Sudden Spoiling

Legality

Format Legality
Noble Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Casual Legal
Vanguard Legal
Legacy Legal
Archenemy Legal
Planechase Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2014 (C14) Rare
Commander 2013 (C13) Rare
Time Spiral (TSP) Rare

Combos Browse all

Sudden Spoiling

Instant

Split second (As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't play spells or activated abilities that aren't mana abilities.)

Creatures target player controls become 0/2 and lose all abilities until end of turn.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

C14

C13

TSP

Ebay

Recent Decks

Load more

Sudden Spoiling Discussion

Mike94 on Do what you want 'cause a pirate is free

5 days ago

Love the theme dude, very flavorful +1. Still I would try to utilize your commanders ability to a point that it gives you a big advantage.

For example:

Even though these cards are less flavorful, they give your commander more purpose and it also creates a secondary theme to the deck.

I would also go more with a control set up for this deck but that's a matter of opinion I guess. I would definitely run these:

Last note, proliferate is really good with your commander, you can abuse it easily with the cards I've enlisted above.

Still love your theme and the concept, this is only how I would tweak the deck.

Hydronvanquisher on How does Sudden Spoiling affect ...

1 week ago

Got it. Thank you Rhadamanthus. I think my uncertainty stemmed from what appeared to be two slightly different worded responses to my question. I appreciate the clarification.

I think I was initially struggling with the concept of the limitations of Sudden Spoiling and previously resolved actions. However, I understand now.

Thanks all, for your patient answers.

Rhadamanthus on How does Sudden Spoiling affect ...

1 week ago

I'm not sure which part of Blo's response is causing the confusion, but that's not what it says. The point is that in your example attackers have already been declared and there's no way to go back in time and change any of the declarations as a result of your responses.

In your follow-up question: yes, the creature you steal will be a 0/2 with no abilities if you played Sudden Spoiling first. If a resolving spell or ability changes the characteristics of any objects, the set of objects it will affect is locked in at the time it resolves. Changing control of the creatures after Sudden Spoiling resolves won't change which ones it affects.

Hydronvanquisher on How does Sudden Spoiling affect ...

1 week ago

Thanks Bio and Neotrup, I appreciate the quick reply and explanation/confirmation.

So for my second question, it appears that since attackers have been officially declared it won't matter once I take control of Void Winnower and use it to defend against my attacking opponent. He can attack with both even numbered and odd numbered cmc critters; correct? Bio's response indicates my opponent can't attack (but still can with odd numbered cmc creatures) but Neotrup's response indicates my opponent can attack with both even/odd numbered cmc critters. Sorry to belabor this point but it can be a tad confusing.

As a last question on this topic (Question 2), what would happen if I decided to first cast Sudden Spoiling before I declared blockers and then decide to cast an even cmc spell such as Grab the Reins? The Void Winnower and all other creatures my opponent controls become base 0/2 and lose some of their abilities due to the Sudden Spoiling so I'm presuming those effects take precedence and remain in effect once I take control of the Void Winnower. Is that correct? If so, it doesn't sound like a feasible option I'd want to pursue.

Blo on How does Sudden Spoiling affect ...

2 weeks ago

Hiya, thanks for the elaborated question ;).
First scenario, your opponent has two creatures with effects that affect the blocking phase. In order to utilize Sudden Spoiling to block freely, you'd have to cast it before blockers and after attackers. This way you get to block whatever you want and will most likely kill the 0/2. Your question does all this correctly.

Then for your second question, please remember that Void Winnower does nothing to prevent your opponent from attacking with (un)even mana costs. So all that does nothing good. Also remember that creatures with a cost of X in their cost on the battlefield will be counted as X=0 as far as Void Winnower goes, so the Skyrider Elf, no matter the casting cost, will have a converted mana cost of on the battlefield.

If you have more questions, feel free to ask them ;)

Hydronvanquisher on How does Sudden Spoiling affect ...

2 weeks ago

Hi all, I've been reading up on Sudden Spoiling for a little while now and believe I have a basic understanding of it. However, I am still a little confused on how it would play out in the following scenario:

My opponent is the active player. Let's say I have a Zulaport Cutthroat and a Butcher of Malakir already out on the battlefield and my opponent has Void Winnower, Prized Unicorn and a Skyrider Elf on the battlefield.

My opponent decides to attack me with everything. After he declares attackers, and finishes casting any spells, he passes priority. I presume this is where I would either declare blockers or cast an instant and then declare blockers.

Could I cast Sudden Spoiling and then since the spell temporarily negates the static ability of Void Winnower (meaning I can block with an even CMC creature), declare my two creatures as blockers and then proceed?

I'm assuming I can but wanted to confirm I wasn't overlooking anything.

As a new wrinkle, what if during my casting step (prior to declaring blockers and prior to casting Sudden Spoiling) I decide to cast Quicken and then Act of Treason on his Void Winnower? I then decide to cast Sudden Spoiling and let combat proceed. What happens to his already declared Skyrider Elf if the CMC is even? He's declared it as an attacker but now that I have a Void Winnower on the battlefield (albeit temporarily) under my control, is it still an attacker or does it remain tapped but no longer have the ability to proceed to combat damage?

Sorry if this is a bit convoluted but I wanted to make sure I have an understanding. Thanks for any advice/info you can all offer.

gdm1989 on Inalla Steals ALL the Things!

2 weeks ago

Here are a few cards I'd recommend.

Treachery, Grinning Totem, Supreme Inquisitor, Voidmage Prodigy, Willbreaker, Animate Dead, Reanimate, Aura Thief, Clever Impersonator, Sudden Spoiling, Tolarian Entrancer, Puppeteer Clique, Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker

Cards you should remove

Serendib Sorcerer

Olivia Voldaren

Bazaar Trader

Knowledge Exploitation

Gonti, Lord of Luxury

Kari Zev's Expertise

Spelltwine

The reason why is you want to use create wizards and some of these cards don't fit the theme, cost too much mana, or doesn't provide synergy. I suggest running better cards that require less mana yet still do some filthy things.Also run some more ramp and a few more instants and sorceries

TehGrief on Effects Reducing Toughness Vs. Effects ...

3 weeks ago

Neotrup,

To confirm that we are on the same page;

  • Yahenni's Expertise is cast, it resolves; applying Layer 7c's rulings, now holding the timestamp of (a)

  • Upon resolving it triggers free cast of Sudden Spoiling, which resolves; applying Layer 7b's rulings, now holding the timestamp of (b)

But because of the Layer system, even though timestamp (a) was cast earlier, introducing timestamp (b) to the battlefield causes them to be checked in sequential order; thus Applying -3/-3 and 0/2 both simultaneously and separately, causing creatures target player controls to become -3/-2 until end of turn.

After reading the comprehensive rules article (https://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/layer-system-2009-11-05) I was able to understand your answer a little better and feel more confident using rules like this myself.

I suppose part of me didn't want to believe it, it seems overwhelmingly strong in certain situations, especially against newer players who might not know about the layer system.

If a player were to cast Holy Light at the start of the turn, most players would let it resolve due to it being a pathetically small effect (Green players would probably laugh).

However, if a player were to cast Humility at the end of their turn... all of their opponents creatures would die (if they had no other CDA's). This alone could catch new and old players alike off-guard.

However, rules are rules.

Thank you for your help, honestly.

Load more