Gruul Guildgate

Legality

Format Legality
Tiny Leaders Legal
1v1 Commander Legal
Magic Duels Legal
Canadian Highlander Legal
Vintage Legal
Modern Legal
Penny Dreadful Legal
Casual Legal
Pauper EDH Legal
Leviathan Legal
Legacy Legal
Duel Commander Legal
Unformat Legal
Pauper Legal
Commander / EDH Legal

Printings View all

Set Rarity
Modern Masters 2017 Edition (MM3) Common
Commander 2013 (C13) Common
Dragon's Maze (DGM) Common
Gatecrash (GTC) Common

Combos Browse all

Gruul Guildgate

Land — Gate

Gruul Guildgate enters the battlefield tapped.

: Add or to your mana pool.

Price & Acquistion Set Price Alerts

MM3

C13

DGM

Ebay

Gruul Guildgate Discussion

Vladmire9136 on Samut Tokens

3 days ago

These are some of the cards I'm going to take out soon for cards that synergize better with my token strategy. Also I'm taking out some of the mana rocks in favor of more lands. End Hostilities, Obelisk of Naya, Mirrorpool, Healer's Hawk, Wakening Sun's Avatar, Stone Quarry, Seer's Lantern, Hedron Crawler, Gruul Guildgate, Fleetfeather Sandals, Slice in Twain, Siege Wurm, Gruul Signet, Boros Guildgate.

DominicS on I'm Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf (Budget)

3 weeks ago

another thing you could do to make the deck better is cleaning up the manabase! you should run 10 of each basic and replace some of the forests you have with cheap split lands! some good budget split lands under $5 are

Cinder Glade - $3

Game Trail - $1.12

Highland Weald -$.28 (Very not good but very budget)

Karplusan Forest - been reprinted 1000 times you can find a old one for like $2

Mossfire Valley -$5

Rootbound Crag -$3.45

Shivan Oasis -$.20 (Very not good but very budget)

Sheltered Thicket -$2

Spire Garden -$5.42

Temple of Abandon -$1

Fungal Reaches, Gruul Guildgate, Timber Gorge are very not good even on a budget, i would recommend cutting these for any of these upgrades after evening out the manabase. I like all of the utility lands you put in though they are very fun!

enpc on The Great Depression Tazri Budget 40$

1 month ago

I think you could replace a lot of your tapped alnds with their guildgate counterparts, i.e. Timber Gorge could become Gruul Guildgate. It means you can then include and get extra value out of Circuitous Route for fixing. Plus if you ran all 10 you could find a spot for Maze's End :P

I have also been impressed with Retreat to Emeria as a card in Tazri ally builds.

Rhadamanthus on Blood Moon/Blood Sun and Vesuva

8 months ago

The reference to 616.1 in the quoted rule is very important to this interaction. There are certain types of replacement effects that need to be applied in a specific order to determine how something enters the battlefield. The order is:

A) Self-replacement effects
B) Effects that modify under whose control a permanent would enter the battlefield
C) Copy effects (in this example, Vesuva's own ability)
D) Everything else

After applying Vesuva's copy effect, you have either a Forest entering tapped or a Gruul Guildgate entering tapped. They're not entering tapped because of any of their own abilities or other replacement effects, but due to the results of the copy effect we had to apply in step C above. Nothing that Blood Moon or Blood Sun does will alter that.

The Gatherer ruling quoted by pskinn01 is essentially for any possible land other than Vesuva. Gatherer rulings are roughly on par with reminder text, in that they explain how the card works the vast majority of the time but there could be exceptions hiding in weird corner cases. Vesuva is the only card of its kind, and cards like that lend themselves very well to corner cases.

chosenone124 on Blood Moon/Blood Sun and Vesuva

8 months ago

Rhadamanthus Why do Blood Moon/Blood Sun remove the "ETB tapped" part of Gruul Guildgate but don't remove the "ETB tapped" part of Vesuva?

Neotrup doesn't the layer system make Vesuva's layer that makes it a basic apply before Blood Moon's layer than removes the ability? Both are dependent on the other (Vesuva makes itself a basic, granting immunity to Blood Moon, Blood Moon removes Vesuva's ability, so two way dependency), and both apply simultaneously as the land enters the battlefield. I thought in cases like this we just apply layer 1 (copy effects) before the other layers

Rhadamanthus on Blood Moon/Blood Sun and Vesuva

8 months ago

After digging through the rules, I can see why you picked Vesuva for this question, as it doesn't act like most other lands when interacting with Blood Moon and Blood Sun. When the rules tell us to:

614.12 "...check the characteristics of the permanent as it would exist on the battlefield, taking into account replacement effects that have already modified how it enters the battlefield (see rule 616.1), continuous effects from the permanent's own static abilities that would apply to it once it's on the battlefield, and continuous effects that already exist and would apply to the permanent."

the "replacement effects that have already modified how it enters the battlefield" part is very important, as Vesuva's copy effect is one of the types of replacement effects that qualify for the exception. We have to apply the results of the copy effect first before taking other things into account.

In Scenario 1 with Blood Moon, Vesuva will still enter tapped if you apply the copy effect, as that's part of what its copy effect does. If you copy Forest then it will be a Forest. If you copy Gruul Guildgate then it will only have the Mountain subtype, can tap for , and won't have the other abilities from the Gate. If you copy nothing then it will enter untapped, have the Mountain subtype, can tap for , and won't have its printed ability.

In Scenario 2 with Blood Sun, the Sun won't really do much. If you copy either Forest or Guildgate, Vesuva will still enter tapped from its own copy effect. Sun will remove the "etb tapped" ability if you copy the Guildgate, but I doubt that will ever matter. If you copy nothing then Vesuva will enter untapped and have no abilities.

The results of Scenario 3 with both Moon and Sun are the same as Scenario 1.

chosenone124 on Blood Moon/Blood Sun and Vesuva

8 months ago

I control a basic Forest and a Gruul Guildgate.

Scenario 1: I control Blood Moon. I play Vesuva. If it copies the Forest, what happens to Vesuva? What happens if I copy the guildgate? What happens if I copy nothing?

Scenario 2: Same questions as scenario 1, but Blood Sun instead of Blood Moon

Scenario 3: Scenario 1, but I control both the Sun and the Moon

Load more