Isochron Scepter

Isochron Scepter

Artifact

Imprint — When Isochron Scepter enters the battlefield, you may exile an instant card with converted mana cost 2 or less from your hand. (The exiled card is imprinted onto this artifact.)

, : You may copy the exiled card. If you do, you may cast the copy without paying its mana cost.

Browse Alters
Set Price Alerts Price Chart

Trade

Have (2) metalmagic , Azdranax
Want (5) 23ChickenWings , poopsmith3000 , rhaggard , AvarkusMagic , Alpha_Hunter

Combos Browse all

Legality

Format Legality
Commander / EDH Legal
Highlander Legal
Block Constructed Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Oathbreaker Legal
Tiny Leaders Legal
Custom Legal
Unformat Legal
Casual Legal
Legacy Legal
2019-10-04 Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Leviathan Legal
Modern Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Limited Legal
Vintage Legal

Isochron Scepter occurrence in decks from the last year

Latest Decks as Commander

Isochron Scepter Discussion

KongMing on Arc 1 - Wizards

22 hours ago

I would say either cut Isochron Scepter or Muddle the Mixture. I see what you're trying to do with the Scepter, but even with Tribute Mage it will probably be too inconsistent or obvious a target (assuming the white, red, and green decks in the Arc pod have artifact removal). Either swap will also help drop the price.

Arc format as a whole seems pretty good, but I would suggest maybe an improvement. Right now it's basically a small block of Commander decks. I think it might be fun if you made a draft block instead - setting aside five multicolored Commanders with some synergies and then selecting ~300 cards for players to draft from to make a deck for the Commander they pick/get stuck with. It might help with variety and balance since people won't have as many easy consistent strategies (elves, gobs, etc.)

king-saproling on Birgi EDH: A Tale for the Ages

4 days ago

You may already know this but a copy of a spell isn't cast (unless the card specifies that it is cast, like Isochron Scepter), so Birgi won't trigger for copies. Makes things like Bonus Round a little less exciting :/ But still cool!

These might interest you: Possibility Storm (both the original spell cast and second spell cast will trigger Birgi), Knowledge Pool (similar to Possibility Storm), Cloudstone Curio, Kobolds of Kher Keep, Crimson Kobolds, Crookshank Kobolds, Anarchist, Priest of Urabrask, Dockside Extortionist, Grinning Ignus, Stolen Strategy, Rite of Flame, Electrostatic Field, Firebrand Archer, Thermo-Alchemist

9-lives on Absolute Control

6 days ago

Does anyone know of any combos for Pioneer like Ekuryua said, or the first post? I can't use Teferi's Puzzle Box or Hullbreacher or Isochron Scepter even though they are incredibly useful, as they're not Pioneer legal!

Rhadamanthus on Does Isochron Scepter trigger Aria …

1 week ago

Under the current rules (it wasn't always this way), Collision / Colossus has a converted mana cost of 4 and can't be imprinted on Isochron Scepter. See below for details.

To your question: a copy of a split card will also be split, and as you cast the copy you choose which side to case. So if you had Wax / Wane imprinted on the Scepter, you would get to choose each time. If you make a copy of the spell on the stack after it's been cast, it will only be the half that was chosen.

708.4 In every zone except the stack, the characteristics of a split card are those of its two halves combined. This is a change from previous rules.

708.4b The mana cost of a split card is the combined mana costs of its two halves. A split card’s colors and converted mana cost are determined from its combined mana cost. An effect that refers specifically to the symbols in a split card’s mana cost sees the separate symbols rather than the whole mana cost.

Example: Assault / Battery’s mana cost is . It’s a red and green card with a converted mana cost of 5. If you cast Assault, the resulting spell is a red spell with a converted mana cost of 1.

Rhadamanthus on Does Isochron Scepter trigger Aria …

1 week ago

Yes, that works.

The important thing here is that Isochron Scepter's effect specifically has you "cast" the copy of the imprinted card. If you were to use something like the second ability on Lithoform Engine instead, which copies a spell already on the stack and doesn't "cast" the copy, this wouldn't work.

CamraMaan on Does Isochron Scepter trigger Aria …

1 week ago

Say I have Isochron Scepter imprinted with a Lightning Bolt, does using that count as a an instant spell that would trigger Aria of Flame? I'm assuming yes, and that its "copy" and "cast" wording gets it to trigger, but I want to make sure. Thanks in advance!

Omniscience_is_life on Absolute Control

2 weeks ago

This Fucker is good if the deck is to be EDH.

Isochron Scepter+Silence also works (God I hope that card hasn't been errata'd into a sorcery or something)

Load more