Liliana, Defiant Necromancer

Planeswalker — Liliana

+2: Each player discards a card.

-X: Return target nonlegendary creature card with converted mana cost X from your graveyard to the battlefield.

-8: You get an emblem with "Whenever a creature dies, return it to the battlefield under your control at the beginning of the next end step."

View at Gatherer Browse Alters

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

Ebay

Have (2) perrin515 , ironax
Want (1) KB2187

Recent Decks

Load more

Liliana, Defiant Necromancer Discussion

ksuKaliber on Vampire Deck (Modern)

2 days ago

Gonna go out on a limb and say Liliana of the Veil is just going to be an expensive Doom Blade most of the time due to her not getting her ult off. And without even having Red Madness Vampires or a few grave-based cards (Excluding Driver of the Dead) to take advantage of her +1 Discard effect, it could be hard to even get her to 6 Loyalty without her being targeted. I'd also look at some 1 drops like Guul Draz Vampire, Pulse Tracker, and/or Shadow Alley Denizen so you can have some immediate pressure (Excluding Thoughtseize).

If you really want to include a Planeswalker though, Liliana, Heretical Healer  Flip/Liliana, Defiant Necromancer  Flip or Ob Nixilis of the Black Oath might be good includes. On flip, Liliana gives you a zombie token and her -X ability can return a desired creature back to the field first turn (Plus she can be flipped by any way your creature dies, so sac away). Ob Nixilis -3 can summon a 5/5 flying demon when he comes out, at only the cost of 2 life. These give different effects though, whereas Liliana of the Veil fits a very specific niche of sacriifcing getting around specific abilities and isn't always important. not to mention if they have multiple creatures they can just sac the least important one.

Rhadamanthus on Liliana, Defiant Necromancer and not-standart-creatures

3 weeks ago

Yes, the "not-creatures" will return to the battlefield under your control. If they're double-faced cards, they'll be returned with the front face showing.

A "dies" trigger is a type of "leaves the battlefield" trigger, and LTB triggers use information from the last moment something was on the battlefield to determine if and how they trigger. As long as something is a creature at the moment it dies, it will trigger Liliana, Defiant Necromancer  Flip's emblem. The trigger won't lose track of the object if it's no longer a creature when it hits the graveyard, and the ability isn't written in a way that requires the object to still be a creature when it's time to bring it back.

The default state for a double-faced card is with its front face showing. When a transformed DFC moves from the battlefield to anywhere else, it always switches back to its front face.

Shimatzu on Liliana, Defiant Necromancer and not-standart-creatures

3 weeks ago

So my question is if i have the emblem of Liliana, Defiant Necromancer  Flip in play and change a not-creature card into a creature, for example a Planeswalker like Gideon, Ally of Zendikar and it dies while its an creature, will it return under my control, becouse it was a creature when it left the field or not becouse it is no longer a creature when in the greveyard? Further IF i do get them do I get cards that are transformed in the version that left the field or as the standard-not-transformed card?

BlinkTwice on The Kresh Crew

1 month ago

Cards like Delirium Skeins, Liliana, Defiant Necromancer  Flip, Smallpox, and Ill-Gotten Gains would make for devistatingly effective sideboard pieces for when you need to switch from aggro to control to shutdown combo. Especially if your using those or similar cards with cards such as Waste Not, Necromancer's Stockpile, and Cryptbreaker.

Neotrup on How to use Lili, Heretical ...

3 months ago

The command zone is not the battlefield. Abilities of permanents do not normally function there, unless the either specifically say so (like Derevi, Empyrial Tactician) or effect how you cast spells (like Akroma, Angel of Fury). With Liliana, Heretical Healer  Flip, if she's on the battlefield and another creature you control dies, her ability will trigger and tell you to exile it. You may choose to either exile it or put it in your command zone, but either way it will return to the battlefield as the result of the same ability. Under no circumstance can Liliana, Defiant Necromancer  Flip be in your command zone, as sending it there as a planeswalker will just turn it face up again. Even if it could be a planeswalker there, you would not be able to use any of its abilities, as it wouldn't be a permanent, and you wouldn't be able to cast it, because it wouldn't have a casting cost. Nothing can target a card in the command zone, but the only thing you'd be able to do with it anyways would be cast it, so that's not a huge issue.

If your commander would be put into your hand, you may choose to put it in the command zone instead, but you usually shouldn't. The commander tax only applies based on how many times you've cast it from the command zone, and only applies when casting it from there, so casting it from your hand avoids the tax entirely. If you cast it from your hand nothing special happens, you won't have to send it back the the command zone or anything odd. Command tax acts as a normal additional cost, and standard cost reduction can be applied to it. If you've already cast Geist of Saint Traft twice and control an Urza's Incubator set to spirit and a Conduit of Ruin, casting Traft from the command zone will cost as long as it's your first creature spell for the turn.

Rhadamanthus on Liliana, Defiant Necromancer and Diabolic ...

4 months ago

The creature in your example won't get returned. If an effect is trying to do something to an object after it changes zones, it will look for the object in the first zone it moved to. The effect will lose track of the object if something else causes it to move out of that zone.

In your example, the creature goes to the graveyard and triggers both Diabolic Servitude and the emblem from Liliana, Defiant Necromancer  Flip. The Servitude trigger moves the creature from the graveyard to exile. At the beginning of the next end step, the delayed trigger created by Liliana's trigger will try to find the creature in the graveyard, but it's gone. The delayed trigger will do nothing when it resolves.

603.6c Leaves-the-battlefield abilities trigger when a permanent moves from the battlefield to another zone, or when a phased-in permanent leaves the game because its owner leaves the game. These are written as, but aren't limited to, "When [this object] leaves the battlefield, . . ." or "Whenever [something] is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, . . . ." (See also rule 603.10.) An ability that attempts to do something to the card that left the battlefield checks for it only in the first zone that it went to. An ability that triggers when a card is put into a certain zone "from anywhere" is never treated as a leaves-the battlefield ability, even if an object is put into that zone from the battlefield.

Opifex on Liliana, Defiant Necromancer and Diabolic ...

4 months ago

Does Liliana, Defiant Necromancer  Flip's emblem make a creature that was returned with Diabolic Servitude return at the end of the turn? I know it wouldn't with Whip of Erebos because it replaces the death with exile.

Load more

Latest Commander