Inalla, Archmage Ritualist
Legendary Creature — Human Wizard
Eminence — Whenever another nontoken Wizard enters the battlefield under your control, if Inalla, Archmage Ritualist is in the command zone or on the battlefield, you may pay . If you do, create a token that's a copy of that Wizard. The token gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step.
Tap five untapped Wizards you control: Target player loses 7 life.
|Have (2)||DarkMagician , metalmagic|
Combos Browse all
|Commander / EDH||Legal|
Inalla, Archmage Ritualist occurrence in decks from the last year
Recommendations View more recommendations
Latest Decks as Commander
Inalla, Archmage Ritualist Discussion
3 weeks ago
I, for one, think Eminence has great potential as a Commander mainstay. Not all are created equally. In my opinion, Arahbo, Roar of the World is by far the weakest. To the best of my knowledge, Edgar Markov is banned in French (1v1) Commander for being able to run away far too easily.
I must admit, I've never played with or against an Inalla, Archmage Ritualist deck, but given just what Wizards can do, I'm sure she can be built to be very brutal.
And finally, in my experience, The Ur-Dragon is a bit of a Timmy / Johnny deck. I've played against some that absolutely destroy the game and have unchecked power. I've also seen some that completely fizzle out. It seems like there are a few set pieces such as Utvara Hellkite and Silumgar, the Drifting Death that really impact he board. Otherwise it's mostly fodder that's yes dangerous and hard to block, but when it becomes 3v1 the game wraps up pretty quick.
With that said, I feel like the power dynamic was missed pretty bad. I don't believe these four were adequately balanced with one-another. This, I believe, makes a negative impression on Eminence as a whole, as we have a select few to draw experience and knowledge from, meaning our personal interactions are a bit more solidified and rigid.
I personally would love and welcome a second round with Eminence and see it done right. Personally, I think an Omnath with an Eminence-Landfall trigger would be epic. Something like: "Eminence - Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control, if Omnath, ~~~ is in the command zone or on the battlefield, add one mana of any color that land could produce."
Sort of shuts down an Evolving Wilds and fetches as they can't produce mana unless you have other elements in play, such as an Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth (giving liberties that this Omnath is potentially WUBRG), but I digress.
- Though I suppose Urborg can be in a deck without in the Commander's identity as Urborg itself lacks any symbols on it.
How does the community feel about Eminence? Would you want to see another go at it? If so, any ideas you'd like to see explored?
1 month ago
Dip your toes into Inalla, Archmage Ritualist . Look up wizard's chess with her. A lot of crazy lines and piles of interaction with her, which all require tight thinking to get along at first. And you will need time to master her I'd wager, so much time to spend on her possibly.
1 month ago
As an added note about the Glacial Chasm deliberation, Glacial Chasm only protects yourself from damage, whereas Spore Frog can protect anyone from combat damage if you choose to do so. This can be important for political reasons, but is also important for "whenever [creature] deals combat damage to a player" triggers. It might seem like a small detail, but my meta has an Inalla, Archmage Ritualist deck that aims to take infinite turns through Wanderwine Prophets . With Frog, this game plan is stopped in its tracks, whereas Glacial Chasm still allows that player to take several extra turns to find an answer and win by simply attacking other players. Not applicable to everyone (and I don't play against the deck every game), but it's still some food for thought.
3 months ago
Hey Odyssey, I really love your deck list and and write-up on Inalla, Archmage Ritualist. After taking a closer look at the Dualcaster Mage + Ghostly Flicker + Inalla, Archmage Ritualist combo, I've come to the realization that it can create infinite tokens and infinite mana. I found your description of the Dualcaster combo a little hard to follow, since there were a few instances where triggers and spells were left unresolved. I've provided a modified description of the combo below so that no triggers are dropped and the combo is executed in such a way that you create the maximum amount of mana per token created. For the sake of clarity, I sequenced the combo differently and broke it down into three distinct phases. Assume all lands enter the battlefield untapped and produce 1 mana.
Phase 1 - Initiate the Combo
- On your pre-combat main phase, cast Ghostly Flicker, targeting two tapped lands.
- Hold priority and cast Dualcaster Mage, targeting Ghostly Flicker.
Phase 2 - Create a Stack of Inalla's Triggered Ability
- Dualcaster Mage ETBs. This triggers two triggered abilities: Inalla's ability and Dualcaster Mage's ability. Put Inalla's ability on the stack first. Put Dualcaster's ability on the stack second, targeting Ghostly Flicker. (+1 Inalla Ability)
- Dualcaster Mage's ability resolves and creates a copy of Ghostly Flicker. For this copy, target one tapped land and Dualcaster Mage.
- The copy of Ghostly Flicker resolves. An untapped land ETBs. Tap this land immediately to add 1 mana. As before, Dualcaster Mage ETBs and triggers two triggered abilities. Put Inalla's ability on the stack first. Put Dualcaster's ability on the stack second, targeting the original Ghostly Flicker. (+1 Mana, +1 Inalla Ability)
- Repeat steps 2 and 3 an arbitrary amount of times.
- Repeat step 2 except this time target two untapped lands.
- Two untapped lands ETB. Tap these lands immediately to add 2 mana. (+2 Mana)
At this point, your stack will consist of the the original Ghostly Flicker on the bottom and X amount of Inalla's triggered ability on top. You will also have X + 1 mana in your mana pool. The next phase will be concerned with resolving all of Inalla's triggered abilities.
Phase 3 - Create an Army and a Ton of Mana
- The topmost Inalla triggered ability resolves. Pay the cost and create a token of Dualcaster Mage. (-1 Mana, -1 Inalla Ability)
- A token of Dualcaster Mage ETBs. Only the token's triggered ability will resolve. Inalla's ability will not trigger for tokens. Put the token's ability on the stack, targeting the original Ghostly Flicker.
- The token Dualcaster Mage's ability resolves and creates a copy of Ghostly Flicker. For this copy, target two untapped lands.
- Two untapped lands ETB. Tap these lands immediately to add 2 mana. (+2 Mana)
- Repeat steps 1 through 4 until there are no Inalla triggered abilities remaining on the stack.
- Resolve the original Ghostly Flicker cast in phase 1. Two untapped lands ETB. Tap these lands for 2 mana. (+2 Mana)
At the end of this combo, you will have created X Dualcaster Mage tokens and have 2X + 3 mana in your mana pool. This mana can be used to pay for attacking taxes from cards such as Ghostly Prison or Propaganda. Alternatively, you can simply use the mana to cast Inalla, Archmage Ritualist to make her activated ability available to you. Since you have so much mana, she is almost uncounterable. Since the combo is infinite, Naban, Dean of Iteration will not change the amount of tokens you can create, but he will change the ratio of the amount of mana you can produce per token. With him on the battlefield, you will be able to make 6X + 5 mana per X tokens created.
4 months ago
I know that Mairsil, the Pretender can be very enjoyable and potent. (From the same precon).
There are many lists for him on this site, all I can say is that if you can give Mairsil haste consistently, he can be very interesting.
6 months ago
Hey GoldenGolgari ! Thanks for checking out the deck. I personally love two color decks but that is mainly a function of me hating how expensive good mana bases get after two colors. But I'm guessing you would have some of the cards already if you have a Inalla, Archmage Ritualist deck. Let me know if what deck list you come up with and I'd love to check it out!
7 months ago
I cast Barrin, Tolarian Archmage and i pay for Inalla, Archmage Ritualist trigger and i choose the original Barrin to die cause of legendary rule. I am pretty sure that i cant bounce the Barrin token with the original Barrin. So i target any other creature with Original Barrin ETB. But now i am not sure how the token ETB could be utilized.
Can i even target the original Barrin with the token ETB before i move the original Barrin to graveyard cause of legendary rule, or its like that original Barrin is moved to graveyard even before i can target him with token ETB.
If the original Barrin could be targeted with token ETB, than he will be moved to graveyard, than what will happen with original Barrin, which is now laying in graveyard when the token ETB is resolved? Will it fizzles cause of not available target to bounce or he will be bounced back to my hand even from graveyard?
Thank you very much :)
9 months ago
Hi Sigmafie, I feel as I may have misspoke before. I was curious if you thought running Flameshadow Conjuring and Molten Echoes would be worth running in a ETB-value based deck, as that is what I'm running. I did not intend to mention those cards as suggestions for yours. I don't see many Inalla, Archmage Ritualist decks on the feed, so i thought I would ask your opinion on it. I apologize for the miscommunication.