Muldrotha, the Gravetide
Legendary Creature — Elemental Avatar
During each of your turns, you may play up to one permanent card of each permanent type from your graveyard. (If a card has multiple permanent types, choose one as you play it.)
|Have (3)||Forkbeard , Wythre ,|
Combos Browse all
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Muldrotha, the Gravetide occurrence in decks from the last year
Recommendations View more recommendations
Latest Decks as Commander
Muldrotha, the Gravetide Discussion
3 weeks ago
Your commander choice and choice in win condition/strategy will carry you further dime for dime than even the most cost efficient additions to your 99. So if you want to take games off veteran players that are more invested than you, you should choose the commander options that win games nearly on their own.
Commanders like Omnath, Locus of Rage and Muldrotha, the Gravetide are terrors at true casual tables because there is no such thing as a bad Omnath, Locus of Rage deck. A deck of literally 50 mountains and 50 forests can win games at casual tables with this commander.
I'd say go ahead and invest into Mana Crypt if you can though. It probably isn't going to get reprinted again at the rate it was this year. I bought 5 or 6 this year because I honestly think they're just going to increase.
3 weeks ago
Creature - Bear
When Naturalized Bears enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice it. If you do, destroy target artifact or enchantment.
It's Naturalize at sorcery speed, or Grizzly Bears - your choice. This would be a common, and might be more popular than Reclamation Sage for Muldrotha, the Gravetide decks or other green decks that need creatures to do the work of removal spells. Previously to the sage, Acidic Slime was the go-to creature for doing these effects, but it was expensive to cast and clunky. That being said, slime is still a great card and can often be a two for one with its deathtouch.
Create a niche, common card that innovates on an effect that is badly needed. For example, land ramp in red or blue.
1 month ago
Appreciate it! I remembered seeing some confusion over blinking Muldrotha, the Gravetide and used the same mechanic to try and do some stuff...
1 month ago
I had considered Thrun, the Last Troll but I had decided to run Troll Ascetic because it had a lower CMC.and I didn't think being uncounterable was worth the additional . I had considered Skithiryx, the Blight Dragon but it was fairly expensive at the time but I'll may have to reconsider it after the reprint. I like the interaction of Undying and mutate but I prefer the utility of Malakir Rebirth Flip.
I have Muldrotha, the Gravetide in this deck and it never disappoints.
1 month ago
As a general rule with Magic the Gathering, the trick with interpreting rules is that a card never does more than exactly what it says, in the order that it says. So since there is nothing on Muldrotha, the Gravetide that states that you can play additional lands, then there should be no reason to think that you can (and I know it's not you holding this opinion).
In addtion to that (and I can't remember where I saw this but it may have been one of the Judge's blogs or something) but in almost every circumstance, "can't" will overule "can". Have a Felidar Sovereign and 50 life but your opponent has a Platinum Angel in play? Too bad, because you can't win the game.
Over my time playing MtG I have seen quite a few interesting interpreations of hte rules where people have made some truely bizarre connections because they assumed a card did more than it did. And a decent number of these could simply be resolved by simply reading the card.
1 month ago
Even Muldrotha, the Gravetide's oracle notes remind players about timing permissions. This is a few lines above the one the OP listed:
11/10/2020 You must follow the normal timing permissions and restrictions of the cards you play from your graveyard. For example, you can’t use Muldrotha to play a land if you don’t have an available land play or to cast a planeswalker spell during your end step.
On the other hand, if you have a Fastbond in play and start blinking Muldrotha you can whip up a lot of land depending on your life total.
1 month ago
Muldrotha, the Gravetide is a popular card in Commander because it lets you play stuff from the graveyard. However, there appears to be some confusion about playing lands from the graveyard. I want to address this because it's all over the place on Muldrotha deck lists. It stems from this Oracle ruling:
"If you play a card from your graveyard and then have a new Muldrotha come under your control in the same turn, you may play another land or spell of that type from your graveyard that turn."
This seems to contradict Rule 305.2b. I've copied the relevant rules for lands below. There seems to be a nonbo suggested by the community of getting additional land plays by flickering or re-playing Muldrotha.
The nonbo is supposed to work like this: Cast Muldrotha, and then cast Kaya's Ghostform on it. Sacrifice Muldrotha to a sacrifice outlet, e.g. Phyrexian Altar. Kaya's Ghostform brings Muldrotha back from the graveyard, and the new copy allows you to cast an enchantment from your graveyard. Cast Kaya's Ghostform on Muldrotha and repeat. Every cycle, you can also cast another permanent spell of each type and play another land. I believe the ruling is misinterpreted to give you extra land plays. According to the ruling, and without reading Rule 305.2b, you're supposed to be able to play every land in your graveyard in one turn. I believe that this not possible because you only have one land play available each turn, unless you have another land play available by some other means such as Azusa, Lost but Seeking.
In other words, Muldrotha doesn't give you land plays - it only lets you play a land from your graveyard if you have a land play available. Flickering Muldrotha will only let you play more lands from the graveyard if you have additional land plays available.
This is in "Deck Help" because I'm building a Muldrotha deck and I need to make sure my rules are correct before I try some combos or nonbos. I'd like to hear from judges or officials or anybody who really knows the rules well. Am I correct?
305.1. A player who has priority may play a land card from their hand during a main phase of their turn when the stack is empty. Playing a land is a special action; it doesn’t use the stack (see rule 116). Rather, the player simply puts the land onto the battlefield. Since the land doesn’t go on the stack, it is never a spell, and players can’t respond to it with instants or activated abilities. 305.2. A player can normally play one land during their turn; however, continuous effects may increase this number. 305.2a To determine whether a player can play a land, compare the number of lands the player can play this turn with the number of lands they have already played this turn (including lands played as special actions and lands played during the resolution of spells and abilities). If the number of lands the player can play is greater, the play is legal. 305.2b A player can’t play a land, for any reason, if the number of lands the player can play this turn is equal to or less than the number of lands they have already played this turn. Ignore any part of an effect that instructs a player to do so.
1 month ago
Have you tried to include Thrun, the Last Troll? One of the best creatures to mutate on IMO. Also i gave Skithiryx, the Blight Dragon a try because of his regeneration effect. In my playgroups Endling was a high valued target to mutate on because of his Undying effect... one of my opponents had Mikaeus, the Unhallowed which i copied with my Volrath, the Shapestealer - my Endling was undieable from that on :D Adding Muldrotha, the Gravetide would give your mutate-creatures in your graveyard a 2nd chance.
My Sultai-Mutate-List is an older one, have to actualize it.