Alesha, Who Smiles at Death

Alesha, Who Smiles at Death

Legendary Creature — Human Warrior

First strike

Whenever Alesha, Who Smiles at Death attacks, you may pay . If you do, return target creature card with power 2 or less from your graveyard to the battlefield tapped and attacking.

Browse Alters

Trade

Have (1) GeminiSpartanX
Want (3) Cactusman , Tigerstyle , somebeach

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Commander 2020 (C20) Rare
Mystery Booster (MYS1) Rare
Commander 2016 (C16) Rare
Fate Reforged (FRF) Rare

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Vintage Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Highlander Legal
Pioneer Legal
Legacy Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Casual Legal
Leviathan Legal
Magic Duels Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Modern Legal
Unformat Legal
Frontier Legal

Alesha, Who Smiles at Death occurrence in decks from the last year

Tiny Leaders:

All decks: None%

RBW (Mardu): None%

Canadian Highlander:

All decks: None%

RBW (Mardu): None%

BRGW: None%

Unknown:

All decks: None%

BRGW: None%

Modern:

All decks: None%

Red: None%

RG (Gruul): None%

RW (Boros): None%

RGW (Naya): None%

RBW (Mardu): None%

BRGW: None%

Leviathan:

All decks: None%

RBW (Mardu): None%

Legacy:

All decks: None%

White: None%

Rakdos: None%

RW (Boros): None%

Vintage:

All decks: None%

RW (Boros): None%

Duel Commander:

All decks: None%

RBW (Mardu): None%

Unformat:

All decks: None%

RW (Boros): None%

Casual:

All decks: None%

Rakdos: None%

UR (Izzet): None%

BRG (Jund): None%

RBW (Mardu): None%

UBRG: None%

Commander / EDH:

All decks: None%

Rakdos: None%

RW (Boros): None%

WB (Orzhov): None%

RGW (Naya): None%

BRG (Jund): None%

RUG (Temur): None%

RBW (Mardu): None%

BRGW: None%

RGWU: None%

GWUB: None%

Alesha, Who Smiles at Death Discussion

cwldarling on Mirri, Weatherlight Duelist vs Alesha, ...

2 weeks ago

Mirri, Weatherlight Duelist prevents more than one creature from attacking her controller when she is tapped. Alesha, Who Smiles at Death when she attacks brings another creature out tapped and attacking. Can that additional creature attack Mirri’s controller if Alesha is already doing so?

multimedia on Call the Army

2 weeks ago

Hey, good start upgrading the precon on a budget.

28 lands is not enough land for an avg. CMC of 3.4 which is high. I recommend 36 lands and adding Knight of the White Orchid. First strike with a two drop Human is good with +2 pump from Jirina. You want to take more advantage of Jirina who's a four drop anthem effect for Humans. This means you want to consistently be able to play more impactful one drops (Champion of the Parish)/two drops (Thalia's Lieutenant)/three drops (Frontline Medic) to attack with the turn you play Jirina.

Tribal creature strategies in Commander fold to board wipes. To combat this play more repeatable instant speed indestructible protection (Etchings of the Chosen), creature recursion (Phyrexian Reclamation), reanimation (Alesha, Who Smiles at Death) and noncreature repeatable sources of Humans (Outlaws' Merriment).


Budget lands to consider adding:

Cards to consider cutting to add more lands and other suggestions:

Would you like more help?

Good luck with your deck.

StopShot on Help me foolproof this infinite ...

3 weeks ago

@SynergyBuild, Ah well I wanted to leave what kind of deck this would be open-ended so that if it couldn't fit well in my deck it may still serve someone else's deck better. What strikes me about this combo is you could play Ashnod's Altar for , Seasoned Pyromancer for and if you produce two tokens you can cast Nim Deathmantle practically for and still have enough resources to initiate the combo without any additional mana expenditures meaning the combo has the capability to be used with as little as mana total. I feel like this is really low to the ground and may find use in either Legacy (or Modern if Ashnod's Altar is ever printed into that format). Though I haven't played in the Legacy format so perhaps that remark is a bit of a stretch and I'm sure there's loads of reasons to doubt Ashnod's Altar will ever end up in Modern, but having this sort of open-ended conversation I think can serve a lot of good even if its for commander or a different format.

As for my deck I am running Alesha, Who Smiles at Death so . So that does happen to bar me from great suggestions such as Unlife's Thassa's Oracle/Laboratory Maniac suggestion or RambIe's Abundance suggestion. I do want to thank both for bringing everyone's attention to those cards. Also due to the constraints of my deck I want to not run creatures with power 3 or greater and I don't want to run cards with CMC 5 or greater (if I can help it). That said I do want to thank PhotogenicParasympathetic for their card suggestion of Bone Miser and RambIe's suggestion to use Garna, the Bloodflame. Even if these cards don't fit into the constraints of my deck it is wonderful that they were brought up as I feel they actually do the combo a lot of good if you can run them.

I believe the cards suggested that help me the most for my deck are RambIe's suggestion of Shadow of the Grave and most importantly dingusdingo's suggestion to use Library of Leng which I am absolutely kicking myself for, for not being able to think of it around the time I made this thread. Library of Leng as I see it practically answers holes A and B and is so incredibly cheap to cast on top of that. I'm kicking myself because before coming up with this combo I was trying to come up with a two card draw engine using the library as one of the pieces.

I also want to thank dingusdingo and enpc for better explaining how this combo is non-deterministic which better exemplifies why holes A and B are so important to fill. It's also why Library of Leng was such a critical card to be noted as it turns the combo from undeterministic to deterministic.

That all being said however Library of Leng well may bring up a very hazy rules interaction into question that I feel I must have to consult a judge on. If you go onto the Gatherer page for Library of Leng and check the card rulings below on that page it specifies: "Since the card goes directly to the library, the card is not revealed unless the spell or ability requiring the discard specifically says it is."

Because of this ruling the cards discarded aren't revealed, however Seasoned Pyromancer says you can only create tokens based on what cards were discarded. So would this interaction mean that I could discard two land cards, not reveal the fact they are two land cards due to Library of Leng's ruling and then claim the two cards I discarded were actually nonland cards just to produce the tokens? Obviously that scenario wouldn't work, but this begs the question how does this work? Remember the card ruling says the cards aren't revealed unless an effect specifically says to reveal the discarded card and no where does Seasoned Pyromancer say the discarded cards must be revealed because typically the contents of any player's graveyard is common knowledge to everyone. So this effect would only apply to cards such as Nephalia Academy, Noxious Vapors, Cabal Therapy, etc. where reveal is explicitly stated. But I might be wildly misinterpreting this effect as it could also be abusive with cards that have transmute or Seismic Assault where what you discard matters except the rulings for Library of Leng also states: "You can’t use the Library of Leng ability to place a discarded card on top of your library when you discard a card as a cost, because costs aren’t effects." Transmute and Seismic Assault use the discarded card as a cost, but Seasoned Pyromancer doesn't so is this a blind spot in the rules?

But excluding what I just mentioned there Library of Leng is probably the best answer for countering Holes A and B so far, but it's still not a 100% perfect solution. There's always the risk of running into a massive land block before drawing into it and there's also the concern of if your deck has an odd number of cards, then if its the bottom card of your library you'd need some additional effect to draw into it as drawing two cards at a time would cause you to deck out and lose the game before you could even cast it. While I'm fully aware both effects are still very unlikely they do exist and that probability is a non-zero entity even if for it being very unlikely.

One card I'm already running in my deck that may help mitigate one of those issues however is Conjurer's Bauble which I can use to guarantee the bottom card of my library won't be the Library of Leng. And if I choose not to put a card on the bottom of my library, that can trip can be used to turn a library with an odd number of cards in it into a library with an even number of cards in it. It's also helpful in the event I mill either it or Elixir of Immortality into my graveyard whether by some dredge effect or through milling caused by an opponent from earlier in the game. I thought I'd bring everyone's attention to Conjurer's Bauble as the cheap cost and can trip makes it an accessory to this combo that won't be a dead draw in the event you don't have the combo out.

SynergyBuild on enpc

1 month ago

Sadly, you need to get to 6 power for Sisay, since Sisay, Weatherlight Captain says 'costs less than' rather than 'equal to or less than.'

No worries, the use of Jegantha as a companion is it lets you get Sisay to 4 power on it's own, which allows the whole combo to occur with no extra pieces. Yes 11 mana is a ton, but 3-3-5 isn't too bad, when it's a 5 color, 0 card combo, you can work with anything in deck. Radha while not bad for the deck, will often be worse than other ramp pieces like Kinnan, Bonder Prodigy, or just normal ramp.

The actual legends in more competitive Sisay lists (according to lists I've seen) are Lavinia, Azorius Renegade, Anafenza, the Foremost, Gaddock Teeg, Tymna the Weaver, Thrasios, Triton Hero, Kinnan, Bonder Prodigy, Teferi, Time Raveler, Oko, Thief of Crowns, Kethis, the Hidden Hand, Dack Fayden, Aminatou, the Fateshifter, The Chain Veil, Umezawa's Jitte, Derevi, Empyrial Tactician/Najeela, the Blade-Blossom (and Samut, Voice of Dissent optionally for this combo).

Optionally (on EDHREC) Helm of the Host, Hammer of Nazahn, Reki, the History of Kamigawa, Alesha, Who Smiles at Death, Domri, Anarch of Bolas, Teferi, Hero of Dominaria, Shalai, Voice of Plenty, Kambal, Consul of Allocation, Jhoira, Weatherlight Captain, Saffi Eriksdotter, Hapatra, Vizier of Poisons, Yisan, the Wanderer Bard, Captain Sisay, Brago, King Eternal, Kunoros, Hound of Athreos, Ashiok, Dream Render/Narset, Parter of Veils/Teferi, Master of Time/Linvala, Keeper of Silence (non-Jegantha variations)

Sadly, while Radha seems okay? Tutoring it is really bad, since you could fetch value pieces like Wrenn and Six, or better ramp like Kinnan, Bonder Prodigy, and I doubt you need an extra green if you can cast Sisay and activate her, and she also already needs to have a 1 color legend out. If you are looking to use Radha for pumping Sisay, run more of the optional legends. Idk, I could be wrong but I don't see it being popular, I hope you have the best of luck with it, it seems pretty fun for the deck on terms of a flavor include!

jakeyuki12 on Boros Controller

1 month ago

Hiya!

Alesha, Who Smiles at Death is not legal to include in a Boros deck as it includes a black mana symbol, so its color identity is Mardu.

Azdranax on Do these two cards permanently ...

1 month ago

Add Tidehollow Sculler and you can exile cards from players hands as well. These are pretty common combos with Alesha, Who Smiles at Death decks.

Suns_Champion on Split Second #2: Color Cropping ...

1 month ago

TypicalTimmy "Just use green for some land tutors and focus the rest into Mardu. She runs extremely fun like that."

ahhh but that wouldn't be very Mardu, would it? I think with Color Cropping, you have to be 100% in or don't do it. What's the point of restricting your colors if you're going to "cheat" with the best cards?

That said, I totally "cheat" with Hybrid mana, like Alesha, Who Smiles at Death in Boros Najeela and Lore Drakkis in Boros Vadrok. Nobody is perfect! But I consider those as being part of the Color Cropping.

Mj3913 yeah like I said, I came up with the idea on my own, but so had other people before and after me. It's a great idea no matter how you discover it, and I'm always amazed to see people's creativity!

I saw a Mono-White Yorion... but it was for standard or modern. In those formats, it doesn't seem like as big of a deal because decks aren't tied around the color identity of a legendary creature. In EDH, it feels like breaking the rules without actually cheating, which is the best feeling ever.

StopShot on Can I just bring everyone's ...

2 months ago

Cards: Crypt Rats + Shadowspear

Normally when you pay any amount of mana into Crypt Rats ability it will deal enough damage to kill itself in the process. With Shadowspear it gains +1 toughness and lifelink. So if you really wanted to every turn you can pay just without it dying. By doing so you can gain life equal to the number of opponents + the number of creatures on the battlefield every single turn - not just on your turns; every turn. If you're playing a four player game you are guaranteed to always gain 4 or more life every turn just by adding your 3 opponents + the Crypt Rats itself. That's a guaranteed 16+ life gain between your last turn and your next turn.

Of course that damage multiplier gets absurd if you decide to boardwipe with it and being you're in black, reanimation should be easy. It's already a strat I'm planning to run in my Alesha, Who Smiles at Death commander deck, but I'm sure this works great in a lot of other commander decks as well.

I'm hoping to get feedback on what other people think of this synergy. I'd argue both cards are already great just by themselves if your deck has good black mana fixing for the Crypt Rats as its a Rolling Earthquake on a stick. If you're in black you should also have all the black tutors you could want and if your commander's color identity extends into white you also get more equipment tutors too. Thoughts?

Load more