Neotrup Deckling

Please login to comment

Note that you cannot redirect combat damage to a planeswalker, but instead declare that you are attacking that planeswalker during the declare attackers step before they decide how to block.

February 21, 2017 10:27 p.m.

Additionally, if your opponent attacks with a 4/4 and you block with a 1/1 wolf with bands with other wolves, a 2/2 wolf, and a 1/4 wall, you can send 3 damage to the wall and 1 to the 2/2 wolf. The damage assignments don't have to be lethal, and you as the defending player get to decide the attackers assignment, as long as you're blocking with a 'bands with other wolves' and another wolf (with or without 'bands with other wolves'), even if there are non wolves you want to block with and give damage to.

February 21, 2017 3:12 p.m.

Said on Totems and Grafts...

#3

Yes. The Oracle text on Grafted Wargear now says "Whenever Grafted Wargear becomes unattached from a permanent, sacrifice that permanent," not "sacrifice that creature," because if the creature stops being a creature (as in your example), the equipment will become unattached and trigger. I actually had this scenario happen at the New Phyrexia pre-release many years ago with a Grafted Exoskeleton (which was printed with the updated wording of "permanent") equipped to a Glint Hawk Idol.

February 20, 2017 1:45 a.m.

Well, she does come back, as long as she did in fact die (and not either survive a Black Sun's Zenith that was too small, or go to exile or the command zone) so great addition to a Marchesa, the Black Rose deck. That said, you'll probably want to bookmark rule 704.7 or this thread because you'll be questioned just about every time you do it.

February 19, 2017 11:02 p.m.

It should also be noted that activating an ability (or casting a spell) to regenerate a creature puts a regeneration shield on it, and needs to be done before the creature would be destroyed (as you did in your scenario). The shield isn't used, and the creature isn't removed from combat, until the time it would be destroyed. Both creatures deal the damage at the same time, and when state-based actions are checked immediately after, the attacking creature is destroyed for being dealt damage from a source with deathtouch, and your Lotleth Troll is regenerated (tapped, removed from combat, and damage removed) for both having a regeneration shield active and having been dealt lethal damage.

February 19, 2017 10:56 p.m.

Well, assuming the Black Sun's Zenith is lethal, of course she'll die, that's what lethal means. The question you want to know is: "Will she come back?" which is not an easy question and requires some research, otherwise you get a hasty "no" because the +1/+1 counters and -1/-1 counters cancel each other, which is true, but not the full story.

704.7. If a state-based action results in a permanent leaving the battlefield at the same time other state-based actions were performed, that permanent's last known information is derived from the game state before any of those state-based actions were performed.

This means that although she technically died with no +1/+1 counters on her, as they were removed at the same time as her dying, her ability still triggers, because it sees she had a +1/+1 counter right before she died. The rules even provide an example very similar to your scenario, but with undying instead, so the result is reversed:

Example: You control Young Wolf, a 1/1 creature with undying, and it has a +1/+1 counter on it. A spell puts three -1/-1 counters on Young Wolf. Before state-based actions are performed, Young Wolf has one +1/+1 counter and three -1/-1 counters on it. After state-based actions are performed, Young Wolf is in the graveyard. When it was last on the battlefield, it had a +1/+1 counter on it, so undying will not trigger.

February 19, 2017 10:01 p.m.

Note that you would need to tape both creatures in order to block with the Peacewalker Colossus as the Toolcraft Exemplar only triggers on your turn and not your opponents'. Also, you are required to tap untapped creatures you control to crew a vehicle, even though the reminder text omits that point.

February 18, 2017 12:09 a.m.

Said on Palace Jailer?...

#8

Although as pointed out Palace Jailer is not legal in Modern, and, if it were, you would still become monarch when you play it, the answer as to what would happen if you weren't monarch when the ability resolves is answered on the gatherer page:

8/23/2016 If youre not the monarch as the second ability resolves, the creature will be exiled until there's a new monarch and that player is one of your opponents. The creature won't immediately return just because an opponent is the monarch.

This situation can come up if your opponent for some reason uses a spell or ability to become monarch after the Jailer's first ability resolves (making you monarch) and before its second ability resolves (exiling the creature).

February 18, 2017 12:02 a.m.

Said on Can I control ......

#9

704.5k If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners' graveyards. This is called the "legend rule."

This is the rule that causes legendary permanents to be put in graveyards, and it specifically calls out that they have to have the same name. This references rule 201.2:

201.2. A card's name is always considered to be the English version of its name, regardless of printed language.

201.2a Two objects have the same name if their names are identical.

201.2b If an object has more than one name, it has the same name as another object if there are one or more names that both objects have in common.

201.2c Two or more objects have different names if there are no names that both objects have in common.

February 17, 2017 2:25 p.m.

Said on Can I control ......

#10

In fact you can even have two creatures that share partial names as long as they're not the exact same, for example you can have Mikaeus, the Lunarch and Mikaeus, the Unhallowed at the same time.

February 17, 2017 12:33 p.m.

Rings of Brighthearth triggers any time you activate an activated ability. Activated abilities are ones that appear as "[cost]:[effect]" such as ", : Put a token that's a copy of the exiled card onto the battlefield. X is the converted mana cost of that card." found on Prototype Portal. If you pay the for Rings of Brighthearth's ability, you will copy the activated ability and get the full effect of it. The copy will resolve first, giving you a token copy of the exiled card, then the original ability will resolve, also giving you a token copy of the exiled card.

February 17, 2017 3:32 a.m.

Planar Cleansing does exactly what it says it does, no more, no less. If a permanent is a land, it will not be destroyed by Planar Cleansing, and its types will not change. It will still be an artifact or creature if it was one before the cleansing, and it will still have any other boosts it received from other spells or abilities, as well as any counter it had previously.

February 17, 2017 3:27 a.m.

Whenever you use an alternate cost for casting a spell, if that alternate cost doesn't have a X in it, then X is 0 for the spell. If you cast an X costed spell (like Protean Hydra) by discarding another card using Dream Halls, X will be 0.

February 16, 2017 7:30 p.m.

Specifically activated abilities have an activation cost which will come before a colon, such as the ":" in Blinking Spirit's ability. Some activated abilities are keyword abilities (like equip) where the colon appears in the reminder text and/or rules document, such as Bone Saw. Triggered abilities may have a cost involved to use them, such as on Akoum Stonewaker, but these still don't trigger Crackdown Construct's ability because they are still triggered abilities and not activated abilities.

February 16, 2017 4:07 p.m.

Also for #2, it's only being targeted by Arc Lightning once (even though you're assigning the full damage to it), so it of course only triggers once. Less intuitive would be Seeds of Strength which would actually target the creature multiple times (if you chose to do so). Even in this case, Heroic only triggers once because the event of casting a spell that targets Satyr Hoplite is only happening once, even though the event of targeting Satyr Hoplite happens three times.

February 15, 2017 7:41 p.m.

As you correctly pointed out, Champion is a triggered ability (well, two triggered abilities really), and as such can be responded to. When the champion ability resolves you will still have the option to exile an elemental you control, but if you do it will never come back, and you certainly won't have to.

February 15, 2017 7:33 p.m.

The second, you could remove a counter from Kraj to deal 1 damage and you'd be unable to remove a counter from an opponent's Triskelion.

201.4b If an ability of an object refers to that object by name, and an object with a different name gains that ability, each instance of the first name in the gained ability that refers to the first object by name should be treated as the second name.

Example: Quicksilver Elemental says, in part, "U: Quicksilver Elemental gains all activated abilities of target creature until end of turn." If it gains an ability that says "G: Regenerate Cudgel Troll," activating that ability will regenerate Quicksilver Elemental, not the Cudgel Troll it gained the ability from.

February 15, 2017 12:40 a.m.

The ability that suspends the token will trigger, because it does go to the graveyard, but ceases to exist before the ability is put on the stack so it doesn't do anything.

February 11, 2017 6:24 p.m.

Said on Can I attack ......

#19

In a standard multiplayer free-for-all, which is how commander is typically played, you may attack multiple players during the same combat. You choose all your attacking creatures at the same time, and declare which player or planeswalker each is attacking. If an ability refers to a defending player it refers only to the player that the creature with the ability is attacking, or the controller of the planeswalker it is attacking.

Some people may play with a variant where you may only attack 1 player per turn or combat, or where you may only attack a specific player (such as whoever is to your left). There are also non free-for-all versions that would change who you can attack drastically.

February 11, 2017 6:20 p.m.

You can only play a land during one of your own main phases when you have an unused land drop. Normally, you're also restricted to the stack being empty, but if the land has flash (specifically if that land is Dryad Arbor and you control Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir) you may play it while there are spells or abilities on the stack.

February 11, 2017 6:09 p.m.

Decks

Marath Populate

Commander / EDH Neotrup

31 VIEWS

Finished Decks 2
Prototype Decks 0
Drafts 0
Avg. deck rating None
T/O Rank 11
Helper Rank 205
Good Card Suggestions 19
Last activity 1 day
Joined 4 months