Inferno Titan

Combos Browse all Suggest

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Archenemy Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Casual Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Commander: Rule 0 Legal
Custom Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Limited Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Planechase Legal
Quest Magic Legal
Vanguard Legal
Vintage Legal

Inferno Titan

Creature — Giant

: Inferno Titan gets +1/+0 until end of turn.

Whenever Inferno Titan enters the battlefield or attacks, it deals 3 damage divided as you choose among one, two, or three targets (creature, player, planeswalker or battle).

Profet93 on Godzilla, King of Monsters Budget Build

5 months ago

x1AlphaWolf36 +1

What is your budget per card?

Why run a signet in a 2 color deck with green? Rampant Growth/Nature's Lore are budget friendly swaps

Elemental Bond - Should budget allow, better than colossal majesty

Soul's Majesty - Budget friendly draw

Harmonize - Regula, reliable draw

Life's Legacy/Momentous Fall - Super draw, beware of the blue player however

Traverse the Outlands - ???? Or do you not have enough basics?

Sakura-Tribe Elder/Wood Elves/Nissa's Pilgrimage/Farhaven Elf - Solid ramp

Eternal Witness - Recursion

Fierce Empath - Tutor

Inferno Titan - Damage

Terastodon - Removal (that can hit pesky lands)

Decimate - 4 in 1!

Would love to hear your thoughts on each suggestion, hope this helps!

Rhadamanthus on Chef's kiss & irenicus's vile …

11 months ago

While I was typing all this out, Gidgetimer responded with basically the same thing, but I'm going with it anyway as a "+1" to their response.

You get two Inferno Titans. An effect that changes the target of a spell or ability can only change it to another legal target. If it's impossible to choose another legal target then the original target remains unchanged.

115.7a If an effect allows a player to “change the target(s)” of a spell or ability, each target can be changed only to another legal target. If a target can’t be changed to another legal target, the original target is unchanged, even if the original target is itself illegal by then. If all the targets aren’t changed to other legal targets, none of them are changed.

wallisface: The ruling about Chef's kiss possibly making a target illegal is for cases where you gaining control of the spell causes that to happen. For example, if your opponent casts Irenicus's Vile Duplication on one of their creatures and you Chef's Kiss it, you now control a spell (and a copy of it) that can only target a creature you control, is currently targeting a creature you don't control, but can't have its target changed to a creature you control. Since it isn't possible to choose a new legal target, its target won't be changed and it will fizzle for having an illegal target.

Note the ruling listed right before the one you quoted: If there are no legal targets that could be selected, the targets remain unchanged. Note that this may not mean that those targets are illegal as the spell resolves. For example, if an opponent in a two-player game has hexproof and casts Lava Spike targeting you, Chef's Kiss will not be able to change the target. However, this doesn't make you an illegal target, and both the original spell and the copy will still target you and deal 3 damage to you.

Gidgetimer on Chef's kiss & irenicus's vile …

11 months ago

That's not quite right.

The quoted ruling is speaking about a spell an opponent cast that targets "a creature you control". The original and copy in that case will not have their targets changed because there are no new legal targets. When the copy resolves it is controlled by the Chef's Kiss controller and targeting one of their opponent's creatures causing the copy to fizzle. The original will still be controlled by and targeting a creature of the opponent and will resolve normally.

Even though this ruling seems to be closer since it references a spell that targets "a creature you control". The closer one to be applied is the previous one.

"If there are no legal targets that could be selected, the targets remain unchanged. Note that this may not mean that those targets are illegal as the spell resolves. For example, if an opponent in a two-player game has hexproof and casts Lava Spike targeting you, Chef's Kiss will not be able to change the target. However, this doesn't make you an illegal target, and both the original spell and the copy will still target you and deal 3 damage to you."

The interaction in the OP creates two Inferno Titan copies.

wallisface on Chef's kiss & irenicus's vile …

11 months ago

Note that Chef's Kiss changes the target of both the original spell and the copy to targets with the stipulation that ”The new targets can't be you or a permanent you control.”.

The ruling for Chef's Kiss on Gatherer state ”Note that Chef's Kiss may make some or all of the targets of a spell illegal. For example, any spell an opponent cast that targets a "creature you control" will be unable to find a new legal target, and its target will remain unchanged. In that case, that part of the spell will do nothing. If that was the spell's only target, that spell will be removed from the stack when it tries to resolve.”.

So, what happens is that Chef's Kiss makes a copy of Irenicus's Vile Duplication and tries to change targets for both the original Chef's Kiss spell and the copy. Irenicus's Vile Duplication requires that the targets must be creatures you control, which will be at-odds with Chef's Kisses requirements, and cause all the Irenicus's Vile Duplication to fizzle.

Nothing happens and you get no Inferno Titan

SufferFromEDHD on No blocky

1 year ago

The Jeskai version of Kamiz, Obscura Oculus. I agree with you, human tribal is the wrong direction. Value off unblockability is the way to go. Infect/toxic if you want to be evil :)

Blinding Angel is epic. Glad to see this old rare in your list. Auto include no matter which strategy you chose for Aragon.

Marton Stromgald speeds up the aggro clock similar to infect/toxic.

Battle Angels of Tyr deep value.

Sun Titan or Inferno Titan repeatable value.

Cephalid Constable really fits the theme.

Flamerush Rider similar to Tilonalli's Skinshifter

Orcish Squatters haha

Graceful Antelope the haha continues

TheMeadiator on Calamity Flinger (Modern Budget Combo)

1 year ago

Thank you seshiro_of_the_orochi! Very cool of you to say!

It's true that 7 mana may as well be 7,000. I think you're right that slimming that curve down would help: I just liked the idea of flinging something world ending like Borderland Behemoth. The first run build of this deck had 2 copies of Quakebringer in it because he's so much fun, and great point with Inferno Titans card draw potential.

Thanks for the advice, I'm going to make a few adjustments!

Load more