Parallel Lives

Parallel Lives

Enchantment

If an effect would put one or more tokens onto the battlefield under your control, it puts twice that many tokens onto the battlefield instead.

Browse Alters

Trade

Have (1) DarkMagician
Want (0)

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
1v1 Commander Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Commander / EDH Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Highlander Legal
Legacy Legal
Leviathan Legal
Modern Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Unformat Legal
Vintage Legal
Casual Legal
Custom Legal
Quest Magic Legal

Latest Decks as Commander

Parallel Lives Discussion

Daedalus19876 on Advertise your deck!

3 days ago

grennpowerhouse: I'll take a look!

I'm posting my Koma list here again! I'm happy with the most recent set of changes, though I'm still waffling over Curiosity Crafter vs Coastal Piracy ... I also couldn't find my copy of Parallel Lives , so it seems we're going with Ezuri's Predation in that slot instead >.<

I'd love an upvote, I'm working my way towards +100!


NO STEP ON SNEK: Koma EDH [PRIMER]

Commander / EDH Daedalus19876

SCORE: 78 | 41 COMMENTS | 5382 VIEWS | IN 17 FOLDERS


Daedalus19876 on Advertise your COMMANDER deck!

3 days ago

Posting my Koma list here again! I'm happy with the most recent set of changes, though I'm still waffling over Curiosity Crafter vs Coastal Piracy ... I also couldn't find my copy of Parallel Lives , so it seems we're going with Ezuri's Predation in that slot instead >.<

I'd love an upvote, I'm working my way towards +100!


NO STEP ON SNEK: Koma EDH [PRIMER]

Commander / EDH Daedalus19876

SCORE: 78 | 41 COMMENTS | 5382 VIEWS | IN 17 FOLDERS


Ziabo on Tokens... Tokens Everywhere

2 weeks ago

Second Harvest , Parallel Lives , Doubling Season and Primal Vigor ? :p

But on a serious note you really need Avenger of Zendikar in here. Maybe Desolation Twin ?

Is there a reason for The Ozolith in here?

Raging_Squiggle on Wich triggers first, Landfall or …

1 month ago

The chosen answer has some inaccuracies.

Both the Rampaging Baloths and Halimar Depths trigger at the same time. Since you control both triggers, you decide in what order they go on the stack, and therefore in what order they resolve.

Parallel Lives does not trigger, it replaces the event of tokens entering with twice as many tokens entering the battlefield instead. These tokens enter the battlefield at the same time, not one after another.

Since the tokens enter simultaneously, Path of Discovery will trigger twice and you can decide in what order they go on the stack. Path of Discovery does not modify the state of any creatures, tokens or otherwise. It simply has a trigger that occurs whenever a creature ETB’s.

Once all is said and done, you’ll have the two tokens with either a +1 counter on one or both depending on the results of their respective Path of Discovery triggers. Then, depending on how you stacking Rampaging Baloths and Halimar Depths , you might have a Depths trigger to resolve, or you might not.

Gidgetimer on Wich triggers first, Landfall or …

1 month ago

You are welcome and since berryjon and I have conflicting answers here is the proof of mine.

603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point.

603.3. Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the next time a player would receive priority. See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.” The ability becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has the text of the ability that created it, and no other characteristics. It remains on the stack until it’s countered, it resolves, a rule causes it to be removed from the stack, or an effect moves it elsewhere.

603.3b If multiple abilities have triggered since the last time a player received priority, each player, in APNAP order, puts triggered abilities they control on the stack in any order they choose. (See rule 101.4.) Then the game once again checks for and resolves state-based actions until none are performed, then abilities that triggered during this process go on the stack. This process repeats until no new state-based actions are performed and no abilities trigger. Then the appropriate player gets priority.

When Halimar Depths enters the battlefield it triggers, because it entered, and Rampaging Baloths triggers, because a land entered. Neither trigger goes on the stack until a player would receive priority. The next time a player would receive priority you have two triggers to go on the stack. You, as the controller of the abilities get to decide what order they go on the stack.

Since we are already neck deep in an explanation I was trying to avoid I am also going to mention that Parallel Lives does not have a trigger. It is a static ability that creates a replacement effect that replaces tokens entering with twice that many tokens entering instead.

603.1. Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as “[When/Whenever/At] [trigger condition or event], [effect]. [Instructions (if any).]”

614.1a Effects that use the word “instead” are replacement effects. Most replacement effects use the word “instead” to indicate what events will be replaced with other events.

Quickspell on Wich triggers first, Landfall or …

1 month ago

When I play Halimar Depths and due to Parallel Lives my Rampaging Baloths creature tokens explore for 2x4 on their Path of Discovery ...

...when does Halimar Depths' trigger resolve? Before or after the exploring? Does the landfall/creature-etb trigger first, or the land-etb?

Sultai_Sir on What Commanders Are You Excited …

1 month ago

Strixhaven/Commander 2021 are both fully spoiled, and I'm really excited. The generals I have an eye on are Osgir, the Reconstructor because we finally get an artifact sac outlet in the command zone and some sort of 5-color Brudiclad, Telchor Engineer deck starring Adrix and Nev, Twincasters because it's a cheaper, monetarily speaking, Parallel Lives , which is checks notes: 51 dollars? Jesus, someone reprint that. So, which ones are you planning on building? Let me know, and we can brew together!

Load more