the right place for it anyways. The reason I don't think that it's a good fit is because it is a one-time effect (no recursion for it) in a deck that is pretty mana-intensive (equip costs take a lot of mana to do, that's why we are running so much ramp) that won't have an easy time racing against other decks to rebuild (green can ramp quickly, blue and black can draw lands quickly, etc.). Worldslayer ignores that by repeatedly MLD-ing with the combo.
I'll take a look at your deck :)
3 weeks ago
kruphix doesnt become a creature until your devotion to blue and green is equal to or greater than 7. if its less than 7 when he is played, he's not a creature at that time, and not affected by Humility.
4 weeks ago
4 weeks ago
And now I'm realizing I'm even more wrong, it's not a CDA, it get's applied in timestamp order through the layers.
Layer 4: Kruphix's ability stops it from being a creature.
Layer 6: Humility sees that Kruphix is not a creature and does nothing.
Layer 7: Kruphix is not a creature so we don't need to worry about modifying power or toughness.
And I should go to bed and let someone more qualified correct all my mistakes.
4 weeks ago
I'm sorry, I completely forgot about layers when answering this question. Kruphix, God of Horizons's devotion ability is a Characteristic-Defining Ability and thus always get's applied before Humility. While your devotion to blue and green is less than 7 it's an Enchantment with nifty abilities and when your devotion to blue and green is more than 7 it's a 1/1 enchantment creature with no abilites, but if your devotion dips back down it regains it's abilities.