Meteor Golem

Meteor Golem

Artifact Creature — Golem

When Meteor Golem enters the battlefield, destroy target nonland permanent an opponent controls.

Browse Alters View at Gatherer

Trade

Have (1) Smokingclays
Want (0)

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Vintage Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Arena Legal
Custom Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Unformat Legal
Highlander Legal
Pioneer Legal
Historic Legal
Limited Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Casual Legal
Modern Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Gladiator Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
2019-10-04 Legal

Meteor Golem occurrence in decks from the last year

Latest Decks as Commander

Meteor Golem Discussion

Neotrup on So I copied a creature …

1 day ago

Mercurial Pretender is entering as the modified Meteor Golem, so yes, it does trigger the ETB ability. I do want to clarify another point of error you made though, you stated that the tokens do have the Progenitor Mimic's upkeep triggered ability. That's why it says "if this creature isn't a token," so that the trigger doesn't actually trigger or do anything. What that means though is that if the original died (it's something your opponents should want to kill), Mercurial Pretender can copy a token to still get the ability, and because it won't be a token itself, it'll start duplicating.

CamraMaan on So I copied a creature …

1 day ago

I'm not a rules expert, but yes, it should copy the Meteor Golem each time, producing the ETB trigger each time a new copy enters the battlefield. As long as it says it is entering the battlefield as a copy, then it will trigger the ETB bonus you are copying. The Mercurial Pretender will also acquire the Progenitor Mimic's copying of the Golem each upkeep.

Mcat1999 on So I copied a creature …

2 days ago

I played a game tonight and we were not sure how to resolve this, so I just opted to copy something different. But, in the event it happens again, I'd really appreciate it if someone could walk me through the interactions here.

I had a Meteor Golem on the field from a prior turn. I ended up copying it with a Progenitor Mimic for some of that sweet upkeep destruction.

The following turn I thought to myself that I should go all-in and copied Progenitor Mimic. I copied P.Mimic because Mimic has the copy text on it, while the original Meteor Golem does not, nor do any of the tokens.

So, using Mercurial Pretender, I copied the original Progenitor Mimic who is copying the original Meteor Golem.

Yeah things are gonna get weird.

So here's the question: When Mercurial Pretender enters the battlefield, it copies Progenitor Mimic who is copying Meteor Golem. Does Mercurial Pretender get Meteor Golem's ETB trigger?

M.Pretender entered and copied. So once copied, it's "already entered". Does that mean it's now too late to get the ETB destruction trigger, or is it ENTER-ING the field AS a Meteor Golem, thus giving it the ETB destruction ability?

The deck I am running has 11 Clone-like creatures in it, so this kind of thing is bound to happen again. Lol.

plakjekaas on why hasn't this card blown …

3 weeks ago

It's hard to get excited over a removal spell in commander. Are there any removal spells that did "blow up" in EDH? In my experience, interaction like this is played because you need to, not because you want to. It's not an exciting new build-around, it's not a way to win the game, it's just a boring card that deals with creatures and/or enchantments that punches you back in the face the more impactful your target was. I reanimate Meteor Golem in my mono black deck for that purpose, which almost always feels better.

Larga on Marchesa, Be Right Back

3 weeks ago

Hey Last_Laugh, thanks for the suggestion! I got some of those cards in my wishlist and I got some of them in my collection (like Feed the Swarm), I'll probably try It in the future. I Just think Meteor Golem is "Better" for my playgroup since there isn't any annoing enchantment for the Moment. It's expensive but he usually do a great job for me with his etb ability. As soon as i see any Rest in Peace I'll probably add feed the swarm :D.

Drana is One of the first card i wanna try tho. I didnt think about her First strike ability when I build this deck! I saw her in action and She Is really powerfull!

I already noticed your list :D i'm glad you saw mine and gave me some tips, thanks a lot!

bjgivesbj on How Can a Scrap Mastery …

4 weeks ago

Test External Combustion Graveyard

Upon discovering Bosh, Iron Golem, I was determined to make him good. I wanted to use his ability as fast as possible, and not have to wait until turn 9. After stumbling upon a red planeswalker, Daretti, Scrap Savant that could yank artifacts out of the graveyard by turn 5, the idea for this strategy began to practically brew itself. However, the planeswalker ability still felt slow, as I could only return one artifact at a time. Later, I decided on the newly found Scrap Mastery to do that job. In the turns leading up to turn 5, I would need to toss as many high CMC artifacts (including Bosh) into the graveyard as possible. Luckily, Red has many efficient cards to do just this: Faithless Looting, Thrill of Possibility, Lightning Axe etc. When it is time to pull the artifacts out of the graveyard, I should be instantly rewarded by enter battlefield effects of cards like Combustible Gearhulk, Meteor Golem, and Myr Battlesphere.

Turn six I can attack with any number of these and then sacrifice one or so to Bosh for the remaining damage.

My question today is threefold:

  1. Should I splash another color to get more synergy off the discarding and more options for artifacts? If so, what cards would you add or substitute (while keeping the deck under $50)?

  2. Have you seen decks like this before? If so, could you provide a link?

  3. How would you feel if you played this deck against your friends? If you had to play against it?

Housegheist on The Court of Locthwain

4 weeks ago

I would cut Meteor Golem for Kokusho, the Evening Star as it triggers Ayara, First of Locthwain's ability and can be an aerial threat by itself... if it dies it goes with a devastating effect...

If not Kokusho, i would rank both Ophiomancer and Ogre Slumlord higher than Meteor Golem because of the same reasons... fit the theme, trigger with you commanders ability (as well as the produced tokens) and supply your board with chump blockers - well, in case of Ophiomancer the token can be your kind of boardcontrol because they come with deathtouch... Noone wants to lose their big timmey creatures to a 1/1 deathtouch token :D

VorelNailo on To Drown the World in Death: Araumi EDH [PRIMER]

1 month ago

Meteor Golem is really the only thing that could work in here to get rid of enchantments, aside from the aforementioned 7+ bounce spells.

Load more