Artifact Creature — Shapeshifter
Imprint — When Duplicant enters the battlefield, you may exile target nontoken creature. (The exiled card is imprinted on this artifact.)
As long as a card exiled with Duplicant is a creature card, Duplicant has the power, toughness, and creature types of the last creature card exiled with duplicant. It's still a Shapeshifter.
|Have (3)||metalmagic , , gildan_bladeborn|
|Want (5)||Lovet0209 , bCubed , Hollowdude711 , lordbovine , Glasshouse|
Combos Browse all
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Duplicant occurrence in decks from the last year
Latest Decks as Commander
1 month ago
Although Duplicant is removal and can fit into the clone theme, it leaves out the abilities of the creature it gets rid of, so even though it is a solid card, it doesn't fit into the theme of the commanders.
Thanks for the rec though!
1 month ago
I would recommend maybe some of these creatures:
Brood Monitor, Caligo Skin-Witch, Duplicant, Entomber Exarch, Gilded Drake, Palinchron, Phyrexian Ingester, Rune-Scarred Demon, Selvala, Heart of the Wilds, Solemn Simulacrum, Terastodon, Thought-Knot Seer, Vendilion Clique, Venser, Shaper Savant,
As well as these cards that can help abuse ETB affects:
Deadeye Navigator, Followed Footsteps, Mirror Mockery, Rite of Replication, Strionic Resonator, Thassa, Deep-Dwelling,
If you want more suggestions, feel free to look at my deck:
Commander / EDH
61 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER
2 months ago
Per Gatherer Oracle Rulings:
8/7/2020:If a melded permanent or a merged permanent is exiled by Duplicant’s triggered ability, that ability’s controller chooses the relative timestamp of the exiled cards. Duplicant looks at the information of the one with the latest timestamp.
2 months ago
Here is the more detailed answer:
If Duplicant read "Duplicant has the power, toughness, and creature type of the creature card exiled with it" then normally you would actually add everything together - so it would have all creature types and the total power and toughness of the cards combined. This is due to the following rule:
607.3. If, within a pair of linked abilities, one ability refers to a single object as “the exiled card,” “a card exiled with [this card],” or a similar phrase, and the other ability has exiled multiple cards (usually because it was copied), the ability refers to each of the exiled cards. If that ability asks for any information about the exiled card, such as a characteristic or converted mana cost, it gets multiple answers. If these answers are used to determine the value of a variable, the sum of the answers is used. If that ability performs any actions on “the” card, it performs that action on each exiled card. If that ability performs any actions on “a” card, the controller of the ability chooses which card is affected.
However, Duplicant reads, ""Duplicant has the power, toughness, and creature type of the LAST creature card exiled with it." That one word makes a huge difference. This now falls under the following rule:
613.7k If two or more objects would receive a timestamp simultaneously, such as by entering a zone simultaneously or becoming attached simultaneously, their relative timestamps are determined in APNAP order (see rule 101.4). Objects controlled by the active player (or owned by the active player, if they have no controller) have an earlier relative timestamp in the order of that player’s choice, followed by each other player in turn order.
Because Duplicant is explicitly looking at the last card exiled with it, it can only see one card. Using the rule above, the player who controls the mutated creature gets to decide the timestamp of their cards, so they get to decide what the last card exiled with Duplicant is.
That might make things more confusing, but it is the fullness of the answer. Let me know if you have any more questions.
2 months ago
If my opponent has Otrimi, the Ever-Playful mutated on top of Temur Sabertooth and I cast Duplicant targeting otrimi, which card is used to determine the power and toughness of duplicant. Duplicant says the last creature exiled with it, but as far as I can tell both cards are exiled together as one card, then become two separate cards when they land in the exile zone.
3 months ago
When it comes to reanimation targets, you want creatures that function identically to spells. Removal spells, draw spells, etc. That way you can go all-in on the reanimation strategy while also pulling off interaction at the same time. With that in mind...
Solemn Simulacrum for ramp and draw
Etali, Primal Storm because he's just straight value
Flayer of the Hatebound can deal lots of damage in a reanimator style deck
Worldgorger Dragon goes infinite with Animate Dead, Dance of the Dead, and Necromancy very easily. Then you have infinite mana to do stuff with. It's worth the price tag and is a wincon in reanimator cEDH decks.
Phylath, World Sculptor can make tons of tokens and is more budget friendly
Vilis, Broker of Blood is surprisingly budget, and takes over any game
Gray Merchant of Asphodel is designed to be reanimated as many times as possible
Any of the eldrazi that shadow63 mentioned
I'm mostly familiar with mono-red reanimator because of my commander Feldon of the Third Path. He would work great in a reanimator deck, too. Especially one with lots of creature-based shenanigans. Also, Chainer, Nightmare Adept is great at reanimating. He also gives Korvold haste and any creature you have in hand (provided you discard it and cast it from the yard).
4 months ago
Cool deck! You might consider these: Lunar Force (this one is really cool. after its trigger goes on the stack, bounce it to your hand with venser. the opp's spell will still be countered by lunar force. it also prevents counter wars as force will counter everything on the stack while it's out), Reality Acid, Vedalken Mastermind, Erratic Portal, Kefnet's Monument, Sunken Hope, Perplexing Chimera, Mirrormade, Cloudstone Curio, Sigil Tracer, Displace, Ghostly Flicker, Equilibrium, Meteor Golem, Duplicant, Merchant Scroll