Combat Calligrapher

Combat Calligrapher

Creature — Bird Cleric

Flying

Inklings can't attack you or planeswalkers you control.

Whenever a player attacks one of your opponents, that attacking player creates a tapped 2/1 white and black Inkling creature token with flying that's attacking that opponent.

Latest Decks as Commander

Combat Calligrapher Discussion

depthcharge2 on Grand Arbiter Augustin IV Primer

4 months ago

Combat Calligrapher also encourages infighting among your opponents which is some I think your deck would value greatly.

Gleeock on Any group hug experts here?

4 months ago

Another way to look at group hug is the gifting slug/hug hybrid... The type I usually play. I have Sidar Kondo of Jamuraa & Ludevic, Necro-Alchemist deck that will gift & goad and empower everyone a little more aggressively & tosses some of the pillow options. Includes fun stuff like: Oath of Druids , Crescendo of War , Oath of Lieges , Marisi, Breaker of the Coil , Nils, Discipline Enforcer , Combat Calligrapher , Shiny Impetus , Curse of Verbosity ... IMO these more aggressive effects are more worthwile than any Ghostly Prison effect. It is a more aggressive way to hose control decks at times.

[email protected]_only on Gahiji Pillow Fort

5 months ago

glad someone else thought of this. two new-ish cards you might consider: Combat Calligrapher & Frontier Warmonger provide incentives for attacking anyone except you.

Named_Tawyny on Multiple card:Combat Calligrapher

6 months ago

Strixhaven release notes came out on Friday. Strixhaven Release Notes

There's no specific rulings on Combat Calligrapher because there's nothing new there.

If somebody attacks multiple of your opponents, they get multiple inklings - we can see this two ways. i) it says 'one of your opponents', not 'one or more'. And ii) later in the ability it specifies '...attacking that opponent' so there's no choice of which opponent involved.

Tyrant-Thanatos on Multiple card:Combat Calligrapher

6 months ago

There's no release notes or rulings for Strix or C21 yet, and this is a new effect formatting, so take all this with a grain of salt, but based on prior similar effects:

Combat Calligrapher triggers whenever a player attacks "one" of your opponents, not "one or more", and would therefor, I believe, trigger separately for each opponent attacked. Thus, Player C would get 12 Inklings, 6 attacking Player D, and 6 attacking player E.

I'm not 100% sure on this though, and don't really have much in the way of precedent to cite, since again the wording on this trigger is new.

runelord on Multiple card:Combat Calligrapher

6 months ago

it's a 5 player edh game

player A: has one Combat Calligrapher

player B: has 5 Combat Calligrapher he used a kicked Rite of Replication

player C: swings one creature at player D and one creature at player E

how many inklings does player C get and who are they attacking?

My understanding is there will be six individual trigges that create one inkling each. Player C may choose for each trigger whether the inkling is attacking player D or E.