Oath of Teferi

Legality

Format Legality
Pre-release Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Custom Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Arena Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Standard Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Brawl Legal
Frontier Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Dominaria (DOM) Rare

Combos Browse all

Oath of Teferi

Legendary Enchantment

When Oath of Teferi enters the battlefield, exile another target permanent you control. Return it to the battlefield under its owner's control at the beginning of the next end step.

You may activate the loyalty abilities of planeswalkers you control twice each turn rather than only once.

Latest as Commander

EDH 1 / 2

Oath of Teferi Discussion

ToshiroU on Aminatou Staxshifter (Esper Stax Primer)

1 week ago

Hey SynergyBuild Dango and IAmTheWraith,

I would like to share some thoughts on your decklists with u. I currently brew my own version of Aminatou Stax and there are some card choices I would like to discuss with you.

First of all I wanna thank you for uploading your lists and sharing this with the community! I'm actually quite excited for your answers :-)

Regarding Aminatou, what inspired me to brew Esper Stax are the new cards from War of the Spark. I got that Blood Pod Brew for some time already and consider myself to be experienced with that deck and with stax in general. I can't afford cards like Twister, Duals, Chains of Mephistopheles or Tabernacle, so I brew without these. My playgroup in Germany is still quite competitive, with all the major T1 Decks around. At our table there is actually currently one deck that warps the meta around it and that is Shuffle Hulk, so I wanna focus on the interaction with that type of deck.

I would like to talk about your / my wincondition. I wonder, if Rings of Brighthearth , Basalt Monolith and Goblin Cannon as the main plan are really better than Paradox Engine and Isochron Scepter / Dramatic Reversal ? Especially that Goblin Cannon annoys me...

You'd win with Codex Shredder or Blind Obedience , which both fit in nicely anyway. One could add cards to draw the own deck like Stroke of Genius and play like Scroll Rack + Land Tax or maybe even the new Urza, Lord High Artificer instead of Clock of Omens .

Sure, cards like Rule of Law , Arcane Laboratory or Damping Sphere hinder the scepter-plan, but these won't do anything against Shuffle Hulk anyway. On the other hand, Rings + Basalt also win with Ashiok, Dream Render or Narset, Parter of Veils which u probably wanna play...

I myself am not sure about that question. White-Blue control decks always win slowly and that has honestly been the biggest issue for them in cEDH. Thrasios / Thymna can easily grind out a softlock and win with one tutor into Ad Naus or combo out through a Paradox Engine.

Following up I would like to know your opinion on these cards:

And last but not least I am interested in your experiences with the discard package ( Liliana of the Veil , Bottomless Pit , Oppression ). When playtesting it felt like these cards create some kind of topdeck-mode for each play on the table. Still, I consider Aminatou not in the strongest position in this kind of situation against other Generals Thrasios / Thymna, Najeela, Zur, or any commander that tutors or creates value... To me it always felt best when I was able to flicker some value outlet (Creature or Planeswalker) to dig for answers or protect my stax piece(s)...

:-) I look forward to your reply! Ah and I'd like to mention a very funcard from playtesting, probably not very competitive but it was very fun to do the moves with Oath of Teferi + Aminatou ;-)

BMHKain on Aminatou's ETB Matrix Killer (Need ...

2 weeks ago



Well, now that this Forum is online & fully operational, I can finally do, well... this.

This deck is made w/ many infinite combos in mind:

Liliana Vess + Aminatou, the Fateshifter + Felidar Guardian + Oath of Teferi = Infinite Tutors.

Aminatou + Reality Acid = I exile everything you have.

Eldrazi Displacer + any ETB creature effect = (Depends on the effect) (Add Panharmonicon = x2.)

Archaeomancer & Hanna, Ship's Navigator = "What you destroy, I'll show you how to rebuild it; even on a submolecular level; you damned elves!"

Basalt Monolith + Rings of Brighthearth

This could go on for so long, but my first question is obvious;

  1. Does the Static Abilities of Ashiok, Dream Render & Teferi, Time Raveler interract?

  2. This is practically an ETB based deck; but are there other things worth cutting or replacing? & NO. I'm not replacing Echo of Eons w/ Timetwister ; buying that is like forcing a company you work with to BANKRUPTCY.

  3. What is the quintessential Signature Spell for ETB effects in Esper?

  4. I'm really missing out on a lot of things; card draw most notably. That said; I ask again, what would you replace from the 58?

I could go on about this, but this should suffice for now. Thanks for the help, if any, & I'll be working on other things now... :)

Gidgetimer on Does blinking an Oath of ...

3 weeks ago

Please link all cards in your question using double brackets.

Oath of Teferi

Aminatou, the Fateshifter

No, Oath of Teferi says you may activate abilities of planeswalkers twice each turn. If you have already used a loyalty ability twice, you do not get to activate one again. Even if the second activation were through something like The Chain Veil giving you an extra activation (that you used) before you played the Oath of Teferi . You already used the activation from the Chain Veil and have already activated abilities twice. Therefore no more activations.

Kogarashi on Does blinking an Oath of ...

3 weeks ago

Please use double square brackets to link cards so it's easier to grasp the question right away, like so:

[[Oath of Teferi]], [[Aminatou, the Fateshifter]]

Oath of Teferi , Aminatou, the Fateshifter

No, this won't work. The ability specifically says "You may activate the loyalty abilities of planeswalkers you control twice each turn rather than only once." Since it says "twice," it doesn't matter if you blink it, cast a second Oath of Teferi , copy it somehow, etc. You can still only activate abilities twice.

If it instead read "you may activate loyalty abilities an additional time this turn," then you would be able to pull shenanigans like this.

From the Gatherer rulings:

"If you somehow control more than one Oath of Teferi, you won’t be able to activate abilities of planeswalkers you control more than twice in one turn. (2018-04-27)"

Dischord on Aminatou's Scooby Gang

3 weeks ago

Aminatou's -1 can't target herself. "Exile another target permanent you own." You also can't blink Oath of Teferi with Aminatou's -1, since Oath of Teferi only returns it at the next end step.

You would need to combo her with Felidar Guardian or the Spark Double you already run in the deck, along with Oath of Teferi to infinitely bounce something else already on the board that you own. You should also run Altar of the Brood for the infinite ETB combo!

Nemesis on Estrid the Masked (Enchantress) EDH - need cuts

3 weeks ago

Heyo! Sorry if I suggest something that's actually super important, I'm not exactly an expert on this deck. That being said, here are my suggested cuts:

Tezzeret, Artifice Master - I don't see any artifacts in the deck, so his 0 will only draw you 1 card unless you +1 him 3 times.

Captain Sisay - I only see 5 total legendaries and none of them seem like something you need to get. She doesn't seem worth it in this deck.

Myth Realized - This seems like a fun card, but it also doesn't seem to go with your strategy since it's just a beater.

Oath of Teferi - I'm not really a huge fan of any of the planeswalkers aside from Garruk here, and since you don't really have that many to begin with, I'd say this is cut-able.

Now, to make your life a little more difficult, have you considered Collective Restraint as another pillow fort option? Also, there is a new land coming out in Modern Horizons that seems like it'd be right up this deck's alley, called Hall of Heliod's Generosity .

Evry1sfavteddy on Amina

4 weeks ago

A fellow mtg player made an argument today that Aminatou, the Fateshifter along with Oath of Teferi and Spark Double does not allow you to infinitely loop Aminatou, the Fateshifter activations. He claims a judge told him this, can a judge confirm or deny this claim so we can put this argument to rest?

Load more

Oath of Teferi occurrence in decks from the last year

Commander / EDH:

All decks: 0.03%