|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Printings View all
Combos Browse all
Counter target spell unless its controller pays for each card in your graveyard.
Madness (If you discard this card, you may cast it for its madness cost instead of putting it into your graveyard.)
Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts
Circular Logic Discussion
2 months ago
You should really try getting some value out of Baral's discard ability. Frantic Search is great since it will cost 1 less making it gain you a mana while digging you deeper it also combos with High Tide effects, Broken Concentration, Circular Logic, Obsessive Search, Welcome to the Fold, Nagging Thoughts, and Curator of Mysteries all let you cash in on discarding cards.
2 months ago
sonnet666 - First of all, I know how to format. Don't be Condescending. Just because I don't post here often doesn't mean I'm new to Tappedout or this thread. I just don't post much because there's only so many ways you can say "No, your pet deck should not be moved up a tier just because you beat a tier 1 deck one time."
Second, I really don't care if people don't know what cards are. Most of the time cards are referred to by nickname (Bob, Mike, Cancer, etc.), so I don't see the big deal in not linking cards if someone doesn't know offhand what the card is or does. You have to give me some credit though, at least I didn't just call the combo "Breakfast".
Third, you're sort of correct in that it wasn't the best pile available when I posted it (I never said it was THE best to begin with, only one of the best, but whatever). As merrowMania pointed out, I made a Miscalculation and thought that Abolisher+Nomads+Cephalid was 6 mana. Whoops. However, this leads to an even stronger pile of Abolisher+Nomads+Cephalid+Hapless Researcher+Dryad Arbor. This is a much better pile since after milling yourself you can just Reanimate Lab Maniac directly, which Negates the need for Angel. You would probably run angel in that deck anyway so you could go Buried Alive for Hermit Druid, Lab Man, and Angel, but that's besides the point. I'm glad that you at least recognized that the key to the pile is Grand Abolisher. Being able to prevent interaction is a core component of any combo, and Abolisher beats out everything when it comes to preventing interaction. This is also a combo that can fit very easily into a Hermit Druid shell since many hermit druid decks run a similar win condition anyway.
Your final point is essentially that combo components are useless outside of a combo, and I don't know what to say to that. The Circular Logic is so severe here that I'm Stunned and I don't really know how to Contradict it. It's like saying that The Chain Veil is useless outside of combo, so you shouldn't run it in Teferi. As far as drawing a combo piece goes, you can cast spells from your hand if you have the mana to play them. In fact, for non-Yidris, non-Food Chain decks, over 95% of all spells are cast from the hand. There are a lot of other criticisms of the pile you could have brought up - you can't use it to win on your opponent's end step, it folds to an unanswered Cursed Totem, Rest In Peace, Grafdigger's Cage, etc. - but instead you brought up the weakest one.
6 months ago
Blue also has the added benefit of having counterspells. I'd love to fit 4 Circular Logic in there, but they're a bit expensive.
Other than red, what do you think of the reanimation targets?
I added the Sidisi, Undead Vizier + Ever After combo, but Sidisi, Undead Vizier is expensive penny-wise, and Ever After is expensive mana-wise.
11 months ago
+1 this is probably the best sidisi deck I have seen. My only contribution would be to consider Circular Logic or maybe Swan Song but I can't help but throw a counter in if I'm playing blue. Good stuff!
1 year ago
1 year ago
miracle, sorry to butt in here but no, that would not work. Unfortunately, the madness trigger would immediately go on the stack so it would only be able to counter spells already on the stack under Forbid (or you can just counter your own Forbid for super trollery).
As you can see, the other OP Spell would resolve before your madness trigger would have a chance to resolve.
I hope that made sense :P
1 year ago
At least one instance like that comes up each time my group plays EDH (something crazy), but I'm too lazy to look up an actual ruling right now :P