|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
|MTG: Commander (CMD)||Rare|
|Tenth Edition (10E)||Rare|
|Ninth Edition (9ED)||Rare|
|Ninth Edition Foreign Black Border (9EDFBB)||Rare|
|Eighth Edition (8ED)||Rare|
Combos Browse all
Whenever a creature you control dies, each other player sacrifices a creature.
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
|Have (30)||richardmv , Supremespeed , angesoir , killstars , LPrats , gosora , elemental55 , sepheroth119 , CampbellStev , 8vomit , Fairseas , releasethedogs , mziter501 , Mousemke , Azdranax , lorddarkstar , perrin515 , ZombieFood , tangrams , Andre_Whales , Atroxreaper , cklise , Willis1994 , Pelli , rebelteddybear , ironax , HydraOoze , Dimarx , Justinaut , MagnaAura|
|Want (13)||DrLitebur , Dadaman11 , phoere , VampSlayer , Myllyes314 , pskinn01 , Feyd-Rautha , Psycheretic , orzhov_is_relatively_okay819 , Turtlelover73 , mafmatician , darthnuchi , diestoremoval|
Grave Pact Discussion
4 days ago
DemonDragonJ: The Kenriths are likely to be siblings.
Regna and Krav however...
It's highly possible that they're lovers. Anyway, on the two themselves: My hype died down on the Kenriths when I saw this pair. They are glorious together: Regna triggers on each end step. As long as you got some open, you're going to get a lot of cards and more. There's already Grave Pact and its ilk, Soul Sisters, and token-related stuff.
4 days ago
@Rikente, I wouldn't concern myself with adding zombies. My deck only runs Wayward Servant and Gravecrawler and everything works just fine. Wayward Servant's ability is too weak to be used for anything other than an infinite combo. Gravecrawler I wouldn't mess around with unless you're bent on abusing him with Skullclamp or Grave Pact.
If you must add more zombies for value I'd suggest Taurean Mauler, Fleshbag Marauder, Liliana's Elite, Scourge of Nel Toth, and Mirror Entity since those cards are good regardless of if they're in a zombie deck or not. If you want an easy way to recur your Wayward Servant then I suggest adding Volrath's Stronghold or Unholy Grotto as a budget alternative.
6 days ago
I don't know how much direct support elves have in black but you could certainly run some of the usual black token pieces. Elves love making tokens....
I would probably go with Nath of the Gilt-Leaf or Rhys the Exiled. Of the above mentions these are the most elfy and both benefit from cards like Grave Pact and Zulaport Cutthroat. going also gives you Cover of Darkness so that is nice for a token swarm if that is how you choose to build.
6 days ago
Also given you have a lot of repeatable 1 toughness creature production cards I’d recommend Skullclamp for lots of card draw. Also throwing in a Grave Pact can make that synnergy really good as well. Also single card hand disruption can be weak in EDH, I’d recommend more aggressive card discard effects like Mindslicer, Chain of Smog, and Noxious Vapors.
6 days ago
Nath of the Gilt-Leaf - goes forced discard route.
Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord likes big beefy creatures that get sacked for benefit.
Savra, Queen of the Golgari likes sac outlets and mass token generation.
With all elves, ramping is included.
You can go other routes with non elf commanders. Like I have seen a Tasigur, the Golden Fang deck with a elf theme.
6 days ago
Neotrup is correct. Critical to understanding their answer is that it matters what you do specifically when casting Ulamog because you have a choice in the matter.
Scenario 1: Grave Pact triggers resolve before Ulamog's is cast, and thus before Ulamog's cast trigger goes on to the stack
- As you alluded to earlier, mana abilities (formally mana sources) are special in MTG in that they do not use the stack and do not offer a chance to respond. In that, at least, they are "faster" than instant speed
- You sacrifice your Eldrazi tokens, putting mana in to your mana pool and Grave Pact triggers on the stack
- You must now wait for those triggers to resolve to cast Ulamog
- Once the stack is empty you may cast Ulamog, triggering his cast triggered ability, putting it on the stack on top of Ulamog
The advantage here is that you don't need to reveal you're casting Ulamog until you've seen what creatures your opponents are sacrificing. You might want to do this if your opponent has a creature such as Elgaud Shieldmate granting your real target hexproof.
Scenario 2: Grave Pact triggers hit the stack at the same time as Ulamog's cast trigger, and you order them the way you like
- This requires that you announce first that you're casting Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre
- As part of the action of casting the spell, you activate the mana abilities of your Eldrazi tokens, triggering Grave Pact
- Triggers do not go on the stack until a player gets priority
- Priority will not return to you until the process of casting the spell is complete
- When priority has returned to you, you now have X Grave Pact triggers and 1 Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre cast trigger waiting to go on to the stack with Ulamog itself at the bottom of the stack
- You control all of those triggers, you order them how you like
This method requires a more robust understanding of the rules governing the casting of spells than above. The principle is that you don't need to add all necessary mana to your mana pool then announce the spell, you can activate mana abilities as part of the process itself. See below for rules.
116.5 Each time a player would get priority, the game first performs all applicable state-based actions as a single event, then repeats this process until no state-based actions are performed. Then triggered abilities are put on the stack. ... Then the player who would have received priority does so.
601.2 To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell includes proposal of the spell (rules 601.2a–d) and determination and payment of costs (rules 601.2f–h). To cast a spell, a player follows the steps listed below, in order. ...
601.2g If the total cost includes a mana payment, the player then has a chance to activate mana abilities (see rule 605, “Mana Abilities”). Mana abilities must be activated before costs are paid.
605.1a An activated ability is a mana ability if it meets all of the following criteria: it doesn’t have a target, it could add mana to a player’s mana pool when it resolves, and it’s not a loyalty ability. (See rule 606, “Loyalty Abilities.”)
603.2 Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point.
603.3 Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the next time a player would receive priority. ...
601.2i Once the steps described in 601.2a–h are completed, effects that modify the characteristics of the spell as it’s cast are applied, then the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time. If the spell’s controller had priority before casting it, they get priority.
1 week ago
1 week ago
You go to cast Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre. He moves to the stack and you go through the process of casting the spell, which includes sacrificing Eldrazi Scions to activate their mana ability. This triggers Grave Pact, but the trigger has to wait to be put on the stack. You then pay the mana and Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre is considered cast, which triggers it's own ability. State based actions are then checked and triggered abilities are put onto the stack. As you control both triggers you get to put them on the stack in either order and choose targets. Note that if you put Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre on the bottom of the stack targeting a creature, when Grave Pact's trigger resolves they could choose to sacrifice the targeted creature, so you probably want to put Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre's ability on top of the stack.
You can also do this as DankStompy and cdkime are erroneously insisting you must, if you want your opponents to sacrifice their creatures before they know what you're going to cast. You are entirely correct in your understanding that you can sacrifice the eldrazi scions as part of the casting of Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre.