Lazav, the Multifarious

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Standard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Brawl Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Guilds of Ravnica (GRN) Mythic Rare

Combos Browse all

Lazav, the Multifarious

Legendary Creature — Shapeshifter

When Lazav, the Multifarious enters the battlefield, surveil 1. (Look at the top card of your library. You may put it into your graveyard.)

: Lazav, the Multifarious becomes a copy of target creature card in your graveyard with converted mana cost X, except its name is Lazav, the Multifarious, it's legendary in addition to its other types, and it has this ability.

Lazav, the Multifarious Discussion

Murphy77 on Etrata, Game Closer

3 days ago

OK - I have been playing around with similar builds and have a few comments.

1) You want Lazav, the Multifarious to convert to extra Etrata, the Silencer s, in which case it will be flickered or shuffled back into your deck. Why then Blackblade Reforged ?

2) I found that Disinformation Campaign under-performs and slows down the deck. If you play 4 Siren's Ruse you don't need Blink of an Eye , specially if you play some other cards that might speed up the deck.

3) Thief of Sanity can be a total game changer in this deck, allowing you to select your opponent's strongest cards and play then as your own. I like equipping Aether Tunnel to Thief of Sanity to create an unblockable 3/2 creature that does damage each turn and also gives you one of your opponent's cards into your 'second hand' each turn. IMO 3,or 4 Thief of Sanity are a must in your main-board.

My choices would be:

-2 Blackblade Reforged

-2 Disinformation Campaign

-1 Murder

-2 Mission Briefing (pay 2 mana to select an instant to replay -then have 2 less mana to play that card - doesn't work until late in the game)

-1 Blink of an Eye

-1 Thought Erasure

+1 Siren's Ruse

+4 Aether Tunnel

+4 Thief of Sanity

Then have some fun

Building on this theme, I would certainly have Hostage Taker in the side-board. It is a pity that we can't also play Nightveil Specter (from the guild-kit). I would consider the option of being able to drop Blink of an Eye for Curious Obsession to give your unblockable Thief of Sanity even more oomph.

Kogarashi on Does a split card interfere ...

4 weeks ago

Just like Commander/EDH, in a Brawl deck all the cards must fall within the commander's color identity.

A split card like Revival / Revenge has a color identity of WB. It will not work in a Commander or Brawl deck with a commander like Lazav, the Multifarious because the commander's color identity is UB.

DattMennis on Lazav, the Multifarious

1 month ago

You make a solid point that those effects are not dealt with by indestructible or hexproof! As true as a "dies to doomblade" style point is, I don't think the deck can afford to play around every possible effect.

I encourage you to explore Wormfang Manta ! That's what EDH is great for, right? In my build, the card I use to "answer" effects like merciless Eviction or Terminus (other than good ol' Counterspell is Cavern Harpy . Especially given that Lazav is pretty easy to re-cast, non-targeted bounce effects are lower on my list of frights. To retain the ability to threaten an attack on the turn Lazav, the Multifarious comes into play, I use Lightning Greaves and Nether Shadow , although there are several other black creatures w/ haste that can fill that role as well (and don't force you to maintain graveyard order).

Benwatts14 on Sneaky Shenanigans

1 month ago

Diskord I love the deck! I'm working on my own version of Lazav, the Multifarious with kinda the same strategy and your deck list has helped a lot. Awesome build!

thom-le on Kill and Run

1 month ago

You are right, that's a difficult question. I have taken a closer look to this "combo". My idea was that the becoming of a copy does not trigger the entering the battlefield-ability. Neither does the leaving-the-battlefield trigger, if the card does get a copy of another card.

In the rules book, there is quoted:

201.4. Text that refers to the object it’s on by name means just that particular object and not any other objects with that name, regardless of any name changes caused by game effects.

Therefore the trigger that Lazav gains from Chainer would be "When {this object} leaves the battlefield, exile all Nightmares". So If Lazav leaves the battlefield while he is a copy Chainer, Dementia Master, then the triggered ability would definitely trigger. In this case, all created nightmares get exiled.

However, if Lazav, the Multifarious become a different copy, for example of Will-o'-the-Wisp, then he does not have the ability when leaving the battlefield. And last, those reanimated creatures don't get any additional abilities except for becoming black and the creature type nightmare, the "getting exiled"-text is on Chainer.

This is my opinion to this effect, but I'm not clutching on this combo too much and if someone knows it better I'll definitely take a change.

Rhadamanthus on What counts as a card ...

1 month ago

Please use double-square brackets around a card's name to create a reference link. It's the easiest way to make sure everyone understands what's going on with your question, and is especially important for complicated questions: Rona, Disciple of Gix, Lazav, the Multifarious, Deadeye Tracker, Metamorphic Alteration, Trapjaw Tyrant

You'll only be able to cast cards exiled with Rona's printed abilities, not any other abilities.

When the printed text of a card has one or more abilities that exile things, and another ability that references "cards exiled by (this)", then those abilities are "linked" and the "cards exiled by (this)" ability only refers to cards in exile that were put there by those specific exiling abilities. Adding more abilities won't change this relationship. There's currently no way in the game to create new links between abilities that weren't already linked.

Argy on How does Sentinel Totem interact ...

1 month ago

Let's say my Opponent has ten mana available.

They pay X where X equals 5, for Lazav, the Multifarious to become a copy of Doom Whisperer in their Graveyward.

In response I tap and Exile Sentinel Totem.

  1. My guess is that they can pay a further 5 to choose Doom Whisperer again, and that trigger goes on the stack on top of my Sentinel Totem trigger?

    ---

    Similar question.

    My Opponent casts Assassin's Trophy, targetting Doom Whisperer in their Graveyard.

    In response I tap and Exile Sentinel Totem.

  2. Can they choose a different target for Assassin's Trophy, to go on the stack on top of my Sentinel Totem trigger?

  3. If they cast a second Assassin's Trophy will THAT go on top of the stack?

Deadpoo111 on *Primer* A Hellish Crusade [Edgy Specter Tribal]

1 month ago

Hmmm, I can't take out Dread Specter or Specter's Wail just because they are on theme with the deck. I'll definitely replace the lands when I can get my hands on them. Maybe taking out Mercurial Pretender and Bad Moon? I've also started to notice that Lazav, the Multifarious doesn't do that much in game. Maybe I should just cut him?

Load more

Lazav, the Multifarious occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.01%

U/B (Dimir): 0.14%

Standard:

All decks: 0.13%