|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
Combos Browse all
Culling the Weak
As an additional cost to play Culling the Weak, sacrifice a creature.
Add (Black)(Black)(Black)(Black) to your mana pool.
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
Culling the Weak Discussion
6 days ago
6 days ago
Even if Culling the Weak was an enchantment, this wouldn't work.
Activating an ability works the same as casting a spell, you choose the spell's targets before actually paying the spell's cost. You can't target the creature you decide to sacrifice to Recurring Nightmare because it's not in the graveyard yet when you're choosing targets.
6 days ago
Culling the Weak is an instant, not an enchantment.
6 days ago
Now I know Recurring Nightmare is banned in EDH, which is primarily what I play but tell me if I am thinking about this wrong.
So you play Sengir Autocrat, Recurring Nightmare, and Culling the Weak in the game. You sac a serf to trigger Culling the Weak to get 4 mana, sac the Sengir Autocrat to use Recurring Nightmare to return Sengir Autocrat and use the mana to play Recurring Nightmare again. Each iteration adds one floating mana so infinite mana, right?
2 weeks ago
Hey, I'd say lose Culling the Weak for living death. Butcher Ghoul could be Grim Poppet? Last thing I'd suggest is maybe Ill-Gotten Gains because I've found it to be awesome in rakdos for getting back enchantments or wheels. Anyways, l like the deck good job!
3 weeks ago
MrSilk ive never given a non budget version much thought. without adding another color, like green, and getting fetches and shocks. i would say a couple copies of Dark Ritual, Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth, Cabal Coffers, Nykthos, Shrine to Nyx, Crypt Ghast, Magus of the Coffers, Culling the Weak, Skull of Ramos, Bubbling Muck, and maybe some mana rocks.
4 weeks ago
Hello! texaslady's art indeed is very beautiful, not bad alters on your end either!
You're correct that Necropotence does exile cards when I discard them, but one thing to note is that the discarded cards each create a trigger that says "remove this card in your graveyard from the game", instead of exiling it outright via replacement effect. See the following ruling for the Necropotence:
6/8/2016: If the discarded card isnt put into your graveyard (due to an effect such as madness) or leaves your graveyard (perhaps because another effect returned it to your hand), it wont be exiled.
What this means in practice is that despite the popular belief, Necropotence doesn't disturb the combo we are running at all (unless you're trying to go off on your discard phase using it as your discard outlet, that requires changing phases). This is because when you discard Dakmor Salvage to an outlet with a Necropotence in play, you can stack the Gitrog draw trigger on top of the Necro's exiling trigger, dredging the land back to the safety of our hand before the exiling trigger from Necropotence resolves. Same applies for when we discard a Kozilek, Butcher of Truth: putting the shuffle trigger on top of the exiling trigger just shuffles the graveyard back to the library before any exiling occurs.
Finally, if you for some reason did exile any wincon cards, you can just continuously reanimate and sacrifice a Riftsweeper as long as you still have Necromancy and Culling the Weak in the deck aside from the Dakmor loop. This reshuffles any exiled cards back to our library, allowing us to restore even a large amount of pieces back from exile.
Regards on Faith of the Devoted, here's my write-up on how the card works as an optional backup wincon for the deck: